Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Jamaica 1989

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Jamaica 1989

International Information

International Operation Name: Jamaica 1989

International Mission Name: Jamaica 1989

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Central America

Location: Jamaica

Mission Date: 1 January 1989 - 30 October 1989

Mission Mandate:

To deliver humanitarian supplies to Jamaica.

Mission/Operation Notes:

426 (Training) Squadron trained both air crew and ground crew for Boeing, Buffalo, Challenger, Cosmopolitan and Hercules operations. As part of the Advanced 510 Series of training flights that took the squadron’s Hercules into the Caribbean, the squadron would deliver humanitarian supplies to nations in that region. These deliveries were at the request of service groups in Canada, the requests being vetted and prioritized by Air Command.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Jamaica 1989)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In 1989, 426 Squadron undertook four sets of flights into the Caribbean: January, April, July and October. The flight in January made deliveries to Kingston and Montego bay in Jamaica, in April to Montego Bay and in October to Kingston. The contents of the cargo and the organization on whose behalf the supplies were delivered are not recorded.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Jamaïque 1989

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Jamaïque 1989

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Jamaïque 1989

Nom de la mission internationale: Jamaïque 1989

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique centrale

Lieu: Jamaïque

Date: 1 janvier 1989 - 30 octobre 1989

Mandat de la mission :

Livrer des secours humanitaires en Jamaïque.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Le 426e Escadron d’entraînement au transport entraînait tant les équipages d’aéronef que le personnel de piste aux opérations à bord de Boeing, de Buffalo, de Challenger, de Cosmopolitan et de Hercules. Dans le cadre de la série 510 (niveau avancé) de vols d’entraînement qui amenait les Hercules de l’Escadron dans les Caraïbes, l’Escadron allait livrer des secours humanitaires aux nations dans cette région. Ces livraisons étaient effectuées à la demande de divers groupes au Canada, les demandes étant approuvées et placées en ordre de priorité par le Commandement aérien.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Jamaïque 1989)

Historique de la mission:

En 1989, le 426e Escadron a effectué quatre ensembles de vols dans les Caraïbes, soit en janvier, en avril, en juillet et en octobre. Il a livré des fournitures à Kingston et Montego Bay (Jamaïque) en janvier, à Montego Bay en avril et à Kingston, en octobre. Toutefois, le contenu du fret et l’organisation pour le compte de laquelle les fournitures ont été livrées n’ont pas été consignés.