Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Jamaica 1951 Hurricane Relief

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Jamaica 1951 Hurricane Relief

International Information

International Operation Name: Jamaica 1951

International Mission Name: Jamaica 1951 Hurricane Relief (Jamaica 1951 Hurricane Relief)

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Jamaica

Mission Date: 24 August 1951 - 26 August 1951

Mission Mandate: To deliver humanitarian assistance to Jamaica.

Mission/Operation Notes:

With winds gusting up to 125 mph (200 km/h), Hurricane Charlie hit an unprepared Jamaica on 17 August 1951 and raged through the day on the 18th. After devastating Jamaica, the hurricane went on to Mexico where it caused extensive damage. In Jamaica, the hurricane killed over 150 people, left over 50,000 homeless and devastated whole areas of the country, including the capital of Kingston. With most of the infrastructure destroyed in the major centres, the lack of fresh water raised fears of typhoid and dysentery. The British Red Cross, the Royal Navy and the British Army had medical teams on site attempting to fight the spread of disease.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Jamaica 1951 Hurricane Relief)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In Canada, the Canadian Red Cross requested the assistance of the RCAF, who placed two North Star aircraft from 426 Squadron at its disposal. One North Star flew 3,000 lbs of blankets and lamps from Winnipeg to Toronto where they were loaded into a second North Star with 6,000 lbs of food and several kegs of nails. The aircraft departed on 24 August, bound for Florida, where it spent the night as there were no night landing facilities in Jamaica. Two representatives of the Canadian Red Cross accompanied the flight. The next day it arrived in Jamaica, off-loading the supplies and the two Red Cross representatives, before returning to Canada.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Jamaïque 1951 Relève d'ouragan

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Jamaïque 1951 Relève d'ouragan

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Jamaïque 1951

Nom de la mission internationale: Jamaïque 1951 Aide humanitaire (Jamaïque 1951 Aide humanitaire)

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Jamaïque

Date: 24 août 1951 - 26 août 1951

Mandat de la mission: Livrer des secours humanitaires en Jamaïque.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Avec des vents déchaînés soufflant jusqu’à 200 km/h (125 MPH), l’ouragan Charlie a frappé la Jamaïque par surprise le 17 août 1951 et fait rage toute la journée du lendemain. Après avoir dévasté la Jamaïque, cet ouragan est allé balayer le Mexique, causant d’importants dommages. En Jamaïque, il a tué plus de 150 personnes, laissé plus de 5 000 sans abri et ravagé des régions entières, dont la capitale, Kingston. La plupart des infrastructures dans les principales villes avaient été en grande partie détruites, et on craignait une épidémie de typhoïde et de dysenterie à cause du manque d’eau potable. Des équipes médicales de la Croix Rouge britannique, de la Royal Navy et de l’Armée britannique sur place essayaient d’enrayer la propagation de ces maladies.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Jamaïque 1951 Relève d'ouragan)

Historique de la mission:

Au Canada, la Croix Rouge canadienne a demandé l’assistance de l’ARC, qui a mis à sa disposition deux appareils North Star du 426e Escadron. L’un de ces avions transportant 3 000 lb de couvertures et de lampes s’est rendu de Winnipeg à Toronto, où on a chargé les fournitures dans un autre avion North Star, en plus de 6 000 lb de nourriture et plusieurs barils de clous. L’avion a quitté sa base le 24 août en direction de la Floride, où il a passé la nuit, étant donné l’impossibilité d’un atterrissage nocturne en Jamaïque. Il y avait à bord deux représentants de la Croix Rouge canadienne. Le lendemain, l’avion est arrivé en Jamaïque, où les marchandises ont été déchargées et où les deux représentants de la Croix Rouge sont descendus, puis il a regagné le Canada.