Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation HUMBLE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

HUMBLE

International Information

International Operation Name: HUMBLE

International Mission Name: HUMBLE

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Haiti

Mission Date: 24 May 2001 - 31 May 2001

Mission Mandate: To evaluate and effect repairs on 14 DFAIT generators at the Port-au-Prince Mission.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In early May 2001, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) made a request to DND under the DND Artisan Support to DFAIT Administrative Agreement, to have military technicians come to the Embassy in Port-au-Prince Haiti, and evaluate 14 emergency generators installed on mission grounds.

DND responded by sending a two man Specialist Engineering Team (SET), via commercial air from Trenton Ontario, to Haiti. Their mission was to provide a report with recommendations to DFAIT, through J3 Engineering, regarding the state of the generators and how best to affect repairs. Repairs were only to be undertaken if they were within the capability of the engineers. Any additional repairs were be approved by the DCDS prior to completion. The report was to be submitted to J3 a week after their return.

The team flew down towards the end of May and were housed and shepherded around by DFAIT personnel. The operation came to a close upon the team’s return on 31 May 2001 with their recommendations.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) HUMBLE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

HUMBLE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: HUMBLE

Nom de la mission internationale: HUMBLE

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Haïti

Date: 24 mai 2001 - 31 mai 2001

Mandat de la mission:

Évaluer l’état des 14 génératrices du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) à la mission de Port-au-Prince et les réparer au besoin.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Au début de mai 2001, le MAECI a demandé au ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN), dans le cadre de l’entente administrative Artisan du MDN pour le MAEC, d’envoyer des techniciens militaires à l’ambassade de Port-au-Prince en Haïti afin d’évaluer l’état des 14 génératrices de secours installées sur les lieux.

Le MDN a répondu en envoyant une équipe spécialisée du génie (ESG) par vol commercial de Trenton (Ontario) à Haïti. La mission de l’équipe était de fournir un rapport contenant des recommandations à l’intention du MAECI, par l’intermédiaire du J3 Génie, sur l’état des génératrices et sur la meilleure manière de les réparer. Les techniciens ne devaient faire les réparations que s’ils en étaient capables. Toute autre réparation devait être approuvée au préalable par le SCEMD. Le rapport devait être présenté au J3 une semaine après le retour des techniciens.

L’équipe s’est rendue sur les lieux vers la fin de mai et a été logée et prise en charge par le personnel du MAECI. L’opération s’est terminée quand l’équipe est revenue au Canada le 31 mai 2001 avec ses recommandations.

Haut de la page