Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation ALLIED FORCE (NAEWF)

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

ECHO
Photo by Cpl Danielle Bernier, 4 Wing Cold Lake
April 24, 1999
NATO Air Base Aviano, Italy

With his canopy open to the warm
Mediterranean sun, the pilot of a CF-18
Hornet fighter aircraft from Task Force
Aviano - the "Balkan Rats" - awaits clearance
to taxi onto the active runway while two United
States Marine Corps EA-6B Prowler fighters take
off. This Hornet is armed with the GBU-12, a
500-pound guided bomb unit (lower left), and the
AIM-9 Sidewinder missile (centre right).
Since March 24, Canadian CF-18s deployed in Italy
under Operation ECHO have been participating
in the NATO bombing campaign over the Former
Republic of Yugoslavia.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation ALLIED FORCE

International Mission Name: Operation ALLIED FORCE

Mandating Organization:
United Nations Security Council resolution 1199, 23 September 1998 (Chapter VII)
North Atlantic Council, 23 March 1999

Region Name: Europe

Location: Kosovo

Mission Date: 23 March 1999 - 20 June 1999

Mission Mandate:
On 23 March 1999, the North Atlantic Council authorized Operation Allied Force (OAF) in support of UN Security Council resolution 1199. The mandate of OAF was five-fold:

Mission/Operation Notes:

As the former Yugoslavia continued its break-up through 1998, tensions between ethnic Albanians and the security forces of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Yugoslavia) escalated in Kosovo in early 1998. As Yugoslav forces violently broke-up peaceful demonstrations and increasingly intimidated civilians, the Kosovo Liberation Army (KLA) attacked Yugoslav forces in a guerrilla campaign. The UN Security Council approved Resolution 1160 demanding that all parties cease hostilities and that peaceful political processes be followed to resolve issues.

Ignoring the resolution, Yugoslav forces and the KLA stepped up the level of their aggressions with the result that by the summer of 1998 hundreds of civilians had been killed and over 300,000 forced out of their homes. In response, the Security Council passed Resolution 1199 on 23 September, demanding that all parties cease hostilities and more importantly that further actions would be considered if stability were not restored. Accordingly, the North Atlantic Council activated Operation Determined Force (ODF) on 13 October in an effort to show NATO’s resolve. ODF did allow for the use of limited air strikes, such as against military targets, and also for a potential escalation of the use of force.

NATO nations quickly responded to the activation order. Aircraft from 12 nations soon arrived in the area around the Balkans, with 14 nations supporting the operation. By 27 October, over 300 aircraft had deployed to airbases in France, Germany, Greece, Italy and the United Kingdom, as well as aircraft carriers in the Adriatic. On 15 October 1998, Yugoslav President Slobodan Milosevic agreed to a cease-fire and to withdraw those forces that had been mobilized and sent to Kosovo. He also accepted international verification of his compliance. NATO and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) signed agreements with Yugoslavia creating Operation Eagle Eye and the Kosovo Diplomatic Observer Mission respectively. NATO also planned an extraction force for a contingency extraction of personnel from Kosovo - Operation Determined Guarantor.

Through late 1998 and into early 1999, the violence of the KLA and Yugloslav forces escalated. NATO’s Contact Group began negotiations involving both parties in Rambouillet, France on 6 February 1999. While an accord was reached, on 19 March Yugoslavia rejected the Rambouillet Accords. With the rejection of the Accord, the escalation of violence - especially by Yugoslav forces in Kosovo – and the failure of Yugoslavia to heed warnings from NATO, NATO’s Secretary-General authorized Operation Allied Force on 23 March, with operations beginning on 24 March. This ended Operation DETERMINED FORCE.

Operation Allied Force flew its first sorties at 1900 GMT on 24 March. The air campaign lasted until 10 June. Supporting the air and naval operations were E3A aircraft of the NATO Airborne Early Warning Force (NAEWF). For the operation two E3As were in the air at all times, flying two orbits. A third aircraft was always on stand-by. In addition, United States Air Force, Royal Air Force and French Air Force E3 aircraft participated.

