Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation HUGO

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

HUGO

International Information

International Operation Name: HUGO

International Mission Name: HUGO

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Montserrat and Nevis

Mission Date: 22 September 1989 - 15 October 1989

Mission Mandate:

To deliver humanitarian aid to Montserrat and Nevis.

Mission/Operation Notes:

Hurricane Hugo started as tropical depression off the coast of Africa on 9 September. By the time it reached the islands of Guadeloupe and Montserrat near midnight on 17 September, it was category 5 storm. That same night it reached the US Virgin Islands, laying shambles to the island of St. Croix. Hugo then headed northward, hitting the eastern tip of Puerto Rico on the 19th. A weakened Hugo then gained strength before hitting South Carolina.

The 225 km/h (140 mph) winds that hit Guadeloupe and Montserrat killed at least 21 people and left 12,000 homeless, including almost the entire population of Montserrat. St. Croix suffered a similar fate with 80 percent of homes destroyed or damaged, while 12 people were killed and 30,00 left homeless on Puerto Rico after 260 km/h (160 mph winds). Damage estimates ran to $10 billion.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (HUGO)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Following a request from the Canadian High Commissioner in Barbados for Canadian Forces assistance, a recce team was dispatched to Antigua to work with the Caribbean Community Disaster Relief Unit (CDRU). Priorities were established in collaboration with the CDRU and after further reconnaissance of the affected islands.

CF efforts in Montserrat would focus on re-opening the airport to facilitate the further distribution of food and other supplies. To that end, on 22 September Canada provided a nine-member Air Traffic Communications and Control Unit (ATCCU) from CFB Trenton to set up a mobile control tower and beacon to guide future relief flights through the tricky approach to the field.

In addition, the CF would supply five auxiliary power units and an engineer detachment. These arrived by 30 September. The 30-man engineering team was composed of field engineers and one mechanic from 2 Combat Engineer Regiment, signalers from the Special Service Force (SSF) and SSF Headquarters, construction engineer tradesmen from across Canada and medical personnel from 2 Field Ambulance. The Engineers rebuilt the fence around the airport (to keep cattle from straying onto the runway), fixed the approach lights, repaired the roof of the control tower and terminal, and set up Canadian and foreign supplied APUs and power poles.

Elsewhere in the city, a medical technician and plumber restored the water supply to the hospital. Meanwhile, three engineers were sent to Nevis to install an APU there, and 436 Squadron flew missions to Antigua, Aruba, Costa Rica and Montserrat.

The last Canadians returned to Canada on 15 October.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) HUGO

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

HUGO

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: HUGO

Nom de la mission internationale: HUGO

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Montserrat et Nevis

Date: 22 septembre 1989 - 15 octobre 1989

Mandat de la mission:

Apporter de l’aide humanitaire à Montserrat et Nevis.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

L’ouragan Hugo a commencé sous forme de dépression tropicale au large de l’Afrique, le 9 septembre. Quand il a atteint la Guadeloupe et Montserrat, vers minuit, le 17 septembre, c’était une tempête de catégorie 5. Cette même nuit, il a atteint les îles Vierges américaines, semant le désordre sur l’île St. Croix. Hugo s’est ensuite dirigé vers le nord, s’abattant sur l’extrémité ouest de Puerto Rico le 19. Affaibli, il a repris de la puissance avant de frapper la Caroline du Sud.

Les vents de 225 km/h (140 mi/h) qui ont frappé la Guadeloupe et Montserrat ont tué au moins 21 personnes et en ont laissé 12 000 sans abri, dont la majeure partie de la population de Montserrat. St. Croix a subi un sort semblable : 80 p. 100 des maisons ont été détruites ou endommagées, alors qu’à Puerto Rico, 12 personnes ont été tuées et 30 000 se sont retrouvées sans abri après le passage de vents de 260 km/h (160 mi/h). Les dommages ont été estimés à 10 milliards de dollars.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (HUGO)

Historique de la mission:

Par suite de la demande d’aide présentée aux Forces canadiennes par le haut-commissaire du Canada à la Barbade, une équipe de reconnaissance a été envoyée à Antigua pour travailler avec le Service de secours en cas de catastrophe de la Communauté des Caraïbes. Des priorités ont été établies en collaboration avec le Service et après une reconnaissance plus poussée des îles touchées.

Les opérations des FC à Montserrat devaient être concentrées sur la réouverture de l’aéroport afin de faciliter la distribution de davantage de nourriture et d'autres fournitures. à cette fin, le 22 septembre, le Canada a déployé une Unité aérotransportable de transmissions et de contrôle (UATC) de neuf personnes de la BFC Trenton afin de monter une tour de contrôle et un phare mobiles pour guider les prochains vols de secours dans l’approche délicate du terrain.

En outre, les FC ont fourni cinq groupes électrogènes d'appoint et un détachement d'ingénieurs, qui sont arrivés le 30 septembre. L’équipe du génie de 30 personnes était composée de sapeurs et d’un mécanicien du 2e Régiment du génie, de signaleurs de la Force d’opérations spéciales (FOS) et du quartier général de la FOS, d’ingénieurs de travaux publics et bâtiments de partout au Canada et de personnel médical de la 2e Ambulance de campagne. Les ingénieurs ont reconstruit la clôture autour de l’aéroport (afin d’empêcher le bétail de s'aventurer sur la piste), réparé les feux d’approche ainsi que le toit de la tour de contrôle et de l’aérogare et installé des groupes électrogènes d'appoint et des colonnes d’alimentation fournis par le Canada et d’autres pays étrangers.

Ailleurs dans la ville, un technicien médical et un plombier ont restauré l’alimentation en eau de l’hôpital. Pendant ce temps, trois ingénieurs ont été envoyés à Nevis pour installer un groupe électrogène d'appoint, et le 436e Escadron a effectué des vols vers Antigua, Aruba, le Costa Rica et Montserrat.

Les derniers Canadiens sont revenus au pays le 15 octobre.