Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation PRINCIPAL

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

PRINCIPAL
Sgt Frank Hudec, Canadian Forces Combat Camera

A Canadian Forces (CF) CC-130 Hercules transport
aircraft carrying Canadian citizens, departs
Toussaint Louverture Airport in Port-au-Prince,
Haiti. Two Hercules aircraft flew out 46 Canadians
and 17 people of other nationalities Sunday,
Feb. 29, 2004.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation PRINCIPAL

International Mission Name: Operation PRINCIPAL

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Haiti

Mission Date: 28 February 2004 - 3 March 2004

Mission Mandate: To evacuate Canadian Nationals from Haiti.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In late 2003 Haiti held legislative election which were boycotted by the opposition. The boycott caused the failure of the election, and subsequently in January 2004 when the previous legislatures term expired, president Jean Bertrand Aristide ruled a severely divided nation by executive decree.

In early February 2004 heavily armed rebel groups began to stage attacks against police and supporters of President Aristide in various Haitian cities. By the end of the month, the rebels controlled nearly half of Haiti and most of its large cities, with the exception of Port-au-Prince, the capital and largest city. Both the United States and France attempted to intervene in the growing crisis by proposing that Aristide share power with the political opposition. But as the proposal was being considered, the armed rebel groups advanced on Port-au-Prince and on February 29 Aristide resigned and was flown to the Central African Republic.

In early February 2004, at the request of the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA), the DND began planning for an operation to assist DFA efforts to evacuate Canadians and other nationals from Haiti. Designated operation PRINCIPAL, it involved four CC-130 Hercules aircraft from 8 Wing in Trenton, and more than 100 CF personnel.

Staging out of Santo Domingo, the Dominican Republic capital, between Saturday 28 February and Wednesday 3 March 2004 CF aircraft conducted 11 flights transporting about 340 people out of Haiti, of which approximately 200 were Canadian Citizens. The remainder were of different nationalities and included French, American and Dutch citizens. CF aircraft also delivered 50 liters of blood from the Dominican Republic to Haiti on behalf of the Red Cross, delivered five pallets of humanitarian aid supplies, and evacuated one woman who had suffered gunshot wounds.

By Wednesday the 3rd of March, commercial flights had begun flying into Port-au-Prince again and the requirement to evacuate personnel no longer existed. CF personnel were stood down and Operation PRINCIPAL came to an end.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) PRINCIPAL

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

PRINCIPAL
Sgt Frank Hudec, Caméra de combat des Forces
canadiennes

Un aéronef de transport CC-130
Hercules des Forces canadiennes (FC) ayant des
citoyens canadiens à bord quitte l’aéroport
Toussaint Louverture à Port au Prince, en
Haïti. Deux aéronefs Hercules ont transporté 46
Canadiens et 17 personnes d’autres nationalités
le dimanche 29 février 2004.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération PRINCIPAL

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération PRINCIPAL

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Haïti

Date: 28 février 2004 - 3 mars 2004

Mandat de la mission:

Évacuer les ressortissants canadiens d’Haïti.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

À la fin de 2003, les élections législatives tenues en Haïti ont été boycottées par l'opposition, ce qui a entraîné leur échec. Par la suite, en janvier 2004, lorsque le mandat de la législature précédente est arrivé à échéance, le président, Jean-Bertrand Aristide, a entrepris de gouverner par décret son pays extrêmement divisé.

Au début de février 2004, des groupes rebelles fortement armés ont commencé à attaquer la police et les partisans du président Aristide dans diverses villes d’Haïti. À la fin du mois, les rebelles contrôlaient près de la moitié d’Haïti et la plupart des grandes villes à l’exception de Port-au-Prince, la capitale et la plus grande ville. Les États-Unis et la France ont essayé d’intervenir dans la crise grandissante en proposant qu’Aristide partage le pouvoir avec l’opposition politique. Cependant, alors que la proposition était étudiée, les groupes rebelles armés ont marché sur Port-au-Prince et, le 29 février, Aristide a démissionné et est parti pour la République centrafricaine.

À la demande du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI), le ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) a commencé à planifier au début de février 2004 une opération pour l’aider à évacuer d’Haïti les Canadiens et les autres ressortissants. L’opération, désignée opération Principal, faisait appel à quatre CC 130 Hercules de la 8e Escadre de Trenton et à plus de 100 membres des FC.

À partir de Saint-Domingue, capitale de la République dominicaine, entre le samedi 28 février et le mercredi 3 mars 2004, les aéronefs des FC ont effectué 11 vols pour transporter quelque 340 personnes hors d’Haïti, dont environ 200 ressortissants canadiens. Les autres étaient notamment des Français, des Américains et des Néerlandais. Les aéronefs des FC ont aussi transporté 50 litres de sang de la République dominicaine à Haïti au nom de la Croix-Rouge ainsi que cinq palettes de fournitures pour l’aide humanitaire, et ont évacué une femme blessée par balles.

Le mercredi 3 mars, les vols commerciaux à destination d’Haïti avaient repris et il n’était plus nécessaire d’évacuer le personnel. Le personnel des FC s’est retiré et l’opération Principal s’est terminée.

Haut de la page