Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Grenada 1983

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Grenada 1983

International Information

International Operation Name: Grenada 1983

International Mission Name: Grenada 1983

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Grenada

Mission Date: 25 October 1983 - 30 October 1983

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Grenada 1983)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To evacuate Canadian nationals from Grenada during the American invasion of the island.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In March 1983, the New Joint Endeavor for Welfare and Liberation (New JEWEL) party in Grenada overthrew the government of Eric Geary in a nearly bloodless coup. The new, leftist government, the People’s Revolutionary Government, under Maurice Bishop established close ties with Cuba, the Soviet Union and other communist countries. In October 1983, Bishop was arrested and subsequently murdered, along with several cabinet ministers, in a power struggle within the new government.

As a result of the ensuing civil disturbances, the United States, in conjunction with several Caribbean nations, invaded Grenada on 25 October, under the pretext of evacuating American citizens, ousting the leftist government and restoring the “lawful” government. For the most part, the fighting was over by October 28th, with only small pockets of resistance remaining. Five hundred ninety nine Americans and 80 other foreign nationals were airlifted from Grenada.

Coincidental to the American-led invasion, a Canadian Forces Boeing 707 (CC-137) from 437 Squadron had arrived in Barbados that same day. The Boeing could not fly into Grenada for technical reasons, with the result that a CC-130 Hercules from 436 Squadron was dispatched from Canada on 26 October. On 28 October the Hercules conducted two flights into Grenada; however, in neither case had any Canadians assembled to be evacuated. The 23 Canadians wishing to depart the island were evacuated by USAF flights and subsequently returned to Canada on the CC-137 on 30 October.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Grenade 1983

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Grenade 1983

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Grenade 1983

Nom de la mission internationale: Grenade 1983

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Grenade

Date: 25 octobre 1983 - 30 octobre 1983

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Grenade 1983)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Évacuer les ressortissants canadiens de la Grenade pendant l’invasion de l’île dirigée par les Américains.

Historique de la mission:

En mars 1983, le parti New Joint Endeavor for Welfare and Liberation (New JEWEL) à la Grenade a renversé le gouvernement d’Eric Geary lors d’un coup d’État, presque sans effusion de sang. Le nouveau gouvernement de gauche, le People's Revolutionary Government (gouvernement révolutionnaire du peuple), dirigé par Maurice Bishop, a noué des liens étroits avec Cuba, l’Union soviétique et d’autres pays communistes. En octobre 1983, Maurice Bishop a été arrêté et assassiné par la suite, ainsi que plusieurs ministres, dans une lutte pour le pouvoir au sein du nouveau gouvernement.

En raison des troubles civils qui se sont ensuivis, les États-Unis, de concert avec plusieurs pays des Caraïbes, ont envahi la Grenade le 25 octobre sous le prétexte d’évacuer les ressortissants américains, se sont débarrassés du gouvernement gauchiste et ont rétabli le gouvernement « légitime ». Les combats ont pris fin en grande partie le 28 octobre; seules quelques poches de résistance ont subsisté. Au total, 599 Américains et 80 autres ressortissants étrangers ont été évacués de la Grenade par avion.

Le jour de l’invasion dirigée par les Américains, un Boeing 707 (CC-137) des Forces canadiennes (437e Escadron) est arrivé à la Barbade. Le Boeing ne pouvant se rendre à la Grenade pour des raisons techniques, un CC 130 Hercules du 436e Escadron a été envoyé du Canada le 26 octobre. Le 28 octobre, le Hercules a effectué deux vols à destination de la Grenade; toutefois, pour aucun de ces deux vols, des Canadiens ne s’étaient rassemblés afin d'être évacués. Les 23 Canadiens qui souhaitaient quitter l’île ont été évacués par des vols de la USAF et sont ensuite rentrés au Canada à bord du CC 137, le 30 octobre.

Haut de la page