Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation DRAGON BREATH

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

DRAGON BREATH
2 June 1987 Ottawa, Ontario

Mr. Yang Shangkun, Vice Chairman of the central
Military Commission of the People's Republic
of China meets with Mr. Perrin Beatty,
Minister of National Defence.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation DRAGON BREATH

International Mission Name: Operation DRAGON BREATH

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Asia

Location: China

Mission Date: 1 June 1987 - 8 June 1987

Mission Mandate:

To deliver fire-fighting equipment to China

Mission/Operation Notes:

Northern China and southern Siberia contain one of the largest contiguous forests. The winter of 1986-1987, and the following spring, were abnormally dry, and the risk of fire was consequently extraordinarily high. On 6 May 1987 a Chinese logger accidentally started a fire while refuelling a brush cutter - a fire that would burn for a month and became known as the Great Black Dragon Fire.

On 7 May, with high winds fanning the flames, local officials asked the Chinese Peoples’ Liberation Army (PLA) for help. Over 40,000 members of the PLA were eventually employed to fight the fire. Surprisingly, only about 220 people died; however, 50,000 people were left homeless and over 3,000,000 acres (1.3 million hectares) were destroyed - one fifth of China’s forest reserves. An even larger fire raged on the Russian side of the Amur, destroying an estimated 9 to 15 million acres.

At the request of the Canadian International Development Agency, 436 Squadron delivered 10 tonnes of fire fighting equipment to Beijing in a mission that left on 1 June and returned to Trenton on 8 June.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) DRAGON BREATH

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

DRAGON BREATH
2 Juin 1987 Ottawa, Ontario

M. Yang Shangkun, vice-président de la
Commission militaire centrale de la
République populaire de Chine,
s’entretient avec M. Perrin Beatty,
ministre de la Défense nationale.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération DRAGON BREATH

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération DRAGON BREATH

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Chine

Date: 1 juin 1987 - 8 juin 1987

Mandat de la mission:

Livrer de l’équipement de lutte contre les incendies en Chine.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

C’est dans le Nord de la Chine et dans le Sud de la Sibérie que se trouve l’une des plus grandes forêts contiguës. L’hiver 1986-1987 et le printemps qui a suivi ont été anormalement secs, et le risque d’incendie était par conséquent extraordinairement élevé. Le 6 mai 1987, un bûcheron chinois a déclenché un incendie en faisant le plein d’une débroussailleuse, incendie qui allait brûler pendant un mois et qu’on appellerait l’incendie du Grand Dragon noir.

Le 7 mai, les grands vents attisant les flammes, les autorités locales ont demandé de l’aide à l’Armée de libération populaire (ALP) de Chine. Plus de 40 000 membres de l’ALP se sont employés à combattre l’incendie. Étonnamment, seulement 220 personnes sont mortes; cependant 50 000 personnes se sont retrouvées sans abri et plus de 3 000 000 d’acres (1,3 million d’hectares) ont été détruits, soit un cinquième des réserves forestières de la Chine. Un incendie encore plus important a fait rage du côté russe de l’Amour, détruisant de 9 à 15 millions d’acres environ.

À la demande de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), le 436e Escadron a livré 10 tonnes d’équipement de lutte contre les incendies à Beijing, dans le cadre d’une mission qui a quitté Trenton le 1er juin et y est revenue le 8.