Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation TOKYO

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Operation TOKYO

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation TOKYO

International Mission Name: Operation TOKYO (TOKYO)

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Asia

Location: Japan

Mission Date: 26 July 1947 - 1 September 1947

Mission Mandate:

To transport Canadian dignitaries to Tokyo, Japan, to discuss the resumption of trade and develop Canadian policy on the Japanese Peace Settlement.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In 1947, the head of the United Nations Occupation Force in Japan, U.S. General Douglas MacArthur, invited retired Canadian Second World War General H.D.G. Crerar to visit Japan. The government took this opportunity to send a delegation to Japan with the purpose of reopening trade, and in discussion with Allied officers in Japan, to help develop Canadian policy towards the Japanese Peace Settlement. General Crerar was the head of the delegation.

On 26 July, a Consolidated B-24 Liberator aircraft from No. 168 Heavy Transport Squadron departed Rockcliffe at Ottawa. The aircraft took seven days to reach Tokyo, as it stopped each day. The delegation stayed in Japan until 20 August, at which time it flew to Nanking, and later Canton, China. The return flight started on 25 August, with the aircraft returning to Rockcliffe on 2 September.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) TOKYO

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

TOKYO

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération TOKYO

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération TOKYO (TOKYO)

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Japon

Date: 26 juillet 1947 - 1 septembre 1947

Mandat de la mission:

Transporter jusqu’à Tokyo, au Japon, des dignitaires canadiens aux fins de discussion du rétablissement des échanges commerciaux et de l’élaboration de la politique canadienne relativement au traité de paix avec le Japon.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

En 1947, le dirigeant de la force d’occupation des Nations Unies au Japon, le Général Douglas MacArthur, a invité le Général H.D.G. Crerar (retraité), qui avait servi au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, à visiter le Japon. Le gouvernement a saisi l’occasion pour y envoyer une délégation dans l’espoir de rétablir les échanges commerciaux avec le Japon et de discuter avec les officiers alliés au Japon de la politique canadienne sur le traité de paix avec le Japon. Le Général Crerar était le chef de la délégation.

Le 26 juillet, un aéronef Consolidated B 24 Liberator du 168e Escadron de transport lourd est parti de Rockcliffe, à Ottawa. Il lui a fallu sept jours pour atteindre Tokyo, car il s’arrêtait chaque jour. La délégation est restée au Japon jusqu’au 20 août, date à laquelle elle s’est déplacée vers Nankin, puis vers Canton, en Chine. Le voyage de retour a commencé le 25 août et l’aéronef est arrivé à Rockcliffe le 2 septembre.

Haut de la page