Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation HORATIO

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

HORATIO
14 Sep 2008
Tiburon, Haiti
Photo by MCpl Eduardo
Mora Pineda
Formation Imaging Services,
Halifax.

Members of the community of Tiburon,
in Haiti, look with curiosity at the landing
of the Sea-king Helicopter transporting
bags of rice.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation HORATIO

International Mission Name: Operation HORATIO

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Haiti

Mission Date: 12 September 2008 - 26 September 2008

Mandate: to provide humanitarian assistance to Haiti

Details:

In the late summer of 2008, Haiti was hit by four successive hurricanes: Fay, Gustav, Hanna and Ike. The strong winds and torrential rains left at least 550 people dead and destroyed or damaged a large portion of Haitiís already fragile infrastructure. Up to 800,000 people were in need of assistance Ė 10 percent of the population.

In response, the Canadian Government authorized the Canadian Forces to provide assistance. A warning order was issued on 10 September, advising various CF units that they may be required to assist in Haiti. At the request of the Haitian prime minister and the World Food Programme the CF was asked to assist in delivering aid to the southern part of the country. HMCS St. Johnís, already deployed in the Caribbean on an anti-drug operation, was redeployed to the area. An operation order, issued on 17 September, gave the mission the name Operation HORATIO.

The Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART) was placed on stand-by while a reconnaissance team deployed to the island on 9 September to determine if the DART could be effectively employed. Staff from the Joint Headquarters Kingston supported by the four Canadian officers who were in Haiti as part of Operation Hamlet (in support of the UNís MINUSTAH), helped coordinate efforts on the ground with other government departments from Canada, the Government of Haiti and the WFP. At the same time, military engineers working on a reconstruction project in Jamaica were redeployed to Haiti where at least six key bridges had been destroyed.

While in Haiti, HMCS St. Johnís would load supplies in Port-au-Prince and then sailed to the southern peninsula of the country. The first load of 95.3 tons was loaded by hand with sailors and local residents standing side-by-side passing sacks of food along the jetty and into and onto the ship. The hangar deck and breezeways, in fact almost every accessible area, was stacked with bags. Cranes later assisted subsequent reloading efforts. Once at the destination the ship would anchor offshore while the embarked Sea King flew loads ashore. The Sea King proved very useful as it was able to reach communities for which no other means of transport were available, in the process flying over 300 cargo loads. By the time the operation concluded, St. Johnís had made four round trips, delivering more than 467 metric tons of rice, corn-soya meal, bottled water, water purification tablets and other relief supplies to nine communities over a 13-day period.

By 25 September the WFP advised that they now had sufficient sealift capability and helicopters in place to take over the efforts of the Canadian mission. HMCS St. Johnís and other participating personnel and units headed back to Canada starting the next day.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) HORATIO

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

HORATIO
14 septembre 2008
Tiburon (Haïti)
Photo : Cplc Eduardo
Mora Pineda
Services d’imagerie de la
formation, Halifax

Des membres de la collectivité de
Tiburon, en Haïti, observent avec
curiosité l’atterrissage de
l’hélicoptère Sea King
transportant les sacs de riz.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération HORATIO

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération HORATIO

Organisme responsable: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Haïti

Date: 12 septembre 2008 - 26 septembre 2008

Mandat: fournir de l’aide humanitaire à Haïti

Détails:

À la fin de l’été 2008, Haïti a été frappé par quatre ouragans successifs : Fay, Gustav, Hanna et Ike. En raison des forts vents et des pluies diluviennes, au moins 550 personnes sont mortes et une grande partie de l’infrastructure déjà fragile d’Haïti a été endommagée ou détruite. Jusqu’à 800 000 personnes, soit 10 p. 100 de la population, avaient besoin d’aide.

En réaction à cette catastrophe pour l’humanité, le gouvernement du Canada a autorisé les Forces canadiennes à fournir de l’assistance. Un ordre d’avertissement a été émis le 10 septembre, indiquant à diverses unités des FC qu’elles pourraient être appelées à apporter de l’aide en Haïti. À la demande du Premier ministre d’Haïti et du Programme alimentaire mondial (PAM), les FC ont été chargées de livrer des secours dans la partie sud du pays. Le NCSM ST. JOHN’S, déjà déployé dans les Caraïbes dans le cadre d’une opération antidrogue, a été réaffecté dans la région. Un ordre d’opération émis le 17 septembre a donné le nom d’opération Horatio à la mission.

L’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC) a été mise en attente tandis qu’une équipe de reconnaissance a été déployée dans l’île le 9 septembre afin de déterminer si l’EICC pourrait être utile. Du personnel du Quartier général interarmées à Kingston, soutenu par quatre officiers canadiens qui se trouvaient en Haïti dans le cadre de l’opération Hamlet (à l’appui de la MINUSTAH de l’ONU), a aidé à coordonner les initiatives au sol avec d’autres ministères du gouvernement canadien, le gouvernement d’Haïti et le PAM. Parallèlement, des ingénieurs militaires travaillant à un projet de reconstruction en Jamaïque ont été réaffectés en Haïti, où au moins six ponts avaient été détruits.

Pendant son séjour en Haïti, le NCSM ST. JOHN’S devait charger des fournitures à Port-au-Prince, puis se rendre dans la péninsule sud du pays. Le premier chargement de 95,3 tonnes a été embarqué manuellement, des marins et des résidants de l’endroit se tenant côte à côte et faisant passer les sacs de nourriture le long du quai jusqu’au navire. Il y avait des piles de sacs sur le pont du hangar et dans les passages couverts, et en fait dans presque toutes les sections accessibles. Plus tard, des grues ont été utilisées pour le rechargement. Une fois rendu à destination, le navire jetterait l’ancre au large, tandis qu’un Sea King embarqué s’occuperait de transporter les approvisionnements à terre. Le Sea King s’est révélé très utile, car il a permis d’atteindre des collectivités qui ne pouvaient l’être autrement, tout en transportant plus de 300 chargements de fret. À la fin de l’opération, le ST. JOHN’S avait effectué quatre voyages aller-retour et livré plus de 467 tonnes métriques de riz, de semoule de maïs et de soya, d’eau embouteillée, de comprimés pour purifier l’eau et d’autres approvisionnements de secours à 9 collectivités au cours d’une période de 13 jours.

Le 25 septembre, le PAM a indiqué qu’il disposait d’une capacité de transport maritime suffisante et d’assez d’hélicoptères pour prendre la relève de la mission canadienne. Le NCSM ST. JOHN ainsi que le personnel et les unités participantes ont pris le chemin du retour le lendemain.