Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation ALLIANCE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

ALLIANCE
Operation Alliance. Cougar moving
through for checkpoint.

International Information

International Operation Name: Implementation Force

International Mission Name: Implementation Force (IFOR)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Yugoslavia

Mission Date: 15 December 1995 - 20 December 1996

Mission Mandate: Authorized by United Nations Security Council Resolution 1031 Chapter VII

Mission Statement:

IFOR troops were responsible for ensuring compliance with the military terms of the Dayton Peace Accords in Bosnia-Herzegovina.

With the signing of the Dayton Peace Accords and the passing of UNSCR 1031(1995), on 20 December 1995 NATO launched Operation JOINT ENDEAVOUR, the largest military operation undertaken by the Alliance to that date. The Dayton Peace Accords called for a heavily armed peacekeeping force to implement the peace terms in Bosnia -Herzegovina. The result was the formation of a 60,000-strong Implementation Force (IFOR) with personnel from almost all of the NATO member nations and some non-NATO nations, in particular, Russia. IFOR was to operate for one year under NATO rules of engagement that allowed IFOR personnel to use force, including deadly force, if necessary, to achieve the mandated objectives.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (ALLIANCE)

Name: ALLIANCE

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Date: 20 December 1995 - 20 December 1996

As a member of the NATO Alliance, Canada was called upon to contribute to the force. Following on the recent experience of the CF with the United Nations Protection Force (UNPROFOR) in the same area, on 6 December 1995 the Minister of Defence, David Collenette, announced that Canada would contribute soldiers to IFOR.

Designated Operation ALLIANCE, the CF’s participation in IFOR incorporated two six-month rotations of more than 1,000 troops. In addition to the provision of brigade headquarters and signals personnel for IFOR’s multinational brigade (2 Canadian Multinational Brigade and, later, 5 Canadian Multinational Brigade), the CF deployed an armoured reconnaissance squadron, an infantry company, an engineer squadron, a national support element, an advanced surgical centre and a military police platoon.

The first Canadian infantry battle group deployed was drawn from units based in Petawawa, Ontario, and Gagetown, New Brunswick, while the second came from Valcartier, Quebec. Their tasks included establishing freedom of movement throughout the area of operations, supervising the withdrawal and separation of the previously warring factions and their heavy weapons, patrolling cease fire lines, supervising the removal of land mines and unexploded ordnance, settling disputes and helping with the redeployment of UN personnel and equipment still in Bosnia-Herzegovina.

Canadian sailors and air force personnel also served in support of IFOR as part of the ongoing maritime blockade (NATO Operation SHARP GUARD) and enforcement of the “no-fly zone” (NATO Operation DECISIVE ENDEVOUR) in the region.

On 20 December 1996, one year after the creation of IFOR, a NATO-led Stabilization Force (SFOR) replaced IFOR.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) ALLIANCE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

ALLIANCE
Opération ALLIANCE. Cougar se dirigeant
vers un point de contrôle.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Force de mise en oeuvre

Nom de la mission internationale: Force de mise en oeuvre (IFOR)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Ancienne Yugoslavie

Date: 15 décembre 1995 - 20 décembre 1996

Mandat de la mission: Autorisé par la résolution 1031 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, Chapitre VII - Imposition de la paix.

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Les soldats de l’IFOR avaient pour responsabilité de veiller au respect des conditions militaires de l’Accord de paix de Dayton en Bosnie-Herzégovine.

Par suite de la signature de l’Accord de paix de Dayton et de l’adoption de la résolution 1031 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (1995), l’OTAN a lancé le 20 décembre 1995 l’opération Joint Endeavour, la plus vaste opération militaire entreprise à ce jour par l’Alliance. L’Accord de Dayton exigeait la mise en place d’une force de maintien de la paix bien armée pour assurer l’application des conditions de paix en Bosnie Herzégovine. On a donc créé une Force de mise en œuvre (IFOR) de 60 000 personnes venant de presque tous les pays membres de l’OTAN ainsi que d’autres pays non membres, notamment la Russie. L’IFOR devait fonctionner pendant un an en vertu des règles d’engagement de l’OTAN qui permettaient à son personnel d’utiliser la force, y compris une force mortelle, au besoin, pour atteindre les objectifs fixés.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (ALLIANCE)

Nom: ALLIANCE

Historique de la mission:

Date: 20 décembre 1995 - 20 décembre 1996

En sa qualité de membre de l’Alliance de l’OTAN, le Canada a été mis à contribution. Le 6 décembre 1995, après une expérience récente des Forces canadiennes (FC) auprès de la Force de protection des Nations Unies (FORPRONU) dans la même région, le ministre de la Défense, David Collenette, a annoncé que le Canada affecterait des soldats à l'IFOR.

Sous le nom d’opération Alliance, la participation des FC à l’IFOR comprenait deux rotations de six mois de plus de 1 000 soldats. En plus de fournir le personnel du quartier général et des transmissions pour la brigade multinationale de l’IFOR (la 2e Brigade multinationale canadienne et, plus tard, la 5e Brigade multinationale canadienne), les FC ont déployé un escadron blindé de reconnaissance, une compagnie d’infanterie, un escadron du génie, un élément de soutien national, un centre chirurgical avancé et un peloton de police militaire.

Le premier groupement tactique d’infanterie canadien déployé était composé de membres des unités basées à Petawawa (Ontario) et à Gagetown (Nouveau-Brunswick), et le deuxième, de membres de la Base de Valcartier (Québec). Leurs tâches comprenaient l’établissement d’une liberté de mouvement dans toute la zone d'opérations, la supervision du retrait et de la séparation des factions auparavant en guerre et de leurs armes lourdes, la patrouille des lignes de cessez-le-feu, la surveillance de l’élimination des mines terrestres et des munitions explosives non explosées, le règlement des différends et l’aide au redéploiement du personnel et de l’équipement de l’ONU encore en Bosnie-Herzégovine.

Des marins et du personnel de la Force aérienne du Canada ont également servi à l’appui de l’IFOR dans le cadre de l’imposition de l’embargo maritime (opération Sharp Guard de l’OTAN) et du maintien de la zone d’interdiction aérienne (opération Decisive Endeavour de l’OTAN) dans la région.

Le 20 décembre 1996, un an après la création de l’IFOR, une Force de stabilisation (SFOR) dirigée par l’OTAN a remplacé l’IFOR.