Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Honduras 1974

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Honduras 1974

International Information

International Operation Name: Honduras 1974

International Mission Name: Honduras 1974

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Honduras

Mission Date: 27 September 1974 - 26 October 1974

Mission Mandate: To airlift relief supplies to Honduras after Hurricane Fifi

Mission/Operation Notes:

On 18 September, Hurricane Fifi hit Honduras. The country was wholly unprepared for the hurricane, with over 1 million people living in high-risk areas,. Although only a category 2 hurricane, heavy rain over two days (60 cm in the first 24 hours) caused extensive flooding. Whole villages were swept away, 80 percent of the banana crop was destroyed, two-fifths of the nation's cattle drowned, most of the fishing fleet sank, and the facilities of Puerto Cortes, the most important port, were destroyed. Over 8,000 people were killed, making Fifi the fourth deadliest Atlantic hurricane on record. Over 100,000 people were left homeless.

Top of Page

Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Honduras 1974)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada provided relief supplies on two occasions. On 27 September, one 436 Squadron Hercules flew to Honduras, delivering relief supplies and conducting several more such flight before returning to CFB Trenton on 4 October. Another flight was conducted from 25 to 26 October.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Honduras 1974

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Honduras 1974

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Honduras 1974

Nom de la mission internationale: Honduras 1974

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Honduras

Date: 27 septembre 1974 - 26 octobre 1974

Mandat de la mission: Livrer des secours par avion au Honduras à la suite de l’ouragan Fifi.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Le 18 septembre, l’ouragan Fifi a frappé le Honduras. Ce pays n’était pas du tout prêt à affronter cet ouragan, puisque plus d’un million de personnes habitaient dans des secteurs très vulnérables. Même si ce n’était qu’un ouragan de catégorie 2, les pluies diluviennes qui se sont abattues pendant deux jours (60 cm au cours des 24 premières heures) ont causé des inondations catastrophiques. Des villages entiers ont été balayés, 80 p. 100 de la récolte de bananes a été détruite, les deux cinquièmes du bétail se sont noyés, la plupart des bateaux de pêche ont coulé et les installations de Puerto Cortes, principal port du pays, ont été détruites. L’ouragan Fifi a entraîné la mort de plus de 8 000 personnes et laissé plus de 100 000 sans abri, ce qui le classe au quatrième rang des ouragans les plus destructeurs de l’histoire dans l’Atlantique.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Honduras 1974)

Historique de la mission:

Le Canada a alors fourni des secours à deux reprises. Le 27 septembre, un appareil Hercules du 436e Escadron s’est rendu au Honduras pour livrer des approvisionnements de secours et il a effectué plusieurs autres vols similaires avant de regagner la BFC Trenton le 4 octobre. Un autre vol a eu lieu du 25 au 26 octobre.