Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation United Nations Good Offices Mission in Afghanistan and Pakistan

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

United Nations Good Offices Mission in Afghanistan and Pakistan

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Good Offices Mission in Afghanistan and Pakistan

International Mission Name: United Nations Good Offices Mission in Afghanistan and Pakistan

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Asia

Location: Afghanistan and Pakistan

Mission Date: 15 May 1988 - 15 March 1990

Mission Mandate:

The United Nations Good Offices Mission in Afghanistan and Pakistan was established on 15 May 1988 in accordance with a letter dated 25 April 1988 from the President of the Security Council addressed to the Secretary-General, with the purpose of assisting the Personal Representative of the Secretary-General to lend his good offices to the parties in ensuring the implementation of the Agreements on the settlement of the Situation Relating to Afghanistan (the Geneva Accords) and in this context to investigate and report possible violations of any of the provisions of the agreement.

Mission/Operation Notes:

On 27 December 1979, the Soviet Union invaded Afghanistan. Like so many other armies before it, the Soviets become bogged down in a guerrilla war that they realized they could not win. The Afghan resistance - the mujahideen - received extensive support from the United States, as Afghanistan became another Cold War area of confrontation, in this case with Soviet forces actually involved in large numbers. From Afghanistan, military forces sometimes ventured into Pakistani territory, while large numbers of refugees headed into Pakistan. In the other direction, American support was funnelled through Pakistan, with the result that the governments of Afghanistan and Pakistan accused each other of interference.

As early as June 1982, indirect talks between Afghanistan and Pakistan began in Geneva, Switzerland. The government of Afghanistan acted as intermediary for the Soviet Union, the Soviet troops being there ostensibly to support a fellow socialist government. The growing casualty list and desire to extract itself from this costly adventure eventually prompted the Soviets to reach an agreement.

The “Agreement on the Settlement of the Situation Relating to Afghanistan” was signed on 14 April 1988, by Afghanistan, Pakistan, the Soviet Union, and the United States, and consisted of four instruments. Afghanistan and Pakistan agreed to not interfere in each other’s nations, and on the return of refugees, while the Soviet Union and the United States agreed to provide the guarantee for the agreement. All parties agreed to seek a settlement of the situation in Afghanistan, effectively allowing the Soviet Union to withdraw. This latter part of the agreement requested the United Nations Secretary-General to provide a representative to assist in the conduct of the agreement. The United Nations Good Offices Mission in Afghanistan and Pakistan (UNGOMAP) provided support to the Special Representative. Formal approval for this mission was not forthcoming until 31 October 1988, at which time the Security Council approved the Secretary-General’s action through Resolution 622.

The role of UNGOMAP was to monitor the provisions of the non-interference instrument, monitor the withdrawal of Soviet troops and monitor the return of refugees. To do this, the Special Representative was provided with 50 military observers from ten countries the nationalities of which had to be approved by the four parties to the agreement. Two headquarters of five officers each were created in Kabul and Islamabad. The remaining 40 officers were to be used on inspection teams.

The first personnel arrived on 25 April, temporarily seconded from the United Nations Truce Supervisory Organization, the United Nations Disengagement Observer Force and the United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon. The permanent members arrived soon thereafter with the headquarters and complement of 50 observers in place well before the agreement came into effect on 15 May 1988.

The monitoring of the Soviet withdrawal went very well. UNGOMAP established three observation posts in Afghanistan: Hayratan, Torghundi and the Soviet air base at Shindand. Mobile inspection teams deployed to five locations. Due to the fact that UNGOMAP was reliant upon the Soviet and Afghan forces for transportation, the observers were not always able to observe actual withdrawals and had to depend upon Soviet reports. However, as the Soviets were anxious to leave and the Afghans to cooperate, there were no significant problems with the withdrawal. This part of the agreement ended 15 February 1989, on schedule.

To the headquarters in Islamabad fell the duty of monitoring the non-interference instrument. This was less successful than the withdrawal. From 1 May 1988 to 15 April 1989, 495 Notes Verbale cited 4145 incidents. Of these, 650 incidents were investigated; the remainder could not be investigated for a variety of reasons, including inaccessibility of the incident site. With the withdrawal of Soviet forces, Afghan reports of incidents increased, causing UNGOMAP to set up three monitoring posts on roads leading into Afghanistan.

For the return of the refugees, UNGOMAP worked with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees. The observers were ready to monitor the conditions inside Afghanistan; however the Soviet withdrawal did not mean the end of violence - the mujahideen who had not been party to the agreement continued to fight the Soviet-backed government. Of the estimated 5 million Afghan refugees in Pakistan, only a small percentage returned.

