Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MARQUIS

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Transitional Authority in Cambodia (UNTAC)

International Mission Name: United Nations Transitional Authority in Cambodia (UNTAC)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Asia

Location: Cambodia

Mission Date: 28 February 1992 - 24 September 1993

Mandate:

Authorized under United Nations Security Council Resolution 745 on 28 February 1992, the United Nations Transitional Authority in Cambodia (UNTAC) was given the job of implementing a cease-fire agreement (the Agreements on a Comprehensive Political Settlement of the Cambodia Conflict) signed in October 1991. It was tasked with the conduct of free and fair general elections, military arrangements, civil administration, the maintenance of law and order the repatriation and resettlement of the Cambodian refugees and displaced persons and the rehabilitation of essential Cambodian infrastructure during the transitional period.

UNSCR 718(1991), 745(1992)

Mission Notes:

In the years following the Second World War, Cambodia was torn apart by internal strife and the fall out of the Vietnam War that culminated in the four-year reign of terror under Pol Pot and the Khmer Rouge. In 1978 the Vietnamese army stepped in and occupied Cambodia replacing the pro-Chinese Khmer Rouge with a new Cambodian leadership, also communist but aligned through the Vietnamese to the Soviet Union. They kept this government in power through most of the 1980s by maintaining a large Vietnamese army of occupation in the country. The occupation resulted in the emergence of three separate resistance groups in the country.

The United Nations Security Council first considered the Cambodian situation in 1979 following the Vietnamese intervention the year before, and continued its efforts throughout the 1980s to find resolution to the conflict. In fact, negotiations only began in earnest when, following the fall of the iron curtain, the Vietnamese announced that they would withdraw their army by September 1989. In July – August 1989, the parties and 19 countries attended the Paris Conference on Cambodia. The Conference succeeded in mapping out a broad strategy for peace, but was suspended without achieving a comprehensive settlement. Nevertheless, sufficient progress had been made that the five permanent members of the Security Council continued negotiations in an attempt to build a workable framework for a peace agreement. In September 1990 they brought a proposal before the four parties and won agreement on the formation of a Supreme National Council (SNC). Negotiations then commenced on fleshing out the framework.

On 1 October 1991 the second session of the Paris Conference on Cambodia met and produced a peace plan that became known as the Agreements on a Comprehensive Political Settlement of the Cambodia Conflict. On 30 October 1991 following a month of negotiations, the Secretary-General informed the Security Council of the signing of the Paris Agreements, and that the Agreements invited the Security Council to establish the United Nations Transitional Authority in Cambodia (UNTAC).

The signing of the Paris Accords set the stage for one of the most ambitious peacekeeping operations ever undertaken by the UN. With the creation of UNTAC in the planning stages, the United Nations deployed the United Nations Advanced Mission in Cambodia (UNAMIC) to bridge the gap between the signing of the peace accords and the time when the full UNTAC mission could be put on the ground in Cambodia, a period estimated to be no longer than six months. UNAMIC deployed to the field on 16 October 1991 to help monitor the ceasefire agreement, and begin the work of registering Cambodians for the upcoming elections. However, shortly after arriving, it became clear that there was an urgent need for a de-mining effort, thus in January the UN expanded the mission from its original 200 personnel to 1090 and expanded its de-mining program.

In concert with the deployment of UNAMIC and in support of the plan, the Security Council passed Resolution 718(1991), but held off on the creation of UNTAC since the plan also noted the intention of the Secretary –General to send a survey mission to Cambodia to prepare an operations plan for the Council’s approval. To this end, the United Nations established a twelve-man team which was to “evaluate modalities of control, and an appropriate number of United Nations personnel to control the cease-fire and the cessation of foreign military aids in cooperation with the SNC military working group.” They were also to follow up on the recommendation of the five permanent members of the Security council to dispatch a mission which would “begin the process of preparing for the military aspects of UNTAC and could consider how the Secretary-General of the United Nations can use his good offices to help maintain the unlimited informal cease-fire now in effect” in Cambodia. The survey team was to be comprised of senior officers from six countries and members of the United Nations staff. The team, which included a Canadian lieutenant-colonel logistician, conducted its survey between 19 August and 11 September 1991, and on 19 February 1992 the Secretary-General submitted to the Security Council the implementation plan for UNTAC based upon its findings.

In February 1992 the United Nations passed Resolution 745 (1992) establishing the United Nations Transitional Authority in Cambodia (UNTAC), and on 15 March the mission commenced operations. UNTAC was a joint military-civilian mission intended to help bring peace and stability to the war-torn nation. UNTAC’s was tasked with the conduct of free and fair general elections, military arrangements, civil administration, the maintenance of law and order the repatriation and resettlement of the Cambodian refugees and displaced persons, and the rehabilitation of essential Cambodian infrastructure during the transitional period. Eventually, the mission would comprise 20,000 international staff, and more than 50,000 local workers.

