Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Office of the Secretary-General in Afghanistan and Pakistan

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Office of the Secretary-General in Afghanistan and Pakistan

International Information

International Operation Name: Office of the Secretary-General in Afghanistan and Pakistan

International Mission Name: Office of the Secretary-General in Afghanistan and Pakistan (OSGAP)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Asia

Location: Afghanistan and Pakistan

Mission Date: 15 March 1990 - 31 January 1995

Mission Mandate:

The role of the Office of the Secretary-General in Afghanistan and Pakistan was to facilitate a political solution to the problems in Afghanistan and to assist in humanitarian efforts in that country.

Mission/Operation Notes:

After the Soviet Union invaded Afghanistan in 1979, it found itself bogged down in a war that it seemingly could not win. Agreements were finally reached on a Soviet withdrawal in April 1988, at which time the United Nations Good Offices Mission in Afghanistan and Pakistan (UNGOMAP) was created to oversee the Soviet withdrawal, assist the return of Afghan refugees, and facilitate a political settlement in Afghanistan.

UNGOMAP terminated on 15 March 1990. The Secretary-General wished to continue the efforts at assisting the return of refugees and facilitating a political settlement. Accordingly, he requested and obtained the use of one military officer from each of the ten UNGOMAP contributory nations to assist the Secretary-General’s personal representative. When UNGOMAP’s mandate terminated on 15 March, the Secretary-General created the Office of the Secretary-General in Afghanistan and Pakistan (OSGAP) to continue the work.

The position of Personal Representative was created in May 1989. He assisted in the Secretary-General’s responsibilities towards implementing the Security Council’s resolutions regarding Afghanistan. He also served as the Coordinator of the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Assistance to Afghanistan (UNOCHA). As the UN created new missions for Afghanistan, such as the UN Special Mission to Afghanistan (UNSMA, 21 December 1993), the need for the Secretary-GeneraI’s representative decreased. Accordingly, in December 1994, the Secretary-General terminated the function of the Personal Representative. In January 1995, the Secretary-General established the Office of the Secretary-General in Afghanistan (OSGA) to support UNSMA. OSGAP was terminated and its political role taken over by OSGA. The humanitarian role remained with UNOCHA.

OSGAP maintained two offices, one in Islamabad, Pakistan, and one in Kabul, Afghanistan. A small sub-office was maintained in Peshawar, Pakistan until July 1992. The Military Advisory Unit was a special sub-section of OSGAP. Their original goal was to plan for a UN force, along the lines of the later International Security Assistance Force (ISAF), for a possible deployment to Afghanistan. They were also responsible for providing military expertise to the Personal Representative and continually assessing the security situation in Afghanistan. Because the situation never developed that would allow a UN force to deploy, the MAU focussed upon building relations in the Khyber Pass-Jalalabad-Kabul corridor in order to allow humanitarian aid to reach Kabul.

An Irish lieutenant-colonel led the ten lieutenant-colonels from ten other countries. They operated from the two OSGAP headquarters in Kabul and Islamabad; however, with the deteriorating security situation in Kabul, the UN withdrew its personnel from that office in July 1992. In April 1992 President Mohammed Najibullah Ahmadzai (1986 -1992) resigned to allow a neutralist government to take power in a UN-brokered deal. Unable to leave the city, he took refuge in the UN headquarters in Kabul. Unhappily, the change in regime did not bring stability to the country and that led the UN to review its requirements for operations in Afghanistan. One of the decisions made was to close down the MAU and its operations ceased in January 1993.

Canadian participation in OSGAP commenced with the termination of UNGOMAP and ended with the UN decision to terminate the MAU. Two CF lieutenant-colonels participated in the mission.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Bureau du secrétaire général en Afghanistan et au Pakistan

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Bureau du secrétaire général en Afghanistan et au Pakistan

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Bureau du secrétaire général en Afghanistan et au Pakistan

Nom de la mission internationale: Bureau du secrétaire général en Afghanistan et au Pakistan (OSGAP)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Afghanistan et Pakistan

Date: 15 mars 1990 - 31 janvier 1995

Mandat de la mission:

Le rôle du Bureau du secrétaire général en Afghanistan et au Pakistan était de favoriser l'atteinte d'une solution politique aux problèmes de l’Afghanistan et de contribuer aux efforts humanitaires dans ce pays.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Après l’invasion de l’Afghanistan par l’Union Soviétique en 1979, celle-ci s’est trouvée enlisée dans une guerre qu’elle ne semblait pas pouvoir gagner. Des accords ont été finalement conclus en vue d’un retrait soviétique en avril 1988, date à laquelle la Mission de bons offices des Nations Unies en Afghanistan et au Pakistan (UNGOMAP) a été créée pour contrôler le retrait soviétique, aider le retour des réfugiés afghans et faciliter un règlement politique en Afghanistan.