UNMOGAP was originally scheduled to last until January 1990. Due to the late start of the refugee instrument, the Secretary-General requested an additional two months extension, which was approved by the Security Council. As no consensus could be reached with four parties to the agreement for an extension beyond 15 March 1990, UNMOGAP ceased to exist on that day. The Secretary-General, concerned of the work still to be done, created the Office of the Secretary-General in Afghanistan and Pakistan (OSGAP) as a follow-on mission. He retained one member from each of the ten nations, including Canada, to assist in OSGAP activities.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (United Nations Good Offices Mission in Afghanistan and Pakistan)

Date: 2 May 1988 - 15 March 1990

Canadian Task Force Name Abbreviation: UNGOMAP

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canadian participation consisted of five observers who arrived in Pakistan from Canada on 2 May 1988, on a one-year posting. One week after their arrival, two officers deployed to Kabul, with one working in the headquarters and the other serving as an inspection team leader. Two Canadians served at UNMOGAP posts monitoring the Soviet withdrawal. These four Canadians rotated positions in November 1988. The fifth Canadian UNMO worked in the UNMOGAP headquarters in Pakistan.

In May 1989, three Canadians arrived to replace the original five. The reduction was the result of a UN decision to reduce the size of UNMOGAP, as part of the original mandate, the Soviet withdrawal, had been completed. The duties of the replacement officers included investigating possible violations of the non-interference instrument, as well as some assistance in the return of refugees. This rotation departed with the termination of UNMOGAP’s mission.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Mission de bons offices des Nations Unies en Afghanistan et au Pakistan

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Mission de bons offices des Nations Unies en Afghanistan et au Pakistan

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission de bons offices des Nations Unies en Afghanistan et au Pakistan

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission de bons offices des Nations Unies en Afghanistan et au Pakistan

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Afghanistan et Pakistan

Date: 15 mai 1988 - 15 mars 1990

Mandat de la mission:

La Mission de bons offices des Nations Unies en Afghanistan et au Pakistan a été créée le 15 mai 1988 en réponse à une lettre envoyée le 25 avril 1988 par le président du Conseil de sécurité au Secrétaire général des Nations Unies. Elle avait pour but d’aider le représentant personnel du Secrétaire général à prodiguer ses bons offices aux parties dans la mise en œuvre de l’Accord sur le retrait militaire soviétique d’Afghanistan (l’Accord de Genève) et, dans ce contexte, à enquêter sur les violations possibles des dispositions de l’accord et d’en faire rapport.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Le 27 décembre 1979, l’Union soviétique (URSS) a envahi l’Afghanistan. Comme bien d’autres avant eux, les Soviétiques se sont enlisés dans une guérilla dont ils ne pouvaient espérer sortir vainqueurs. La résistance afghane - les moudjahidines - a reçu une aide substantielle des États-Unis. L’Afghanistan devenait ainsi une autre zone de confrontation de la guerre froide, mais avec ceci de particulier que les Soviétiques s’y trouvaient engagés en grand nombre. Les forces militaires qui s’affrontaient en Afghanistan s’aventuraient parfois en territoire pakistanais, tandis que de nombreux civils tentaient de trouver refuge au Pakistan. Dans l’autre direction, les Américains acheminaient du ravitaillement en Afghanistan à partir du Pakistan, ce qui amenait les gouvernements de l’Afghanistan et du Pakistan à s’accuser mutuellement d’ingérence.

Dès juin 1982, des pourparlers indirects entre l’Afghanistan et le Pakistan ont été entamés à Genève, en Suisse. Le gouvernement afghan a agi comme intermédiaire pour l’Union soviétique, dont l’armée était manifestement là pour soutenir un gouvernement socialiste allié. Le nombre croissant de pertes de vie et le désir de se tirer de cette coûteuse aventure ont incité les Soviétiques à négocier un accord.

L’Accord sur le retrait militaire soviétique d’Afghanistan a été signé le 14 avril 1988 par l’Afghanistan, le Pakistan, l’Union soviétique et les États-Unis. Il comportait quatre volets. L’Afghanistan et le Pakistan promettaient de ne pas intervenir dans leurs affaires respectives et d’assurer le retour des réfugiés, tandis que l’Union soviétique et les États-Unis consentaient à fournir les garanties de l’accord. Toutes les parties acceptaient de chercher une solution à la situation en Afghanistan, permettant ainsi à l’URSS de se retirer. Cette dernière partie de l’accord exigeait que le Secrétaire général des Nations Unies délègue un représentant pour contribuer à son application. La Mission de bons offices des Nations Unies en Afghanistan et au Pakistan (UNGOMAP) a fourni le soutien nécessaire au représentant spécial. L’approbation officielle de cette mission ne devait venir que le 31 octobre 1988, date à laquelle le Conseil de sécurité a approuvé la démarche du Secrétaire général au moyen de la résolution 622.

