Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation AIRBRIDGE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

AIRBRIDGE
Description: Sarajevo - Capt Milek flies
a Canadian Forces Hercules aircraft into
the city of Sarajevo, carrying relief
supplies for the United Nations High
Commission for Refugees (UNHCR). Capt
Milek is a pilot with 429 (T)
Squadron in Trenton, ON.

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR)(Sarajevo Airlift)

International Mission Name: United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR)(Sarajevo Airlift)

Mandating Organization: United Nations High Commission for Refugees

Region Name: Europe

Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina

Mission Date: 2 July 1992 - 9 January 1996

Mission Mandate: To fly humanitarian supplies into Sarajevo at the request of the United Nations High Commission for Refugees.

In early 1992 the ongoing conflict in Bosnia-Hercegovina and the Bosnian Serb siege of Sarajevo resulted in two operations. The Security Council authorized the creation of the United Nations Protection Force (UNPROFOR), and a United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR) request resulted in the UNHCR airlift of supplies to Sarajevo. Although the Security Council tasked UNPROFOR and later UN operations in Bosnia-Hercegovina with assisting the airlift, the Council was not involved in its creation.

With the onset of war in the former republics of Yugoslavia in 1991, the UNHCR was the lead agency for the delivery of food aid to refugees, and to villages and towns that were cut off from normal food supplies because of the fighting. Over 4 million people received aid, 2.7 million in Bosnia. Initially, this aid was delivered by road; however, as the extent of the war in Bosnia increased and as the Bosnian Serbs made it ever harder for humanitarian convoys to deliver aid, the UNHCR began to rely more upon the airlift of aid into various locales in Bosnia. The Bosnian Serbs found ways to cut off this means of resupply. Sarajevo and its environs with 440,000 people became cut off.

On 5 June 1992, UNPROFOR brokered an agreement with the Bosnian Serbs that would allow UNHCR flights into Sarajevo. Although UN troops under Major-General Lewis MacKenzie arrived on 29 June, the Bosnians Serbs still controlled the airport with heavy weapons, anti-aircraft guns on its approaches, and troops within sniping range. Road access to Sarajevo was still very heavily hindered. The size of the airlift required to supply Sarajevo was beyond the capabilities of the UNHCR and its hired aircraft. The UNHCR thus turned to military partners for assistance.

On 3 July 1992, the UNHCR airlift into Sarajevo began with personnel from 21 nations participating. In the first half of the operation, flights into Sarajevo originated from Split and Zagreb in Croatia, Frankfurt, Germany and Ancona, Italy. In 1995 these were consolidated into Ancona to save money. The airlift was coordinated by the UNHCR in close co-operation with the participating nations and UNPROFOR, which provided security at Sarajevo airport.

The airlift was always vulnerable to interruption. It was suspended after NATO airstrikes against Serb targets on 5 August 1994; it resumed again on 22 August. It was suspended again on 21 November when the Serbs threatened the flights if NATO did not stop enforcing the “no-fly” zone over Bosnia. In March 1995, the airlift had to be scaled back 40 percent as the Bosnian Serbs were hindering deliveries from the airport to the city. The airlift ceased altogether on 8 April when heavy fighting around the airport made it too hazardous. The Serbs then cut off the supplies of natural gas, electricity and water in May and seriously hindered the delivery of aid by road. The airlift did not resume again until September 1995.

In the most serious incident, on 3 September 1992, an Italian Air Force G-222 transport was hit by a surface to air missile while 27 kilometres from Sarajevo airport. All four crewmen on board were killed. Over one hundred incidents were recorded where small arms fire was directed at the aircraft.

Over the course of 3 ½ years, the airlift delivered over 160,677 tonnes of supplies into Sarajevo, including over 144,000 tonnes of food and 15,850 tonnes of medical supplies and equipment. Over 1,100 patients were evacuated from Sarajevo.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (AIRBRIDGE)

Name: No Canadian Op name -Date: 3 July 1992 - 4 March 1994

Name: Op AIRBRIDGE -Date: 3 April 1994 - 9 January 1996

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canadian participation in the UNHCR airlift began with the first flight on 5 July 1992. The missions were a continuation of the Canadian presence in Zagreb in support of Operation Harmony. Originally there was no name for the mission, but on 4 March 1994, it officially became Operation AIRBRIDGE. The government reviewed the commitment to the airlift every six months.

The detachment originally operated out of Zagreb, Croatia, but moved to Ancona, Italy in February 1993, although 426 Squadron occasionally flew out of Split in 1994 and 1995. The detachment consisted of one CC-130 Hercules and about 44 air and ground crew. The two aircrew rotated shifts as they were flying three flights a day, seven days a week. Each month a new rotation would arrive, with some personnel having more than seven tours and many having five and some eleven or more. All squadrons operating Hercules became involved in this operation,

Because of the threat posed by the defences around Sarajevo 20 minutes before entering Bosnian airspace, the aircrew would don helmets and bullet-proof vests. For self-defence, the aircraft were equipped with radar warning receivers to detect radar-guided threats, and had chaff and flare dispensers to counter missile attacks.

Canada flew 1860 flights into Sarajevo, fourth behind the United States (4597), France (2133) and the United Kingdom (1902).

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) AIRBRIDGE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

AIRBRIDGE
Description : Sarajevo – Le Capt Milek,
aux commandes d’un avion Hercules des
Forces armées canadiennes, se rend
à la ville de Sarajevo pour y
livrer des approvisionnements de secours
destinées au Haut Commissariat des Nations
Unies pour les réfugiés (UNHCR). Le
Capt Milek est un pilote du 429e
Escadron de transport, à Trenton (Ontario).