At the core of UNTAC’s mandate was the conduct of free and fair elections for the establishment of a new government. The success of the general election can be traced to a bold plan initiated by the UN to involve the military component of the various factions in providing security during the six days of balloting, something never before attempted on a UN mission. As a result of the initiative the elections held between 23 and 28 May saw an unprecedented 90% of registered voters – or roughly 4.2 million people – cast ballots.

On 23 September 1993, UNTAC ended its mandate with the successful completion of the general election, the creation of a new constitution, and the formation of a new government.

Canadian Forces (CF) Information (MARQUIS)

Name: Operation MARQUIS

Date: 15 March 1992 - 1 November 1993

Mission Notes:

Under UNAMIC, Canada had committed 103 personnel in Operation MARQUIS. When UNTAC took over from UNAMIC in March 1992, that number continued to grow so that between March 1992 and November 1993 approximately 240 Canadian Forces personnel participated at any one time. The Canadian contribution included mainly engineers, headquarters and logistics staff, and transportation personnel (the latter as 92 Transport Company), but also thirty naval observers who served with UNTAC’s Maritime component. While some Canadian civilians served as administrative workers and electoral observers, Canadian Forces military personnel were not authorised to serve as electoral officers.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MARQUIS

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Autorité provisoire des Nations Unies au Cambodge (APRONUC)

Nom de la mission internationale: Autorité provisoire des Nations Unies au Cambodge (APRONUC)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Cambodge

Date: 28 février 1992 - 24 septembre 1993

Mandat:

Autorisée par la résolution 745 (28 février 1992) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, l’Autorité provisoire des Nations Unies au Cambodge (APRONUC) avait pour mandat de mettre en œuvre l’accord de cessez-le-feu (l’Accord pour un règlement politique global du conflit du Cambodge) signée en octobre 1991. Elle était chargée d’organiser des élections générales libres et équitables et de voir aux arrangements militaires, à l’administration civile, au maintien de l’ordre, au rapatriement et à la réinstallation des Cambodgiens réfugiés et déplacés, ainsi qu’à la réfection de l’infrastructure essentielle durant la période de transition.

Mandat appuyé par les résolutions 718 (1991) et 745 (1992) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies.

Notes sur la mission:

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Cambodge a été la proie de conflits intérieurs ainsi que des répercussions de la fin de la guerre du Vietnam, dont le point culminant a été le règne de terreur imposé par Pol Pot et les Khmers rouges pendant quatre ans. En 1978, l’armée vietnamienne s’en est mêlée et a occupé le Cambodge, remplaçant les dirigeants Khmers rouges pro-Chinois par un nouveau gouvernement cambodgien, également communiste, mais inspiré de l’Union soviétique, par l’intermédiaire des Vietnamiens. Ce pouvoir est demeuré en place pendant la plus grande partie des années 80 grâce à une grande armée d’occupation vietnamienne. L’occupation a donné naissance à trois groupes de résistance distincts.

Le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies s’est intéressé à la situation du Cambodge pour la première fois en 1979, un an après l’intervention vietnamienne, et a continué à chercher une solution au conflit dans les années 80. En fait, les négociations ont vraiment commencé uniquement quand, à la fin de la guerre froide, les Vietnamiens ont annoncé qu’ils allaient retirer leur armée du Cambodge au plus tard en septembre 1989. Aux mois de juillet et d'août 1989, les parties et 17 autres pays ont participé à la Conférence de Paris sur le Cambodge. Celle-ci a permis de s’entendre sur une stratégie globale pour rétablir la paix, mais elle a été interrompue avant qu’une entente complète ne soit conclue. Néanmoins, les progrès accomplis étaient suffisants pour permettre aux cinq membres permanents du Conseil de sécurité de poursuivre les négociations dans le but d’élaborer un plan pratique pour un accord de paix. En septembre 1990, ils ont présenté une proposition aux quatre parties, qui ont donné leur accord pour la formation d’un Conseil national suprême (CNS). On a ensuite pu négocier les détails du plan.

Le 1er octobre 1991, la deuxième séance de la Conférence de Paris sur le Cambodge a permis de produire un plan de paix, l’Accord pour un règlement politique global du conflit du Cambodge. Le 30 octobre 1991, après un mois de négociations, le Secrétaire général a informé le Conseil de sécurité que l’Accord de Paris avait été adopté et que celui-ci invitait le Conseil de sécurité à établir l’Autorité provisoire des Nations Unies au Cambodge (APRONUC).