Le rôle de l’UNGOMAP était d’assurer le respect des dispositions de non ingérence ainsi que de surveiller le retrait des troupes soviétiques et le retour des réfugiés. À cette fin, le représentant spécial s’était adjoint 50 observateurs militaires de 10 pays approuvés par chacune des quatre parties. Deux quartiers généraux de cinq officiers chacun ont été formés à Kaboul et à Islamabad. Les 40 autres officiers devaient faire partie des équipes d’inspection.

Les premiers membres du personnel sont arrivés le 25 avril, temporairement détachés de l’Organisme des Nations Unies chargé de la surveillance de la trêve, de la Force des Nations Unies chargée d’observer le désengagement et de la Force intérimaire des Nations Unies au Liban. Les membres permanents sont arrivés peu après, les quartiers généraux et les 50 observateurs se retrouvant en poste bien avant l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord, le 15 mai 1988.

La surveillance du retrait des Soviétiques s’est très bien déroulée. L’UNGOMAP a établi trois postes d’observation en Afghanistan : à Hayratan, à Torghundi et à la base aérienne soviétique de Shindand. Les équipes d’inspection mobiles ont été installées en cinq endroits. Comme l’UNGOMAP dépendait des forces soviétiques et afghanes pour le transport, les observateurs ne pouvaient pas toujours surveiller de près le retrait des troupes et devaient s’en remettre aux rapports des Soviétiques. Toutefois, comme ceux ci étaient pressés de se retirer et que les Afghans étaient disposés à collaborer, le retrait n’a posé aucune difficulté notable. Cette partie de l’accord a pris fin comme prévu, le 15 février 1989.

Le quartier général d’Islamabad était responsable de la surveillance de l’entente de non ingérence. Cela s’est révélé plus difficile que le retrait des troupes. Du 1er mai 1988 au 15 avril 1989, 495 notes verbales signalaient 4 145 incidents. De ce nombre, 650 incidents ont fait l’objet d’une enquête. Pour diverses raisons, notamment l’inaccessibilité des lieux, on n’a pu enquêter sur les autres incidents. Avec le retrait des forces soviétiques, le nombre de rapports d’incidents afghans a augmenté, ce qui a amené l’UNGOMAP à établir trois postes de surveillance sur les routes d’accès à l’Afghanistan.

Pour le retour des réfugiés, l’UNGOMAP a travaillé avec le Haut Commissaire des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés. Les observateurs étaient prêts à surveiller les conditions en Afghanistan. Toutefois, le retrait des Soviétiques ne signifiait pas la fin des actes de violence - les moudjahidines, qui n’avaient pas signé l’accord, continuaient à combattre le gouvernement soutenu par les Soviétiques. Seul un faible pourcentage des quelque cinq millions d’Afghans réfugiés au Pakistan est revenu au pays.

Au départ, l’UNGOMAP devait prendre fin en janvier 1990, mais, compte tenu de la mise en œuvre tardive des dispositions relatives aux réfugiés, le Secrétaire général a demandé deux mois de plus pour mener à bien l’opération et le Conseil de sécurité lui a accordé ce délai supplémentaire. Comme les parties n’étaient pas arrivées à s’entendre pour prolonger l’opération au delà du 15 mars 1990, l’UNGOMAP a alors pris fin. Le Secrétaire général, préoccupé par le travail qui restait à faire, a créé le Bureau du secrétaire général en Afghanistan et au Pakistan (OSGAP) pour assurer le suivi de la mission précédente. Il a retenu les services d’un représentant de chacun des 10 pays participants, y compris le Canada, pour mener les activités de l’OSGAP.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Mission de bons offices des Nations Unies en Afghanistan et au Pakistan)

Date: 2 mai 1988 - 15 mars 1990

Abréviation de la Force opérationnelle canadienne: MBONUAP

Historique de la mission:

La participation canadienne consistait en cinq observateurs qui sont arrivés du Canada au Pakistan le 2 mai 1988 pour une affectation d’un an. Une semaine après leur arrivée, deux officiers ont été affectés à Kaboul, l’un au quartier général et l’autre à la direction d’une équipe d’inspection. Deux autres Canadiens ont été affectés à des postes de l’UNGOMAP pour surveiller le retrait des troupes soviétiques. Ces quatre Canadiens ont échangé leurs postes en novembre 1988. Le cinquième Canadien, observateur militaire des Nations Unies, a travaillé au quartier général de l’UNGOMAP au Pakistan.

En mai 1989, trois Canadiens sont venus remplacer leurs cinq collègues de la délégation originale. Cette réduction d’effectif résultait d’une décision des Nations Unies de réduire l’ampleur de l’UNGOMAP, étant donné qu'une partie de son mandat initial, soit assurer le retrait des Soviétiques, était achevée. Les fonctions des nouveaux venus consistaient à enquêter sur les éventuelles violations des dispositions de non ingérence et à faciliter le retour des réfugiés. Leur affectation a pris fin au terme de la mission de l’UNGOMAP.