Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MAGNET

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

MAGNET
Vietnam Baby Lift

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation MAGNET

International Mission Name: Operation MAGNET

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Asia

Location: Vietnam

Mission Date: 24 November 1978 - 9 December 1978

Mission Mandate:

To assist in the movement and processing of Vietnamese refugees on the freighter Hai Hong from Malaysia to Canada.

Mission/Operation Notes:

After the fall of Saigon in 1975, significant numbers of Indochinese (predominately Vietnamese, Laotian and Kampuchean) citizens fled the region for fear of retribution from the new Communist regimes. The result was a refugee crisis, which garnered world attention.

Of particular international interest was the case of the freighter Hai Hong, a dilapidated cargo ship that arrived off the coast of Malaysia in 1978 carrying some 2500 Indochinese refugees. The Malaysian government, already beleaguered by waves of refugees since 1975, refused requests by the Hai Hong to dock and disembark, though it was allowed to remain in Kuala Lumpur harbour.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (MAGNET)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The Liberal government of Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau, having re-written the Canadian Immigration Act in 1977 to include special 'humanitarian' categories for refugees in emergency situations, reacted quickly to this international crisis, agreeing to welcome 600 persons from the Hai Hong into Canada as refugees. The government called upon the Canadian Forces to assist in the transport and processing of Hai Hong refugees, and dubbed the tasking Operation MAGNET, officially starting on 24 November 1978.

Op MAGNET would be placed under the command of the Longue Pointe Garrison at CFB Montreal, augmented by personnel from 3rd Battalion, Royal 22e Regiment, 5 Field Ambulance and CFB Valcartier. Their task was to turn Longue Pointe into an accommodations and processing centre for incoming refugees, who would then be dispersed to 13 major centres across Canada to complete the refugee application process. A CF Medical Evacuation Team would also be sent to the Canadian High Commission in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, to record and perform medical checks on all refugees before transport.

The first flight of refugees arrived at Montreal's Dorval Airport from Kuala Lumpur (via USAFB Yakota, Japan and USAFB Elmendorf, Alaska) on 25 November 1978 on board a CC-137 (Boeing 707) aircraft from 426 Transport Squadron, based at CFB Trenton. In total, 4 CC-137's would complete 4 round-trip flights, ferrying 604 Hai Hong refugees to Canada. The final refugees were processed in early December 1978. Op MAGNET would officially cease on 09 December 1978.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MAGNET

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

MAGNET
Transport de bébés au Vietnam.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération MAGNET

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération MAGNET

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Vietnam

Date: 24 novembre 1978 - 9 décembre 1978

Mandat de la mission :

Aider à transporter de la Malaisie au Canada des réfugiés vietnamiens se trouvant à bord du navire de charge Hai Hong et à traiter leurs demandes.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Après la chute de Saïgon en 1975, un grand nombre d’Indochinois (surtout des Vietnamiens, des Laotiens et des Kampuchéens) ont fui la région par peur de représailles de la part des nouveaux régimes communistes. Il en a résulté une crise des réfugiés qui a retenu l’attention du monde entier.

Un cas qui a tout particulièrement intéressé la communauté internationale est celui du Hai Hong, navire de charge délabré arrivé au large de la Malaisie en 1978 avec à son bord quelque 2 500 réfugiés indochinois. Le gouvernement malaisien, aux prises avec des vagues de réfugiés depuis 1975, a rejeté les demandes d’accostage et de débarquement des passagers, mais a permis au navire de demeurer dans le port de Kuala Lumpur.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (MAGNET)

Historique de la mission :

Le gouvernement libéral du premier ministre Pierre Trudeau, qui avait réécrit la loi canadienne sur l’immigration en 1977 pour y inclure des catégories « humanitaires » englobant les réfugiés en situation d’urgence, a réagi rapidement à la crise internationale : il a accepté d’accueillir au pays 600 passagers du Hai Hong en tant que réfugiés. Le gouvernement a fait appel aux Forces canadiennes pour aider à transporter les réfugiés du Hai Hong et à traiter leurs demandes. L’intervention a été baptisée opération Magnet et a débuté officiellement le 24 novembre 1978.

L’opération Magnet, dirigée par la garnison Longue-Pointe de la Base des Forces canadiennes (BFC) Montréal, avec le soutien de membres du 3e Bataillon, Royal 22e Régiment, de la 5e Ambulance de campagne et de la BFC Valcartier, visait à faire de Longue-Pointe un centre de traitement et d’hébergement pour les réfugiés qui arrivaient, lesquels repartiraient par la suite dans 13 grandes villes du Canada où se terminerait le processus de demande du statut de réfugié. Une équipe d’évacuation sanitaire des Forces canadiennes serait également envoyée au Haut-commissariat du Canada à Kuala Lumpur (Malaisie) pour recenser tous les réfugiés et leur faire passer un examen médical avant le transport.

Parti de Kuala Lumpur, le premier groupe de réfugiés est arrivé à l’aéroport de Dorval (Montréal) le 25 novembre 1978 à bord d’un CC-137 (Boeing 707) du 426e Escadron de transport de la BFC Trenton, après des escales aux bases aériennes américaines de Yakota (Japon) et d’Elmendorf (Alaska). Quatre CC-137 ont transporté au total 604 réfugiés du Hai Hong au Canada au cours de 4 vols aller-retour. Les dernières demandes du statut de réfugié ont été traitées au début de décembre 1978. L’opération Magnet a pris fin officiellement le 9 décembre 1978.