L’UNGOMAP s’est terminée le 15 mars 1990. Le Secrétaire général souhaitait poursuivre les efforts afin d’aider le retour des réfugiés et de favoriser un règlement politique. Il a donc demandé et obtenu un officier militaire de chacun des 10 pays participant à l’UNGOMAP afin qu’ils aident son représentant personnel. Quand le mandat de l’UNGOMAP s’est terminé le 15 mars, le secrétaire général a créé le Bureau du secrétaire général en Afghanistan et au Pakistan (OSGAP) pour continuer le travail.

Le poste de représentant personnel a été créé en mai 1989. Son rôle consistait à aider le secrétaire général à mettre en œuvre les résolutions du Conseil de sécurité concernant l’Afghanistan. Il servait aussi de coordonnateur du Bureau des Nations Unies pour la coordination des affaires humanitaires (UNOCHA) en Afghanistan. Comme l’ONU a créé de nouvelles missions pour l’Afghanistan, dont la Mission spéciale des Nations Unies pour l'Afghanistan (UNSMA, 21 décembre 1993), le besoin d’un représentant du secrétaire général a diminué. Par conséquent, en décembre 1994, le Secrétaire général a donc aboli le poste de représentant personnel. En janvier 1995, le Secrétaire général a établi le Bureau du secrétaire général en Afghanistan (OSGA) pour appuyer l’UNSMA. L’OSGAP a été fermé et son rôle politique a été repris par l’OSGA. L'UNOCHA a continué de remplir le rôle humanitaire.

L’OSGAP a conservé deux bureaux, l’un à Islamabad, au Pakistan, l’autre à Kaboul, en Afghanistan. Un petit bureau secondaire a été maintenu à Peshawar, au Pakistan, jusqu’en juillet 1992. L’unité militaire de consultation (MAU) était une sous section spéciale de l’OSGAP. Le but initial était de planifier une force de l’ONU, semblable à la Force internationale d’assistance pour la sécurité (FIAS), en vue d’un éventuel déploiement en Afghanistan. L’OSGAP avait aussi la responsabilité de fournir une expertise militaire au représentant personnel et d'évaluer de façon continue la sécurité en Afghanistan. Comme cette situation n’a jamais permis de déployer une force de l’ONU, la MAU s’est concentrée sur la création de relations dans le corridor de Khaibar-Jalalabad-Kaboul pour que l’aide humanitaire puisse atteindre Kaboul.

Un lieutenant-colonel irlandais dirigeait les 10 lieutenants-colonels de 10 autres pays. Ils travaillaient à partir des deux quartiers généraux de l’OSGAP, à Kaboul et à Islamabad. Cependant, comme la sécurité se détériorait à Kaboul, l’ONU a retiré son personnel de ce bureau en juillet 1992. En avril 1992, le président Mohammed Najibullah Ahmadzai (1986 -1992) a démissionné pour permettre à un gouvernement neutre de prendre le pouvoir dans le cadre d’une entente négociée avec l’ONU. Incapable de quitter la ville, il s’est réfugié au quartier général de l’ONU à Kaboul. Malheureusement, le changement de régime n’a pas apporté la stabilité au pays, de sorte que l’ONU a décidé de revoir ses besoins opérationnels en Afghanistan. L'une de ses décisions a été de fermer la MAU et de mettre fin à ses opérations en janvier 1993.

La participation canadienne à l’OSGAP a commencé avec l’achèvement de l’UNGOMAP et s’est terminée avec la décision de l’ONU de mettre fin à la MAU. Deux lieutenants-colonels des FC ont participé à la mission.

Haut de la page