La signature de l’Accord de Paris ouvrait la voie à l’une des plus ambitieuses opérations de maintien de la paix entreprises par les Nations Unies. Pendant les premières étapes de la planification de l’APRONUC, les Nations Unies ont déployé la Mission préparatoire des Nations Unies au Cambodge (MIPRENUC) pour faire le pont entre la signature de l’accord de paix et le déploiement complet de l’APRONUC au Cambodge. On estimait que cette transition durerait tout au plus six mois. La MIPRENUC a été déployée le 16 octobre 1991 pour contribuer à la surveillance du respect du cessez-le-feu et commencer le travail d’inscription des Cambodgiens en vue des élections à venir. Toutefois, au tout début de la mission, on a vite compris qu’il devait d'abord y avoir un grand effort de déminage le plus rapidement possible. En janvier, les Nations Unies ont donc fait passer l’effectif de la mission de 200 à 1 090 membres, en plus d’élargir la portée du programme de déminage.

Parallèlement au déploiement de la MIPRENUC et dans le but de soutenir le plan, le Conseil de sécurité a voté la résolution 718 (1991), mais a repoussé la création de l’APRONUC étant donné que le plan soulignait l’intention du Secrétaire général d’envoyer une mission d’étude au Cambodge pour préparer un plan d'opérations devant être approuvé par le Conseil de sécurité. Pour ce faire, les Nations Unies ont créé une équipe de 12 personnes qui devaient évaluer les modalités de contrôle et le nombre d’employés des Nations Unies nécessaires pour surveiller le respect du cessez-le-feu et le retrait de l’aide militaire étrangère en collaboration avec le groupe de travail militaire du CNS. L’équipe devait également faire le suivi de la recommandation formulée par les cinq membres permanents du Conseil de sécurité, laquelle visait à mettre en œuvre une mission pour amorcer les préparatifs des aspects militaires de l’APRONUC et étudier par quels moyens le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies pourrait utiliser ses bons offices afin d’aider à maintenir le cessez-le-feu illimité informel en vigueur au Cambodge. L’équipe d’étude était constituée d’officiers supérieurs de six pays et de membres du personnel des Nations Unies. Un lieutenant-colonel canadien spécialiste de la logistique en faisait partie. L’équipe a réalisé son étude du 19 août au 11 septembre 1991 et, se fondant sur les renseignements recueillis, le Secrétaire général a présenté au Conseil de sécurité son plan de mise en œuvre de l’APRONUC le 19 février 1992.

En février 1992, les Nations Unies ont voté la résolution 745 (1992) pour créer l’APRONUC, dont les opérations ont commencé le 15 mars. L’APRONUC était une mission civilo-militaire qui avait pour but d’aider à rétablir la paix et la stabilité dans le pays déchiré par la guerre. L’APRONUC avait le mandat d’organiser des élections générales libres et équitables, de mettre en œuvre des arrangements militaires, de veiller à l’administration civile, au maintien de l’ordre public ainsi qu'au rapatriement et à la réinstallation des Cambodgiens réfugiés et déplacés, en plus de voir à la réfection de l’infrastructure essentielle pendant la période de transition. À un certain moment, 20 000 personnes de divers pays et plus de 50 000 travailleurs locaux participaient à la mission.

Au cœur de son mandat, l’APRONUC avait pour tâche d'organiser des élections libres et équitables pour l’établissement du nouveau gouvernement. La réussite des élections générales est attribuable au plan audacieux proposé par les Nations Unies. En effet, celui-ci prévoyait que, durant les six jours de scrutin, la sécurité serait assurée par les éléments militaires des différentes factions opposées. C’était la première fois qu’on tentait cela dans le cadre d’une mission des Nations Unies. Par suite de cette initiative, un pourcentage record d'électeurs inscrits, soit 90 p. 100 ou environ 4,2 millions de personnes, sont venus voter lors des élections tenues du 23 au 28 mai.

Le 23 septembre 1993, on a mis fin au mandat de l’APRONUC, après des élections générales réussies, la création d’une nouvelle constitution et la formation d’un nouveau gouvernement.

Renseignements de l'opération des FC (MARQUIS)

Nom: Opération MARQUIS

Date: 15 mars 1992 - 30 novembre 1993

Dans le cadre de l’opération Marquis, le Canada avait affecté 103 personnes à la MIPRENUC. Quand l’APRONUC a pris la relève en mars 1992, la contribution canadienne a continué d’augmenter, si bien que, entre mars 1992 et novembre 1993, environ 240 membres des Forces canadiennes (FC) ont participé à la mission à un moment ou un autre. La contribution canadienne était principalement constituée d’ingénieurs, de personnel d’état-major et de logistique, de personnel de transport (la 92e Compagnie de transport), en plus de 30 observateurs de la Marine affectés à la composante maritime de l’APRONUC. Certains civils canadiens ont servi en tant qu’administrateurs ou observateurs électoraux, mais les membres des FC n’ont pas été autorisés à servir au sein du personnel électoral.