Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation United Nations Commission for the Unification and Rehabilitation of Korea

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

United Nations Commission for the Unification and Rehabilitation of Korea

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Commission for the Unification and Rehabilitation of Korea

International Mission Name: United Nations Commission for the Unification and Rehabilitarion of Korea (UNCURK)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Asia

Location: Korea

Mission Date: 7 October 1950 - 28 November 1973

Mission Mandate:

General Assembly Resolution 376 (V) - to unify and take measures to economically rehabilitate Korea

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (United Nations Commission for the Unification and Rehabilitation of Korea)

Name: United Nations Commission for the Unification and Rehabilitation of Korea

Date: 7 October 1950 - 3 March 1951

Canadian Task Force Name Abbreviation: UNCURK

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To unify and take measures to economically rehabilitate Korea

General Assembly Resolution 293 (IV) - expanded to include observing and reporting on any developments that might lead to military conflict.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

On 12 December 1948, the United Nations General passed Resolution 195 (III) which created the United Nations Commission on Korea (UNCOK). Its mandate included assisting in the unification of Korea and was expanded on 21 October (Resolution 293 (IV)) to include observing and reporting on any developments “which might lead to or otherwise involve military conflict in Korea”. In fact, this became UNCOK’s primary role. Australia provided the first UNCOK military observers, followed by Canada.

On 28 June, the Canadian Cabinet approved the request from the Secretary-General to provide two military officers. On 6 July, Wing Commander Harry Malkin and Lieutenant Colonel Frank White were on their way, arriving in Pusan on 25 July. Once Seoul was re-occupied by the UN forces, they moved there. However, they retreated back to Pusan in early January when the communist forces led by the Chinese retook Seoul. W/C Malkin and Lt-Col White were part of an eight-person observer group. The observers were divided into two -person teams assisted by a Korean liaison representative.

It was becoming obvious at the united Nations that UNCOK was not able to perform its mandate and that Korea would require massive assistance after the war ended. As a result UNCOK was terminated on 7 October 1950 when the General Assembly created the United Nations Commission for the Unification and Rehabilitation of Korea (UNCURK). Lt-Col White and W/C Malkin were transferred to the new organization, continuing to report on the situation on the ground.

UNCURK’s military observers were duplicating the observations of the UN Command in Korea, and were actually contributing very little. On 10 January 1950, UNCURK decided that only one military observer would be required to assist the mission. W/C Malkin volunteered to stay behind. UNCURK also decided not to request replacements for the observers. LCol White departed Korea in January 1951, as did the other UNCOK military observers. W/C Malkin departed Korea in late February, arriving in Canada on 2 March 1951. Thereafter, UNCURK was strictly an organization focusing on the economic and political aspects of Korean unification and rehabilitation.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Commission des Nations Unies pour l'unification et le relèvement de la Corée

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Commission des Nations Unies pour l'unification et le relèvement de la Corée

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Commission des Nations Unies pour l'unification et le relèvement de la Corée

Nom de la mission internationale: Commission des Nations Unies pour l'unification et le relèvement de la Corée (UNCOK)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Corée

Date: 7 octobre 1950 - 28 novembre 1973

Mandat de la mission:

Résolution 376 (V) de l’Assemblée générale - Unifier la Corée et prendre des mesures pour son relèvement économique.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Commission des Nations Unies pour l'unification et le relèvement de la Corée)

Nom: Commission des Nations Unies pour l'unification et le relèvement de la Corée

Date: 7 octobre 1950 - 3 mars 1951

Abréviation de la Force opérationnelle canadienne: CNUURC

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Unifier la Corée et prendre des mesures pour son relèvement économique.

Historique de la mission :

Le 12 décembre 1948, l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 195 (III) qui créait la Commission des Nations Unies pour la Corée (CNUC). Son mandat consistait notamment à contribuer à l’unification de la Corée. Il a été étendu, le 21 octobre, (résolution 293 [IV]) de façon à inclure l’observation et le signalement de tout changement qui pourrait mener à un conflit militaire en Corée. En fait, cette dernière mission est devenue son rôle principal. L’Australie, suivie du Canada, a fourni les premiers observateurs militaires.

Le 28 juin, le Cabinet a approuvé la demande du Secrétaire général visant l'envoi de deux officiers militaires. Le 6 juillet, le Lieutenant-colonel d’aviation Harry Malkin et le Lieutenant-colonel Frank White étaient affectés à cette mission. Ils sont arrivés à Pusan le 25 juillet. Une fois Séoul reprise par les forces de l’ONU, ils s’y sont établis. Toutefois, ils ont dû revenir à Pusan au début de janvier quand les forces communistes menées par les Chinois ont repris Séoul. Le Lcol avn Malkin et le Lcol White faisaient partie d’un groupe d’observation de huit personnes. Les observateurs étaient divisés en équipes de deux personnes assistées par un représentant de liaison coréen.

Il devenait évident aux Nations Unies que la CNUC ne pouvait pas remplir son mandat et que la Corée aurait besoin d’une aide massive une fois la guerre terminée. En conséquence, la mission de la CNUC a pris fin le 7 octobre 1950 quand l’Assemblée générale a créé la Commission des Nations Unies pour l’unification et le relèvement de la Corée (CNUURC). Le Lcol White et le Lcol avn Malkin ont été transférés à la nouvelle organisation et ont continué à faire rapport de la situation sur le terrain.

Les observateurs militaires de la CNUURC répétaient les observations du commandement de l’ONU en Corée et, dans les faits, apportaient bien peu. Le 10 janvier 1950, la CNUURC a décidé qu’un seul observateur militaire était nécessaire à l’accomplissement de la mission. Le Lcol avn Malkin s’est alors porté volontaire pour rester en Corée. La CNUURC a aussi décidé de ne pas demander qu’on remplace les observateurs. Le Lcol White a quitté la Corée en janvier 1951, avec les autres observateurs militaires de la CNUC. Le Lcol avn Malkin a quitté la Corée vers la fin de février pour arriver au Canada le 2 mars 1951. Par la suite, la CNUURC a été strictement une organisation axée sur les aspects économiques et politiques de l’unification et du relèvement de la Corée.