Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation DIALOGUE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

DIALOGUE

International Information

International Operation Name: DIALOGUE

International Mission Name: DIALOGUE

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Haiti

Mission Date: 1 September 1994 - 12 October 1994

Mission Mandate:

To evacuate Canadian nationals from Haiti, in the event the political situation deteriorates.

Mission/Operation Notes:

With the successful signing of the Governors Island Agreement and the New York Pact, the sanctions imposed on Haiti by the United Nations in June 1993 were suspended. On 23 September the Security Council authorized the establishment and immediate dispatch of the United Nations Mission in Haiti (UNMIH) for a six-month period.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (DIALOGUE)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada’s participation in UNMIH was called Operation CAULDRON and provided a predominantly engineering contingent as part of a multi-national UN force to assist in the restoration of Haitian infrastructure.

However, faced with the refusal of Haiti's military regime to implement the Governors Island Agreement, the Security Council re-imposed its oil and arms embargoes on Haiti in October 1993. Under the international operation name FORWARD ACTION, warships from several nations came together to enforce this embargo.

The situation in Haiti continued to deteriorate and by April of 1994 Canada, under the designation Operation DIALOGUE, issued a warning order to begin planning a Non-Combatant Evacuation Operation (NEO) of Canadian personnel should the political situation continue to worsen.

In September, a Canadian team was dispatched to the USS WASP off the coast of Puerto Rico, to coordinate efforts with the Americans. Talks focused on coordinating the force structure, the tactical planning and laying the groundwork for cooperation should the operation need to be executed.

The plan called for a night operation with one company of US Marines landing and securing the Port-Au-Prince airport, a second amphibious company securing a sugar refinery beach and pier, and a third company mounted in 15 LAVs coming ashore and securing the area centered around the airport. A fourth company would remain in reserve off shore. Once all areas were secure, personnel wishing to leave Haiti were to marshal at four locations around Port-au-Prince from which they would be transported to the airport where they would be evacuated. According to American embassy estimates, only 2000 of the estimated 9000 potential evacuees would actually want to leave. Based on those numbers the operation was estimated to take roughly three to four days.

To support the operation, in September Canada deployed a task group consisting of the HMC Ships Preserver, Fraser and Gatineau, and placed on alert 1st Commando of the Canadian Airborne Regiment for deployment.

The task group remained on station outside Haitian territorial waters on “exercise” fully prepared to intervene and support the extraction of Canadian personnel if necessary.

With the passing of UNSCR 940(1994) and the deployment in September of the Multinational Force (MNF), the need for Operation DIALOGUE was removed. Thus on 12 October 1994 Operation DIALOGUE ceased operations, and was redesignated a contingency operation.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) DIALOGUE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

DIALOGUE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: DIALOGUE

Nom de la mission internationale: DIALOGUE

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Haïti

Date: 1 septembre 1994 - 12 octobre 1994

Mandat de la mission:

Évacuer les ressortissants canadiens d’Haïti, dans l’éventualité d’une détérioration de la situation politique dans ce pays.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Par suite de la signature de l’Accord de l’Île des Gouverneurs et du Pacte de New York, les Nations Unies ont suspendu les sanctions prises contre Haïti en juin 1993. Le 23 septembre, le Conseil de sécurité a autorisé la mise sur pied de la Mission des Nations Unies en Haïti (MINUHA) et son envoi immédiat pour une période de six mois.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (DIALOGUE)

Historique de la mission:

Le Canada a participé à la MINUHA en mettant sur pied l’opération Cauldron, qui consistait à fournir un contingent composé principalement de membres du génie devant être intégré à une force multinationale de l'ONU pour aider à la restauration de l’infrastructure haïtienne.

Toutefois, en octobre 1993, face au refus du régime militaire d’Haïti d’appliquer l’Accord de l’Île des Gouverneurs, le Conseil de sécurité a rétabli son embargo sur le pétrole et les armes à destination d’Haïti. Dans le cadre de l’opération internationale connue sous le nom de Forward Action, des navires de guerre de divers pays se sont regroupés pour veiller à faire respecter cet embargo.

La situation a continué de se détériorer en Haïti et, en avril 1994, le Canada a émis, sous le nom d’opération Dialogue, un ordre d’avertissement pour commencer à planifier une opération d’évacuation des non combattants (NEO) canadiens dans l’éventualité où la situation politique continuerait d’empirer.

En septembre, une équipe canadienne a été affectée au navire USS Wasp, au large de Puerto Rico, pour coordonner les efforts avec les Américains. Les discussions visaient principalement à coordonner la structure des forces, assurer la planification tactique et poser les jalons afin d'agir de façon concertée si jamais il fallait mettre l’opération à exécution.

Le plan supposait une opération de nuit visant à débarquer une compagnie de Marines chargés de prendre le contrôle de l’aéroport de Port-au-Prince, une deuxième compagnie (amphibie) devant prendre le contrôle d'un quai et de la plage près d’une raffinerie de sucre, et une troisième compagnie de 15 véhicules blindés légers (VBL) pour prendre le secteur entourant l’aéroport. Une quatrième compagnie devait demeurer en réserve au large. Une fois tous les secteurs occupés, les ressortissants désireux de quitter le pays devaient se rassembler à quatre endroits dans les environs de Port-au-Prince pour être escortés à l’aéroport en vue de leur évacuation. Selon une évaluation de l’ambassade des États Unis, seulement 2 000 des 9 000 évacués potentiels voudraient réellement quitter Haïti. On avait donc estimé que l’opération durerait de trois à quatre jours.

Pour soutenir l’opération, le Canada avait déployé, en septembre, un groupe opérationnel formé des NCSM Preserver, Fraser et Gatineau, et mis en alerte le 1er Commando du Régiment aéroporté du Canada.

Le groupe opérationnel est resté à l’« exercice » hors des eaux territoriales d’Haïti, toujours prêt à intervenir et à appuyer l'extraction des ressortissants canadiens.

Par suite de l'adoption de la résolution 940 (1994) par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies et du déploiement de la Force multinationale en septembre, l’opération Dialogue a perdu sa raison d’être. Ainsi, le 12 octobre 1994, elle a pris fin et est devenue une opération de contingence.