Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Jamaica 2007

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Jamaica 2007
Private Alexandre Tassé, (right) from Gatineau, Quebec
and a Traffic Technician with Mobile Air Movements
(MAM) 8 Wing, CFB Trenton pushes a pallet of
humanitarian Aid provided by the Canadian
International Development Agency (CIDA) and the
Canadian Red Cross into the CC-177 aircraft.

International Information

International Operation Name: Jamaica 2007

International Mission Name: Jamaica 2007

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Jamaica

Mission Date: 23 August 2007 - 24 August 2007

Mission Mandate:

To deliver humanitarian aid to Jamaica after Hurricane Dean.

Mission/Operation Notes:

Hurricane Dean was the first Category 5 storm of the 2007 hurricane season. It formed off the Cape Verde Islands on 13 August and rapidly increased in intensity to become the ninth most intensive Atlantic hurricane ever. On Sunday 19 August, Hurricane Dean, as a Category 4 storm, delivered up to 50 cm of heavy rain and sustained winds of between 130 and 160 km/h to parts of Jamaica. Although the hurricane did not hit the island directly, the rain and winds caused considerable damage with flooding in the east and landslides on the northeast side of the island. Three people died while almost $5 billion (US) in damage resulted in Jamaica.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Jamaica 2007)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Around 3:00 PM on 23 August, the first C-17 delivered to the Canadian air force left Trenton on its first operational mission. It was carrying 32 tonnes of humanitarian aid from the Canadian Red Cross and the Canadian International Development Agency, which in the past would have required four CC-1390 Hercules flights. The CC-177, as the aircraft is known in Canadian nomenclature arrived back in Trenton around 3:00 AM on the 24th.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Jamaïque 2007

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Jamaïque 2007
Le Soldat Alexandre Tassé (à droite) de
Gatineau, Québec, technicien des mouvements
au sein de la Section mobile de mouvements
aériens de la 8e Escadre/BFC Trenton, pousse
une palette d’aide humanitaire fournie par
l’Agence canadienne de développement
international (ACDI) et la Croix-Rouge
canadienne dans l’avion CC-177.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Jamaïque 2007

Nom de la mission internationale: Jamaïque 2007

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Jamaïque

Date: 23 août 2007 - 24 août 2007

Mandat de la mission:

Livrer des secours humanitaires en Jamaïque après le passage de l’ouragan Dean.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

L’ouragan Dean était la première tempête de catégorie 5 de la saison des ouragans 2007. Il s’est formé au large des îles du Cap-Vert le 13 août et a rapidement pris de l’ampleur pour devenir le neuvième ouragan le plus intense àavoir jamais sévi dans l’Atlantique. Le dimanche 19 août, l’ouragan Dean, alors classé tempête de catégorie 4, a fait tomber jusqu’à50 cm de forte pluie et a entraîné des vents allant de 130 à160 km/h dans certaines parties de la Jamaïque. Bien que l’ouragan n’ait pas directement frappé l’île, la pluie et les vents ont causé des dommages considérables, dont des inondations dans l’Est et des glissements de terrain dans la partie nord-est de l’île. L’ouragan a entraîné la mort de trois personnes et des dommages de près de cinq milliards de dollars (américains) en Jamaïque.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Jamaïque 2007)

Historique de la mission:

Vers 15 h le 23 août, le premier C17 livré àla Force aérienne du Canada a quitté Trenton dans le cadre de sa première mission opérationnelle. Il transportait 32 tonnes de secours humanitaires provenant de la Croix-Rouge canadienne et de l’Agence canadienne de développement international, ce qui par le passé aurait exigé quatre vols de CC1390 Hercules. The CC177 (désignation canadienne de cet avion) est revenu àTrenton vers 3 h du matin le 24 août.