Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation United Nations Development Program / Cambodia Mine Action Centre

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

United Nations Development Program / Cambodia Mine Action Centre

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Development Program / Cambodia Mine Action Center (CMAC)

International Mission Name: United Nations Development Program / Cambodia Mine Action Center (CMAC)

Mandating Organization:
United Nations Development Programme
United Nations Department for Humanitarian Affairs
United Nations Security Council Resolutions 745 of 28 February 1992 and 880 of 4 November 1993

Region Name: Asia

Location: Cambodia

Mission Date: 4 November 1993 - Ongoing

Canadian Operation:

No Canadian operation name: 1 March 1994 to 30 June 2000

Mission Mandate:

Authorized in November 1993 by the United Nations Development Programme and the United Nations Department for Humanitarian Affairs, the Cambodian Mine Action Centre (CMAC) is tasked to achieve a state within Cambodia, where people can go about their lives free from the threat of mines, and reconstruction and development activities can take place in a safe environment.

Mission/Operation Notes:

On 16 October 1991, the United Nations deployed the United Nations Advanced Mission in Cambodia (UNAMIC) to begin the work of implementing the Paris Peace Accords and to lay the groundwork for the United Nations Transition Authority (UNTAC). Included in UNAMIC’s mandate was the provision of mine awareness training. However, shortly after beginning operations it was quickly realized that there was an urgent need for a major de-mining effort. To this end the Security Council passed resolution 728(1992) which expanded the size of the UNAMIC mission from the original 200 personnel to 1090 with field engineers and logistic support personnel.

In February 1992, with the passage of UNSCR 745(1992), the United Nations established the United Nations Transition Authority in Cambodia (UNTAC). UNTAC began operations in mid March 1992 and continued the de-mining work begun by UNAMIC until the end of its mandate in September 1993. Realizing the importance of continuing the program, the de-mining effort was continued under the auspices of the Cambodian Mine Action Centre, a national (Cambodian) institution established in the closing days of UNTAC. To support the centre, a United Nations Development Programme was established to provide for international community support to CMAC, in the form of both financial contributions and military and civilian technical advisors. In February of 1994 Canada announced it would be contributing 12 CF members to CMAC, making it the largest single contributor at the time. From 1 March 1994 to 30 June 2000, anywhere from four to twelve CF personnel served with the CMAC at any one time.

The scale of the problem was enormous. After nearly twenty years of continuous war, Cambodia was left with a legacy of between 8 – 10 million mines nation-wide. CMAC addresses the mine and unexploded ordnance problem through four main programme activities: 1) Mine/Unexploded ordinance awareness, 2) Minefield verification and marking, 3) Mine/UXO clearance, and 4) Training. By late 1996 CMAC was operating 48 de-mining platoons, each of 30 personnel, 18 mine marking teams, 15 Explosive Ordinance Disposal teams, four mine awareness teams, and a national training centre to train personnel. CMAC also controlled the efforts of some 20 additional demining platoons operated by non Governmental Organizations (NGOs) and oversees any commercial mine/UXO clearance activities in Cambodia. At its peak in 1999, CMAC operated 70 demining platoons and 18 EOD teams nation wide.

In 1998, CMAC changed its emphasis from an emergency phase, to a developmental phase, in which the selection of minefields to be cleared was based on the requests from high casualty rate communities and an assessment of the socio-economic benefits. This work continues today.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement / Centre cambodgien de déminage

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement / Centre cambodgien de déminage (CCD)

Nom de la mission internationale: Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement / Centre cambodgien de déminage (CCD)

Organismes responsables:
Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement
Département des affaires humanitaires des Nations Unies
Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, résolutions 745 (28 février 1992) et 880 (4 novembre 1993)

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Cambodge

Date: 4 novembre 1993 - en cours

Opération canadienne:

Aucun nom d'opération canadienne: Du 1er mars 1994 au 30 juin 2000

Mandat:

Autorisé en novembre 1993 par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement et le Département des affaires humanitaires des Nations Unies, le Centre cambodgien de déminage (CCD) a reçu pour mandat d’instaurer des conditions qui permettront à la population cambodgienne de reprendre le cours normal de sa vie à l’abri de la menace posée par les mines, de sorte que les activités de reconstruction et de développement puissent se dérouler dans un environnement sûr.

Notes sur la mission:

Le 16 octobre 1991, les Nations Unies ont déployé la Mission préparatoire des Nations Unies au Cambodge (MIPRENUC) pour amorcer la mise en œuvre des Accords de paix de Paris et préparer le terrain pour la venue de l’Autorité provisoire des Nations Unies au Cambodge (APRONUC). La MIPRENUC avait entre autres pour mandat d’offrir des séances de sensibilisation aux dangers des mines. Toutefois, peu de temps après le début des activités, on s’est rendu compte de l’urgence de procéder à une opération de déminage majeure. C’est à cette fin que le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 728(1992), qui a élargi la portée du mandat conféré à la MIPRENUC. L’effectif de celle-ci est alors passé de 200 à 1 090 personnes, notamment des sapeurs et du personnel de soutien logistique.

En février 1992, l’adoption de la résolution 745 par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a permis la création de l’APRONUC. Entreprenant ses activités à la mi-mars 1992, l’APRONUC a poursuivi les efforts de déminage de la MIPRENUC jusqu’à la fin de son mandat, en septembre 1993. Comme il importait de maintenir le programme de déminage, celui-ci a ensuite été confié au Centre cambodgien de déminage (CCD), un établissement national (cambodgien) mis sur pied durant les derniers jours de l’APRONUC. Un volet du Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement (PNUD) a été établi pour fournir au CCD l’appui de la communauté internationale, sous la forme de contributions financières et par l’envoi de conseillers techniques militaires et civils. En février 1994, le Canada a annoncé qu’il dépêcherait 12 membres des Forces canadiennes (FC), ce qui en a fait le pays qui fournissait le plus d’effectifs au CCD à l’époque. Entre le 1er mars 1994 et le 30 juin 2000, de 4 à 12 membres des FC ont été au service du CCD en tout temps.

Au bout de presque 20 ans d’une guerre incessante, l’ampleur du problème était énorme : le sol cambodgien était parsemé de 8 à 10 millions de mines. Le CCD a misé sur quatre grandes stratégies pour éradiquer le problème des mines et des munitions non explosées : 1) la sensibilisation aux dangers que posent les mines et les munitions non explosées; 2) la vérification et le marquage des champs de mines; 3) le déminage, et l’élimination des munitions explosives non explosées (UXO); 4) la formation. À la fin de 1996, le CCD supervisait 48 pelotons de déminage de 30 membres chacun, 18 équipes de marquage des mines, 15 équipes d’élimination des munitions explosives, 4 équipes de sensibilisation aux dangers des mines et un centre de formation national. De plus, le CCD coordonnait les efforts de quelque 20 pelotons de déminage supplémentaires relevant d’organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) et surveillait l’ensemble des initiatives commerciales d’élimination des mines et des UXO au Cambodge. Au plus fort de ses activités, en 1999, le CCD dirigeait 70 pelotons de déminage et 18 équipes d’élimination des explosifs à l’échelle nationale.

En 1998, passant d’une phase d’urgence à une phase de développement, le CCD a commencé à sélectionner les champs de mines à déminer en fonction des avantages socioéconomiques et des demandes provenant de collectivités où le nombre de victimes était élevé. Il poursuit toujours sa mission.