Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Belize 1961

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Belize 1961

International Information

International Operation Name: Belize 1961

International Mission Name: Belize 1961

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Belize

Mission Date: 8 November 1961 - 12 November 1961

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Belize 1961)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement: To deliver humanitarian assistance to Belize.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

1961 featured two particularly bad hurricanes whose names would be retired – Carla and Hattie. Tropical storm Hattie reached hurricane strength on 27 October while off the coast of Panama. Moving northward along the Central American coast, she took aim at Cuba; however, as she passed by Honduras on the night of 30 October she made an abrupt westward turn and headed for Belize (the former British Honduras). She hit that country as a Category 5 storm, packing 260 km/h winds (160 mph) with gusts to 320 km/h (200 mph). With a storm surge of 4.0 to 4.6 metres (13-15 feet), fishing villages were obliterated, while Belize City had 75 percent of its buildings destroyed or heavily damaged. An estimated 275 people were killed, mostly in Belize City.

No. 426 Squadron sent a North Star loaded with Red Cross supplies to Belize City on 8 November. It stopped overnight in New Orleans before flying on the next morning. After returning to New Orleans, the crew received another load of relief supplies on the 10th, flying this to Belize City on the 11th. The crew returned to Trenton the next day.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Belize 1961

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Belize 1961

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Belize 1961

Nom de la mission internationale: Belize 1961

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Belize

Date: 8 novembre 1961 - 12 novembre 1961

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Belize 1961)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne: Apporter de l’aide humanitaire

Historique de la mission:

L’année 1961 a été marquée par deux ouragans particulièrement dévastateurs dont les noms seront retenus: Carla et Hattie. La tempête tropicale Hattie est devenue un ouragan le 27 octobre, au large des côtes du Panama. Se déplaçant vers le nord le long de la côte d’Amérique centrale, l’ouragan se dirigeait vers Cuba. Cependant, il a passé le Honduras dans la nuit du 30 octobre et a tourné abruptement vers l’ouest, pour se diriger vers le Belize (ancien Honduras britannique). Il a frappé ce pays sous forme de tempête de catégorie 5, avec des vents de 260 km/h (160 mi/h) et des rafales de 320 km/h (200 mi/h). Des villages de pêcheurs entiers ont été anéantis par une gigantesque vague de 4 à 4,6 mètres (13 à 15 pieds), et 75 pour cent des immeubles de Belize City ont été détruits ou gravement endommagés. Dans la période qui a suivi, environ 275 personnes sont mortes, surtout à Belize City.

Le 426e Escadron a envoyé un North Star chargé de fournitures de la Croix-Rouge à Belize City, le 8 novembre. Il s’est arrêté à la Nouvelle-Orléans pour la nuit, avant de continuer son vol le lendemain matin. Après son retour à la Nouvelle-Orléans, l’équipe a reçu une autre cargaison de fournitures de secours, le 10, et l’a transportée à Belize City le 11, puis est retournée à Trenton le lendemain.

Haut de la page