Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Pakistan – 1971 Evacuation

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Pakistan – 1971 Evacuation

International Mission Name: Pakistan – 1971 Evacuation

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Asia

Location: Pakistan

Dates: 7 December 1971 - 13 December 1971

Mandate: To evacuate Canadian and foreign nationals from East and West Pakistan as a result of the India-Pakistan War

Narrative:

Tensions between India and Pakistan increased in 1971 as a result of India’s support for Bengalis seeking independence for the province of East Pakistan – now Bangladesh. Small-scale skirmishing escalated until 3 December, when Pakistan launched a co-ordinated assault against Indian Air Force bases in western India. That led to an outbreak of war that lasted until a cease-fire was declared on 16 December.

On 7 December, the Canadian Prime Minister authorised the Canadian Forces to evacuate both Canadian and foreign nationals from Pakistan. The first evacuation effort was by a CC-137 Boeing from 437 Squadron, which left CFB Trenton early on 8 December for Karachi and Islamabad, West Pakistan, via Tehran. Once the crew received the necessary clearances from both India and Pakistan, they flew to Karachi on 10 December and, with ‘official’ room for only 212 passengers, actually took off for Teheran with 234 evacuees. (Adults were asked to hold children on their laps.) This same aircraft then flew to Islamabad on 12 December, picking up a further 215 evacuees. These too were taken to Tehran. At the request of the United Nations, a CC-130 Hercules from 436 Squadron already in Bangkok on an around-the-world training flight was also diverted to evacuate UN personnel and foreign nationals from East Pakistan. Although assured of safe passage, on 6 December it had to turn back when only ten minutes from Dacca because the airport there had been attacked less than an hour before and could not receive any aircraft. Another attempt on 7 December was aborted because of anti-aircraft fire in the area.

On 11 December, the Hercules flew to Calcutta, India. There it remained until the crew had been given apparent permission to fly to Dacca by both Indian and Pakistani authorities. However, when the pilot contacted Dacca control, he was advised that he would be shot down if he proceeded to land there. The flight returned to Calcutta and then to Bangkok later in the day, and continued on with its original mission two days later.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Pakistan – évacuation en 1971

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération Pakistan – évacuation en 1971

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération Pakistan – évacuation en 1971

Mandat: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Pakistan

Date: 7 décembre 1971 - 13 décembre 1971

Mandat: Évacuer les ressortissants canadiens et étrangers des parties orientale et occidentale du Pakistan à la suite de la guerre indo-pakistanaise.

Notes sur la mission :

Les tensions entre l’Inde et le Pakistan se sont aggravées en 1971 à cause de l’appui accordé par l’Inde aux Bengalis qui luttaient pour leur indépendance dans la province du Pakistan oriental, maintenant appelé Bangladesh. Les escarmouches se sont amplifiées jusqu’au 3 décembre, date à laquelle le Pakistan a lancé un assaut coordonné contre les bases aériennes dans l’Ouest de l’Inde. Cette attaque a entraîné une guerre ouverte qui a duré jusqu’à la proclamation d’un cessez-le-feu le 16 décembre.

Le 7 décembre, le Premier ministre canadien a autorisé les Forces canadiennes à évacuer du Pakistan à la fois les citoyens canadiens et les ressortissants étrangers. Le premier geste en ce sens a été l’envoi d’un appareil Boeing CC137 du 437e Escadron, qui a quitté la BFC Trenton tôt le 8 décembre pour se rendre à Karachi, puis à Islamabad au Pakistan occidental, via Téhéran. Après avoir obtenu les autorisations nécessaires de l’Inde et du Pakistan, l’avion est parvenu à Karachi le 10 décembre et, même s’il n’y avait « officiellement » de place que pour 212 passagers, il a pu ramener à Téhéran 234 évacués. (On avait demandé aux adultes d’asseoir les enfants sur leurs genoux.) Puis, l’avion s’est rendu à Islamabad le 12 décembre pour y prendre 215 autres évacués, qui eux aussi ont été amenés à Téhéran. À la demande des Nations Unies, on a aussi dérouté un avion CC130 Hercules du 436e Escadron qui se trouvait déjà à Bangkok à l’occasion d’un vol d’entraînement autour du globe, afin d’évacuer du Pakistan oriental le personnel de l’ONU et les ressortissants étrangers. En dépit des garanties reçues relativement à la sécurité du déplacement, le 6 décembre, l’appareil a dû rebrousser chemin alors qu’il se trouvait à 10 minutes à peine de Dacca, parce que l’aéroport avait été attaqué moins d’une heure auparavant et ne pouvait plus accueillir d’avions. Une autre tentative le 7 décembre a échoué à cause de tirs antiaériens dans le secteur.

Le 11 décembre, l’avion Hercules est allé à Calcutta, en Inde, y demeurant jusqu’à ce que les autorités indiennes et pakistanaises lui accordent en principe la permission de se rendre à Dacca. Toutefois, quand le pilote a communiqué avec la tour de contrôle de Dacca, on l’a averti que son appareil serait abattu s’il tentait d’y atterrir. L’avion est donc retourné à Calcutta, puis à Bangkok plus tard dans la journée, avant de reprendre sa mission originale deux jours plus tard.