Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Pakistan 1970

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Pakistan 1970

International Information

International Operation Name: Pakistan 1970

International Mission Name: Pakistan 1970

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Asia

Location: Pakistan

Mission Date: 21 November 1970 - 30 November 1970

Mission Mandate:

To provide humanitarian aid after a typhoon hit the region.

Mission/Operation Notes:

A cyclone with winds of up to 240 km/h struck the Bay of Bengal on the night of 12-13 November 1970. The storm surge, with 10 to 18 metre high waves, hit East Pakistan (now Bangladesh), killing an estimated 200,000 (some sources say up to 500,000) with another 100,000 reported missing. Another 2.5 million people were left homeless. The rain from the cyclone and the storm surge caused the Ganges river to overflow, causing even greater damage.

In the aftermath, British Hercules aircraft began flying in supplies while 700 Royal Marines joined in the rescue operations. The US Air Force flew in helicopters in C-141 Starlifters, while West Germany provided tons of supplies.

On 21 November, a 437 Squadron Boeing left CFB Trenton with aid supplies. In the coming weeks, 437 Squadron Yukon aircraft carried out a further 12 flights, with each of the four Yukons making three trips. Altogether, they carried over 207 tons of blankets, food, medicine and tents.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Pakistan 1970

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Pakistan 1970

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Pakistan 1970

Nom de la mission internationale: Pakistan 1970

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Pakistan

Date: 21 novembre 1970 - 30 novembre 1970

Mandat de la mission :

Fournir de l’aide humanitaire à la suite d’un typhon dans la région.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Un cyclone dont les vents atteignaient les 240 km/h a frappé le golfe du Bengale dans la nuit du 12 au 13 novembre 1970. L’onde de tempête, qui a produit des vagues d’une hauteur de 10 à 18 mètres, s’est abattue sur le Pakistan oriental (aujourd’hui le Bangladesh) et a causé la mort d’environ 200 000 personnes (jusqu’à 500 000 selon certaines sources), alors que 100 000 personnes ont été portées disparues. Deux millions et demi d'autres personnes se sont retrouvées sans abri. La pluie apportée par le cyclone et l’onde de tempête a provoqué le débordement du Gange, ce qui a causé des dégâts encore plus importants.

Après le cataclysme, des Hercules britanniques ont commencé à apporter des secours et 700 Royal Marines ont participé aux opérations de sauvetage. Des C 141 Starlifter de la US Air Force ont livré des hélicoptères, tandis que la République fédérale d’Allemagne a fourni plusieurs tonnes d’approvisionnements.

Le 21 novembre, un Boeing du 437e Escadron a quitté la BFC Trenton chargé de secours. Dans les semaines qui ont suivi, 4 Yukon du 437e Escadron ont effectué 12 autres vols, soit 3 vols par avion. En tout, ils ont transporté plus de 207 tonnes de couvertures, de nourriture, de médicaments et de tentes.

Haut de la page