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Haut commissariat des nations unies pour les réfugiés (HCR) Pont aérien de Sarajevo

Nom de la mission internationale: Haut commissariat des nations unies pour les réfugiés (HCR) Pont aérien de Sarajevo

Mandant: Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés

Mandat:Envoi de secours humanitaires à Sarajevo à la demande du Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés.

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Bosnie-Herzégovine

Date: 2 juillet 1992 - 9 janvier 1996

Notes sur la mission: Au début de 1992, le conflit dans la République de Bosnie-Herzégovine et, plus précisément, le siège de Sarajevo résultèrent en deux opérations. Le Conseil de sécurité autorisa la création de la Force de protection des Nations Unies (FORPRONU) et la demande du Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR) résulta en l'envoi de fournitures à Sarajevo. Même s’il chargea la FORPRONU, et ensuite les opérations de l'ONU en Bosnie-Herzégovine, de voir à l'opération, le Conseil ne s’y impliqua pas directement.

À la suite du déclenchement de la guerre, en Yougoslavie, en 1991, le HCR est devenu l’organisme responsable pour la livraison de nourriture aux réfugiés et dans les villes et villages isolés en raison des combats. Plus de 4 millions de personnes ont reçu de l’aide, dont 2,7 millions en Bosnie. Cette aide fut d'abord livrée par voies terrestres, mais l’intensification de la guerre en Bosnie et la pression exercée par les Serbo-Bosniaques firent que le HCR commença à compter de plus en plus sur le transport aérien. Les Serbo-Bosniaques trouvèrent un moyen d'empêcher ce ravitaillement et Sarajevo et ses environs, soit environ 440 000 personnes, se trouvèrent sans ressources.

Le 5 juin 1992, la FORPRONU et les Serbo-Bosniaques arrivèrent à un accord en vue de permettre des vols HCR vers Sarajevo. À l'arrivée des troupes de l’ONU, sous le commandement du major-général Lewis MacKenzie, le 29 juin, les Serbo-Bosniaques contrôlaient encore l'aéroport avec leurs armes lourdes qui pouvaient viser l’aéroport, des canons antiaériens aux abords et des soldats à portée de tir. L’accès routier fut facilement fermé. Les quantités requises pour approvisionner Sarajevo étaient au-delà des capacités du HCR et de ses avions. Le HCR se tourna donc vers ses partenaires militaires.

Le 3 juillet 1992, le pont aérien du HCR sur Sarajevo commença avec du personnel des 21 nations qui y participait. Lors de la première moitié de l’opération, les vols décollèrent de Split et de Zagreb en Croatie, de Francfort en Allemagne et de Ancône en Italie. À partir de 1995, il décolleraient tous de Ancône afin de réduire les coûts. Le pont aérien fut coordonné par le HCR, en étroite collaboration avec les nations participant à l’opération, et de la FORPRONU, qui voyait à la sécurité de l’aéroport de Sarajevo.

Le pont aérien connut des problèmes, et se vit souvent interrompu. Par exemple : il fut suspendu le 5 août et le 22 août à cause d’une frappe aérienne de l’OTAN contre des cibles serbes; il fut encore suspendu le 21 novembre lorsque les Serbes menacèrent d'attaquer les vols si l’OTAN ne cessait pas de renforcer la zone d’interdiction aérienne au-dessus de la Bosnie; en mars 1995, le pont aérien fut réduit de 40 % lorsque les Serbo-Bosniaques entravèrent les livraisons entre l’aéroport et la ville; il arrêta complètement le 8 avril 1995 car les combats près de l’aéroport rendaient les vols trop hasardeux; les Serbes coupèrent ensuite l'approvisionnement en gaz naturel, en électricité et en eau pendant le mois de mai et empêchèrent l'aide d'arriver par le route. Le pont aérien ne recommença pas avant septembre 1995.

L’incident le plus sérieux de l’opération eut lieu le 3 septembre 1992 lorsqu'un G-222 des Forces aériennes italiennes fut atteint par un missile air-sol à 27 km de l’aéroport de Sarajevo. Les quatre hommes d’équipage périrent. Plus de cent incidents furent enregistrés où un tir d’armes de petit calibre fut dirigé vers les avions.

Pendant trois ans et demi, le pont aérien livra plus de 160 677 tonnes de fournitures à Sarajevo, incluant plus de 144 000 tonnes de nourriture et 15 850 tonnes de fournitures médicales et d’équipement. Plus de 1100 blessés furent évacués.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC

Aucun nom canadien - 3 juillet 1992 au 4 mars 1994

Opération AIRBRIDGE - 4 mars 1994 au 9 janvier 1996

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

La participation canadienne débuta le 5 juillet 1992. Les missions suivaient la présence canadienne au Zagreb pour l’opération HARMONY. Sans nom, l'opération prit officiellement le titre de opération AIRBRIDGE le 4 mars 1994. Le gouvernement révisa sa participation au pont aérien tous les six mois.

Le détachement canadien opéra initialement de Zagreb en Croatie et déménagea à Ancône en Italie en février 1993. La 426e escadron décolla parfois de Split pendant les années 1994 et 1995. Le détachement consista en un Hercule CC-130 et environ 44 membres d’équipage. Deux équipages en rotation chaque mois faisaient trois vols par jour, sept jours par semaine. Ainsi, la plupart du personnel fit au moins cinq rotations, tandis que quelques-uns d’entre eux en firent plus de sept.

En raison de la menace créée par les défenses antiaériennes autour de Sarajevo, vingt minutes avant d'entrer dans l'espace aérien bosnien, les équipages devaient mettre des casques et des gilets pare-balles. Les avions étaient équipés de radar afin de pouvoir détecter les radar-guided threats and has chaff and flare dispenser to counter missile attacks

Le Canada fit 1860 vols vers Sarajevo, quatrième après les États-Unies (4597), la France (2133) et le Royaume-Uni (1902).