Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Guatemala 1954

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Guatemala 1954

International Information

International Operation Name: Guatemala 1954

International Mission Name: Guatemala 1954

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Guatemala

Mission Date: 28 June 1954 - 5 July 1954

Mission Mandate: To evacuate Canadians from Guatemala when ordered.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In 1951, Jacobo Arbenz was elected President of Guatemala in a landslide victory. Arbenz began a progressive regime that allowed labour unions and restored many of the older political parties, even allowing the Communist Party to exist. He was also active in promoting the independence of the nation, and supporting the peasants, by redistributing land. One of the companies affected was the American-based United Fruit Company, which had a virtual monopoly of Guatemalan fruit production, owned large tracts of the best land, had interests in railroads and electricity and controlled the country’s only Atlantic port. United Fruit successfully lobbied the Eisenhower regime to remove Arbenz. Giving some support to American decision-makers was the fact that Arbenz had bought Soviet-designed weapons from Czechoslovakia, an act that suggested to some in Washington that Arbenz was leaning towards Communism. As a result, the CIA launched Operation PBFORTUNE.

Planning for the operation had begun in 1951; however, the plan was not activated until December 1953. In May 1954, the United States Navy with an embarked Marine Corps Battalion Landing Team began operations off Honduras under the pretext of protecting Honduras from a possible Guatemalan invasion. On 18 June, the forces of Colonel Carlos Castillo Armas, an exiled Guatemalan officer chosen by the Central Intelligence Agency to lead an insurrection, invaded Guatemala from El Salvador and Honduras. The roughly 480 guerrillas were ill-equipped and –trained, and were no match for the 5,000 strong Guatemalan army. Soundly defeated, the invasion was on the verge of collapse when on 27 June Arbenz resigned. On receiving reports that the US Marines were landing in Honduras in preparation for an invasion of Guatemala and fearing that his own officers would join Armas, Arbenz chose to resign and proceed into exile. In the 11 days after his resignation, five successive military juntas occupied the Presidential palace. Guatemala began its descent from a nascent democracy into a military dictatorship engaged in human rights abuses and a counter-insurgency war that killed over 140,000 people.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Guatemala 1954)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

With the political instability after Arbenz’ resignation and the fear that fighting would commence in the major cities, on 28 June 1954 the Department of External Affairs requested the RCAF have an aircraft stand-by in case the decision was made to evacuate Canadians from Guatemala. Any such effort would have been made in conjunction with the United States, and would have been initiated with the commencement of an American evacuation. The contingency plans remained in place until 5 July, at which time External Affairs indicated the plan could be abandoned. The records do not indicate which squadron was tasked with the potential evacuation duties; however, it is likely that 426 Squadron was the most likely given their role and the aircraft they used.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Guatemala 1954

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Guatemala 1954

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Guatemala 1954

Nom de la mission internationale: Guatemala 1954

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Guatemala

Date: 28 juin 1954 - 5 juillet 1954

Mandat de la mission: Évacuer les Canadiens du Guatemala dès réception d’un ordre à cet effet.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

En 1951, Jacobo Arbenz a été élu président du Guatemala en remportant une majorité écrasante des votes. Arbenz a mis en place un régime progressiste permettant la présence de syndicats et a restauré un grand nombre des anciens partis politiques, notamment le Parti communiste. Il a également favorisé activement l’indépendance du pays et a appuyé les paysans en redistribuant les terres. L’une des entreprises touchées par cette mesure était la United Fruit Company, d’origine américaine, qui détenait le quasi-monopole de la production de fruits au Guatemala, possédait de larges bandes des meilleures terres, avait des intérêts dans les chemins de fer et l’électricité et contrôlait le seul port du pays donnant sur l’Atlantique. La United Fruit a fait pression sur le régime Eisenhower pour écarter Arbenz du pouvoir. Le fait qu’Arbenz avait acheté des armes de conception soviétique de la Tchécoslovaquie portait les décideurs américains à croire qu’il avait des tendances communistes, ce qui renforçait leur position. Par conséquent, la Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) a lancé l’opération PBFortune.

La planification de l’opération avait été entamée en 1951. Cependant, ce n’est qu’en décembre 1953 que le plan a été mis à exécution. En mai 1954, la Marine américaine a entrepris des opérations au large du Honduras avec un groupe de débarquement de bataillon du Corps des Marines, en prétextant qu’elle voulait protéger le Honduras d’une éventuelle invasion de la part du Guatemala. Le 18 juin, les forces du Colonel Carlos Castillo Armas, un officier guatémaltèque en exil choisi par la CIA pour mener une insurrection, a envahi le Guatemala à partir d’El Salvador et du Honduras. Les quelque 480 guérilleros, mal équipés et mal entraînés, n’étaient pas de taille à affronter les 5 000 membres de l’armée guatémaltèque. Battus à plate couture, les insurgés étaient sur le point de céder lorsque, le 27 juin, Arbenz a démissionné. Ayant reçu des rapports indiquant que les Marines américains débarquaient au Honduras en vue d’envahir le Guatemala et craignant que ses propres officiers ne se joignent à Armas, Arbenz avait décidé de démissionner et de s’exiler. Dans les 11 jours suivant sa démission, 5 juntes militaires se sont succédé au palais présidentiel. Le Guatemala, où la démocratie venait à peine de naître, a commencé à s’enliser dans une dictature militaire ne respectant pas les droits de la personne et menant une guerre anti-insurrectionnelle qui allait faire plus de 140 000 morts.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Guatemala 1954)

Historique de la mission:

Étant donné l’instabilité politique entraînée par la démission d’Arbenz et la crainte que les combats ne commencent dans les principales villes, le ministère des Affaires étrangères a demandé à l’ARC, le 28 juin 1954, de mettre un avion en attente au cas où il serait décidé d’évacuer les Canadiens du Guatemala. Toute initiative en ce sens aurait été entreprise en collaboration avec les États-Unis et aurait débuté en même temps que l’évacuation des Américains. Les plans de contingence sont demeurés en place jusqu’au 5 juillet, date à laquelle les Affaires étrangères ont déclaré qu’il pouvait être abandonné. Les dossiers n’indiquent pas quel escadron avait été chargé de l’éventuelle évacuation. Toutefois, c’est fort probablement au 426e Escadron que cette tâche avait été confiée étant donné son rôle et les appareils qu’il utilisait.

Haut de la page