Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Guatemala 1976

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Guatemala 1976

International Information

International Operation Name: Guatemala 1976

International Mission Name: Guatemala 1976

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Guatemala

Mission Date: 10 February 1976 - 17 March 1976

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Guatemala 1976)

Canadian Task Force Mission Statement:

To deliver humanitarian assistance to Guatemala.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

At 3:00 AM on February 4th 1976, a magnitude 7.5 earthquake struck Guatemala City. Over 23,000 people were killed, 76,000 injured and nearly 1 million left homeless – almost one sixth of Guatemala’s population. The northern part of the city was virtually destroyed. The shock was felt not only in Guatemala, but as far away as Mexico City. In Honduras, parts of three towns near the Guatemalan border were destroyed.

Aid came in almost immediately, with US personnel and military helicopters from the Panama Canal Zone arriving to assist Guatemalan troops maintain order and to ferry relief supplies to isolated villages. From the United States, there was an immediate $3.6 million in emergency aid and a further $15 million from voluntary contributions within six days of the quake. Most Central American countries sent food, clothing, medical supplies, doctors, and relief experts, while the Organization of American States contributed $500,000.

437 Squadron flew two Boeings loaded with powdered milk and other relief supplies to Guatemala City.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Guatemala 1976

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Guatemala 1976

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Guatemala 1976

Nom de la mission internationale: Guatemala 1976

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Guatemala

Date: 10 février 1976 - 17 mars 1976

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Guatemala 1976)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Fournir de l’aide humanitaire au Guatemala.

Historique de la mission:

Le 4 février 1976, à 3 h du matin, un séisme de magnitude 7,5 a frappé la ville de Guatemala. Plus de 23 000 personnes ont été tuées, 76 000 blessées et près d’un million se sont retrouvées sans abri, c’est-à-dire pratiquement un sixième de la population du Guatemala. Le nord de la ville a été pratiquement détruit. Le séisme n’a pas été ressenti uniquement au Guatemala, mais jusqu’à Mexico. Au Honduras, des quartiers de trois villes, proches de la frontière guatémaltèque, ont été détruits.

L’aide est arrivée presque immédiatement, constituée de personnel et d’hélicoptères militaires américains de la zone du canal de Panama qui sont venus prêter assistance aux troupes guatémaltèques pour maintenir l’ordre et convoyer des secours dans les villages isolés. Les États-Unis ont immédiatement versé 3,6 M$ en aide d’urgence et, dans les six jours qui ont suivi le séisme, 15 M$ supplémentaires provenant de contributions volontaires. La plupart des pays d’Amérique centrale ont envoyé de la nourriture, des vêtements, des fournitures médicales, des médecins et des spécialistes en secours d’urgence, tandis que l’Organisation des États américains a apporté une contribution de 500 000 $.

Le 437e Escadron a envoyé à la ville de Guatemala deux Boeing chargés de lait en poudre et d’autres approvisionnements de secours.

Haut de la page