Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Mission of the Representative of the Secretary-General in the Dominican Republic

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Belize 1961

International Information

International Operation Name: Mission of the Representative of the Secretary-General in the Dominican Republic

International Mission Name: Mission of the Representative of the Secretary-General in the Dominican Republic (DOMREP)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Central America

Location: Dominican Republic

Mission Date: 14 May 1965 - 22 October 1966

Mission Mandate:

The Mission of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General in the Dominican Republic (DOMREP) was authorized by United Nations Security Council Resolution 203 (1965) of 14 May 1965 to assist the Dominican Republic by observing and reporting on a cease-fire and the general situation within that country.

United Nations Security Council Resolution 203 (1965), 14 May 1965

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In late April 1965 the Dominican Republic erupted into civil war when the existing government was overthrown by a group seeking to reinstate a former president, who had himself been overthrown by a military coup in 1963. The crisis soon led to the existence of two rival governments, and violence in the capital city of Santo Domingo. On 28 April 1965, following the collapse of the Government and the outbreak of civil war, the United States dispatched troops to the country in order, as the United Nations Security Council was informed, to protect Americans there and to escort them to safety. At the request of the United States, the Council of the Organization of American States (OAS) met to consider the situation. On 29 April, it adopted a resolution calling for a ceasefire. On 23 May, the OAS established an Inter-American Peace Force in the Dominican Republic (IAPF), and by 26 June 1965, IAPF was composed of 1,700 troops from six Latin American countries, and 12,400 from the United States.

The United Nations' (UN) reaction to the crisis led to a Security Council Resolution on 14 May 1965 (SCR 203/1965) calling for a cease-fire between the rival groups, the intervention of a special representative of the UN Secretary-General to report on the situation, and the cooperation of all Dominicans to assist the special representative.

The Mission of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General in the Dominican Republic (DOMREP) consisted of a Military Adviser (MA) to the UN Secretary General and a total of three UN Military Observers (UNMOs), of whom two provided assistance to the military advisor at any one time.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Mission of the Representative of the Secretary-General in the Dominican Republic)

Name: Mission of the Representative of the Secretary-General in the Dominican Republic

Date: 1 June 1965 - 22 October 1966

Canadian Task Force NameAbbreviation: DOMREP

The Special Representative of the Secretary-General and the peacekeepers were successful in assisting the Dominican Republic resolve the political and military crisis. A provisional government acceptable to all parties was put in place and the American military forces and those of some Latin American allies from the Organization of American States were finally withdrawn in late September 1966. As a result, DOMREP came to an end on 22 October 1966.

The sole Canadian participant in DOMREP was Lieutenant-Colonel Paul A. Mayer, a member of the Canadian delegation with the United Nations in New York. He deployed to the Dominican Republic in June 1965 and remained there throughout the rest of the operation, eventually becoming the senior military adviser to the Special Representative of the Secretary General. Lieutenant-Colonel Mayer's tasks as military observer and military adviser included working to maintain the cease-fire between the belligerents, liaising with the military and reporting on human rights conditions and violations.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Mission du représentant du Secrétaire général en République dominicaine

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Belize 1961

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission du représentant du Secrétaire général en République dominicaine

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission du représentant du Secrétaire général en République dominicaine (DOMREP)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: République dominicaine

Date: 14 mai 1965 - 22 octobre 1966

Mandat de la mission :

La mission du Représentant du Secrétaire général en République dominicaine (DOMREP) a été autorisée en vertu de la résolution 203 (1965) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, adoptée le 14 mai 1965 en vue d'aider la République dominicaine. Elle avait pour but d’observer le déroulement du cessez-le-feu et d’établir un rapport sur la situation générale prévalant dans ce pays.

Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, résolution 203 (1965), 14 mai 1965

Historique de la mission:

À la fin d’avril 1965, une guerre civile a éclaté en République dominicaine lorsque le gouvernement en place s’est fait renverser par un groupe désireux de rétablir au pouvoir un ancien président, qui avait lui-même été la cible d’un coup d’état militaire en 1963. La crise s’est précipitée pour faire place à deux gouvernements rivaux pendant que la violence se répandait dans la capitale, Saint-Domingue. Le 28 avril 1965, constatant la chute du gouvernement et la guerre civile sur laquelle elle avait débouché, les États-Unis ont expédié des troupes au pays afin, comme ils en avaient informé le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, de protéger les Américains qui s’y trouvaient et de les escorter en lieu sûr. À la demande des États-Unis, le Conseil de l’Organisation des États américains (OEA) s’est réuni pour étudier la conjoncture. Non seulement, le 29 avril, celui-ci a-t-il adopté une résolution favorisant un cessez-le-feu, mais, le 23 mai, il a établi une Force de paix inter-américaine (FPIA) en République dominicaine. Le 26 juin 1965, celle-ci était composée de 1 700 militaires de 6 pays d’Amérique latine et de 12 400 autres des États-Unis.

La réaction de l’Organisation des Nations Unies (ONU) à la crise s’est traduite par l’adoption d’une résolution du Conseil de sécurité, le 14 mai 1965 (RCS 203/1965), visant l'établissement d'un cessez-le-feu entre les groupes rivaux, l’intervention d’un représentant spécial du Secrétaire général de l’ONU, qui devait dresser un rapport sur la situation, et la collaboration de l’ensemble des Dominicains avec le représentant spécial.

La Mission du Représentant du Secrétaire général en République dominicaine (DOMREP) comptait un conseiller militaire auprès du Secrétaire général de l’ONU et, au total, trois observateurs militaires des Nations Unies (UNMO), dont deux apportaient leur aide au conseiller militaire en tout temps.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Mission du représentant du Secrétaire général en République dominicaine)

Nom: Mission du représentant du Secrétaire général en République dominicaine

Date: 1 juin 1965 - 22 octobre 1966

Abréviation de la Force opérationnelle canadienne: DOMREP

Le représentant spécial du Secrétaire général et les soldats du maintien de la paix ont aidé la République dominicaine à se sortir de la crise politique et militaire. Un gouvernement temporaire acceptable pour toutes les parties a été mis en place, et les forces militaires américaines comme celles de quelques alliés latino-américains membres de l’OEA ont finalement pu quitter le pays à la fin septembre 1966. La mission DOMREP s’est ainsi terminée le 22 octobre 1966.

Le Lieutenant-colonel Paul A. Mayer, membre de la délégation canadienne auprès de l’ONU à New York, était l’unique participant canadien à la mission DOMREP. Dépêché en République dominicaine en juin 1965, il y est demeuré jusqu’à la fin de l’opération, devenant le principal conseiller militaire du représentant spécial du Secrétaire général. À titre d’observateur militaire et de conseiller militaire, le Lieutenant-colonel Mayer devait entre autres contribuer au respect du cessez-le-feu entre les belligérants, assurer la liaison avec les militaires et faire rapport sur l’état des droits de la personne et leur violation.

Haut de la page