Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation CADENCE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Belize 1961

International Information

International Operation Name: Military Observer Group Dominican Republic

International Mission Name: Military Observer Group Dominican Republic (MOGDR)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Central America

Location: Dominican Republic

Mission Date: 1 September 1994 - 30 September 1994

Mission Mandate:

To monitor the border between the Dominican Republic and Haiti, and provide advice to the Dominican government regarding the enforcement of the United Nations embargo against the Haitian government.

Supported by UN Security Council resolution 917 (1994).

In September 1991 a military coup d’état in Haiti overthrew the democratically elected government of Jean Bertrand Aristide. A UN-sponsored oil and weapons embargo was imposed against Haiti in June 1993. One month later Haitian military and political leaders signed the Governors Island Agreement that called for the resumption of civilian rule. President Aristide was to return to Haiti by October 30, 1993, and the leadership of the Haitian military was to give up all political power. The Agreement also called for the United Nations to assist in modernizing the armed forces and establishing a new police force in Haiti. Accordingly, on September 23 1993, the United Nations Security Council authorized the establishment and despatch of the United Nations Mission in Haiti (UNMIH). When the military government refused to permit members of the United Nations to land, the UN increased the sanctions imposed on the Haitian military regime.

Ships from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, France, Argentina and the Netherlands were deployed to Haitian waters and served with the multinational Maritime Interdiction Operation (MIO) to monitor and enforce UN sanctions. Operation FORWARD ACTION had the mandate of ensuring that cargo bound for Haiti did not violate UN sanctions. In addition, a Multinational Observers Group in Dominican Republic (MOGDR) was established to supervise the embargo on the border between the Dominican Republic and Haiti. Military personnel from Canada, the United States and Argentina participated in the MOGDR.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (CADENCE)

Name: CADENCE

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Designated Operation CADENCE, the first Spanish-speaking officer from the Canadian Forces deployed briefly with MOGDR’s advance team in May 1994. Another CF officer was sent in August, and was joined by fourteen other CF personnel in early September. Their responsibilities included observing the border and reporting on the traffic crossing between the two countries.

On July 31 1994, acting under Chapter VII of the UN charter, UNSC Resolution 940 authorized the formation of a Multinational Force (MNF) to "use all necessary means" to implement the Governors Island Agreement. It also called for the deployment of 6000 personnel as part of an expanded UNMIH, which would replace the MNF once a permissive environment was established.

By late September 1994 the presence of the MOGDR was no longer required as the American-led Multinational Force (MNF) placed troops in positions to monitor the embargo from inside Haiti. The Canadians received their redeployment order at the end of the month, bringing Operation CADENCE to a conclusion.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) CADENCE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

CADENCE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Groupe multinational d'observateurs en République dominicaine

Nom de la mission internationale: Groupe multinational d’observateurs en République dominicaine (GMORD)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: République dominicaine

Date: 1 septembre 1994 - 30 septembre 1994

Mandat de la mission :

Surveiller la frontière entre la République dominicaine et Haïti et conseiller le gouvernement dominicain relativement à l’application de l’embargo des Nations unies contre le gouvernement haïtien.

D'après la résolution 917 (1994) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies.

Historique de la mission:

En septembre 1991, le gouvernement démocratiquement élu de Jean Bertrand Aristide a été renversé par un coup d’état militaire. L'ONU a ordonné un embargo sur le pétrole et les armes contre Haïti en juin 1993. Un mois plus tard, les dirigeants politiques et militaires haïtiens ont conclu l’Accord de l'Île des Gouverneurs, qui annonçait la restauration de l’état de droit. Le président Aristide devait rentrer en Haïti au plus tard le 30 octobre 1993 et les dirigeants de la force militaire haïtienne devaient renoncer à toute intervention politique. L’Accord prévoyait aussi que l’ONU aiderait à moderniser les forces armées et à établir une nouvelle force policière en Haïti. Le 23 septembre 1993, le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU a donc autorisé la mise sur pied et le déploiement de la Mission des Nations Unies en Haïti (MINUHA).

Lorsque le gouvernement militaire a empêché les membres de la MINUHA de débarquer, l’ONU a accru les sanctions contre le régime militaire haïtien.

Des navires des États-Unis, du Canada, du Royaume-Uni, de la France, de l’Argentine et des Pays-Bas ont été déployés dans les eaux haïtiennes dans le cadre de l’opération multinationale d’interdiction maritime afin de surveiller et d’appliquer les sanctions de l’ONU. Le mandat de l’opération FORWARD ACTION était de s’assurer que les marchandises à destination d’Haïti ne violaient pas les sanctions de l’ONU. De plus, on a formé le Groupe multinational d’observateurs en République dominicaine (GMORD) pour superviser l’embargo à la frontière entre la République dominicaine et Haïti. Des militaires du Canada, des États-Unis et de l’Argentine ont participé à cette opération.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (CADENCE)

Nom: CADENCE

En mai 1994, dans le cadre de l’opération CADENCE, le premier officier hispanophone des Forces canadiennes a été dépêché pour une courte durée auprès de l’équipe de reconnaissance du GMORD. En août, on a envoyé un autre officier, rejoint ensuite par 14 autres membres des FC au début de septembre. Entre autres responsabilités, ils devaient surveiller la frontière et rendre compte de la circulation entre les deux pays.

Le 31 juillet 1994, agissant en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté la résolution 940 autorisant la formation d’une force multinationale qui devait « prendre tous les moyens nécessaires » pour appliquer l’Accord de l'Île des Gouverneurs. On prévoyait aussi le déploiement de 6 000 personnes dans le cadre d’une MINUHA élargie, qui remplacerait la force multinationale, une fois un climat de tolérance établi.

À la fin de septembre 1994, grâce à la force multinationale dirigée par les Américains qui surveillait l’embargo de l’intérieur d’Haïti, la présence du GMORD n’était plus nécessaire. Les Canadiens ont reçu leur ordre de redéploiement à la fin du mois, ce qui a mis fin à l’opération CADENCE.

Haut de la page