Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation India - Pakistan 1965

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

India - Pakistan 1965

International Information

International Operation Name: India - Pakistan 1965

International Mission Name: India - Pakistan 1965

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Asia

Location: India and Pakistan

Mission Date: 10 September 1965 - 28 September 1965

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (India - Pakistan 1965)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To evacuate Canadian citizens out of India and Pakistan during the 1965 War

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In April 1965 Indian and Pakistani border patrols skirmished in disputed territory in the Rann of Kutch, along the southernmost point of India’s western border with Pakistan. From here, the skirmishing spread into the disputed territory of Kashmir in August. On 14 August, the first engagement between the regular forces of both nations occurred in Kashmir. After a prolonged artillery barrage the next day, India captured three strategic mountain positions.

Open conflict broke out along the whole border on 1 September when Pakistani forces attacked into the Punjab. This caught India unprepared. Both countries now began to launch air strikes, which placed the civilian population at increasing risk. Over the next weeks, a stalemate developed. The UN Security Council unanimously passed a resolution on 20 September calling for a cease-fire. India accepted the resolution the next day, while Pakistan accepted it on 22 September. The Soviet Union sponsored peace talks that led to the Tashkent Declaration on 10 January 1966. This formally ended the war.

While the initial fighting was restricted mainly to Kashmir, the Canadian government expressed its concern and called for a cease-fire between the two parties. When the war escalated to most of the western border the Canadian government became increasingly concerned about the safety of its citizens in India and Pakistan and a potential humanitarian problem. On 10 September, 436 Squadron was put on standby to carry medical supplies to India and evacuate Canadian nationals from the country. Two 436 Squadron Hercules were prepared at Trenton and were ready for departure for Pakistan as well on 28 September. With the cease-fire confirmed on 23 September and holding, the aircraft were stood down. Other 436 Squadron Hercules carried the Canadian Contingent to the United Nations India-Pakistan Observer Mission to the sub-continent.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) India - Pakistan 1965

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

India - Pakistan 1965

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: India - Pakistan 1965

Nom de la mission internationale: India - Pakistan 1965

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Inde et Pakistan

Date: 10 septembre 1965 - 28 septembre 1965

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (India - Pakistan 1965)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Évacuer les citoyens canadiens se trouvant en Inde et au Pakistan durant la guerre de 1965.

Historique de la mission :

En avril 1965, des accrochages se sont produits entre des patrouilleurs indiens et pakistanais le long de la frontière d’un territoire contesté du Rann de Kutch, à l’extrême sud de la frontière occidentale de l’Inde avec le Pakistan. Ils se sont étendus en août au territoire du Cachemire, qui faisait également l’objet d’un litige. Le 14 août, les forces régulières des deux pays se sont affrontées pour la première fois au Cachemire. Le lendemain, l’Inde s’est emparée de trois positions stratégiques dans les montagnes après un barrage de tirs d’artillerie prolongés.

Le conflit ouvert a éclaté le 1er septembre sur toute la frontière quand les forces pakistanaises ont attaqué le Pendjab. Cette attaque a pris l’Inde par surprise. Les deux pays ont alors commencé à recourir aux frappes aériennes, dangereuses pour la population civile. Dans les semaines qui ont suivi, les deux pays se sont retrouvés dans l’impasse. Le 20 septembre, le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU a adopté à l’unanimité une résolution appelant à un cessez-le-feu. L’Inde a accepté la résolution le lendemain et le Pakistan lui a emboîté le pas le 22 septembre. L’Union soviétique a organisé des pourparlers de paix qui ont débouché sur l’Entente de Tachkent, le 10 janvier 1966. Cette entente a mis fin officiellement à la guerre.

Lors des premiers affrontements, qui se limitaient principalement au Cachemire, le gouvernement canadien a exprimé ses préoccupations et plaidé en faveur d’un cessez-le-feu entre les deux camps. Lorsque le conflit s’est étendu à presque toute la frontière occidentale, le gouvernement est devenu de plus en plus inquiet de la sécurité des ressortissants canadiens qui se trouvaient en Inde et au Pakistan et de l’éventualité d’un problème pour l'humanité. Le 10 septembre, le 436e Escadron a été mis sur un pied d’alerte, en vue de transporter du matériel médical en Inde et d’évacuer les ressortissants canadiens du pays. Deux Hercules du 436e Escadron ont également été préparés à Trenton et étaient prêts à s’envoler pour le Pakistan le 28 septembre. Comme le cessez le-feu avait été confirmé le 23 septembre et qu’il tenait toujours, les deux avions sont restés au sol. D’autres Hercules du 436e Escadron ont transporté en Inde le contingent canadien de la Mission d’observation des Nations Unies pour l’Inde et le Pakistan.