The E3s provided commanders with a clear picture of air operations, as well as routing and controlling over 1000 sorties a day. The allied fighter aircraft that shot down six Serbian MIG 29 fighters were controlled by the E3As. Canadian air participation in Operation ALLIED FORCE continued from Operation DETERMINED FORCE.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (ALLIED FORCE, ECHO)

Name: ALLIED FORCE, ECHO

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada participated in three ways in the area:

Canadian name Operation ECHO: there was an initial commitment of six CF-188 Hornets (a commitment that eventually grew to 18 aircraft), operating under the Canadian name operation ECHO;

Canadian name Operation ALLIED FORCE: HMCS Athabaskan participated in the Adriatic Sea; and,

NATO name Operation ALLIED FORCE: The Canadian Contingent NAEWF participated in the area. The Canadian personnel at the NAEWF are integrated into the air and ground crews that support the operations of the NATO unit.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) ALLIED FORCE (NAEWF)

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

ECHO
Photo par le cpl Danielle Bernier, 4e Escadre Cold Lake
Le 24 avril 1999
Base aérienne de l'OTAN, Aviano, Italie

Le toit ouvert au soleil chauffant de la Méditérranée,
un pilote d'un chasseur Hornet CF-18 de la Force
opérationnelle d'Aviano, les rats des Balkans, attend
l'autorisation de rouler au sol tandis que deux chasseurs
Prowler EA-6B de la United States Marine Corps décolent.
Ce chasseur Hornet est équipé d'une unité de bombe
téléguidée GBU-12 de 226,8 kg (coin gauche inférieur),
et d'un missile AIM-9 Sidewinder (centre droite). Depuis
le 24 mars, des CF-18 canadiens sont déployés en Italie
dans le cadre de l'opération …cho, et participent la
campagne de bombardement de l'OTAN au-dessus de
l'ex-Yougoslavie.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Operation ALLIED FORCE

Nom de la mission internationale: Operation ALLIED FORCE

Mandat de l'opération:
Résolution 1199 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, 23 septembre 1998 (chapitre VII)
Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord, 23 mars 1999

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Kosovo

Date: 23 mars 1999 - 20 juin 1999

Mandat de la mission:
Le 23 mars 1999, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord a autorisé l’Opération Allied Force à l’appui de la résolution 1199 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies. Le mandat de l’Opération comprenait cinq volets :

Notes sur la mission :

Alors que l’ex-Yougoslavie continuait de se désagréger, en 1998, les tensions entre les Albanais de souche et les forces de sécurité de la République fédérale de Yougoslavie (Yougoslavie) se sont accrues au Kosovo, au début de 1998. Quand les forces yougoslaves ont violemment mis fin à des manifestations pacifiques et ont commencé à intimider les civils de plus en plus, l’Armée de libération du Kosovo (UCK) a lancé une guérilla contre elles. Le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU a approuvé la résolution 1160 exigeant que toutes les parties cessent les hostilités et que les différends soient réglés par l’entremise de processus politiques pacifiques.

Les forces yougoslaves ont ignoré cette résolution et l’UCK a intensifié ses agressions, à cause desquelles, à l’été 1998, des centaines de civils ont été tués, et plus de 300 000 ont dû quitter leur maison. En réponse, le 23 septembre, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté la résolution 1199, qui exigeait que toutes les parties cessent les hostilités et, plus important encore, stipulait que d’autres mesures seraient envisagées si la stabilité n’était pas restaurée. En conséquence, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord a activé l’Opération Determined Force, le 13 octobre, dans le but de démontrer la volonté de l’OTAN. L’Opération permettait un nombre limité de frappes aériennes, sur des cibles militaires par exemple, de même qu’une éventuelle escalade de l’utilisation de la force.

Les nations membres de l’OTAN ont répondu rapidement à l’ordre d’activation. Des avions de 12 nations sont bientôt arrivés dans la zone des Balkans, et 14 nations appuyaient l’opération. Le 27 octobre, plus de 300 avions avaient été déployés dans des bases aériennes en France, en Allemagne, en Italie et au Royaume-Uni, et des porte-avions avaient été déployés dans la mer Adriatique. Le 15 octobre 1998, le président yougoslave Slobodan Milosevic a accepté un cessez-le-feu et le retrait des forces qui avaient été mobilisées et envoyées au Kosovo. Il a également accepté que la communauté internationale vérifie qu’il s’était bien conformé à ces mesures. L’OTAN et l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) ont signés des accords avec la Yougoslavie, qui ont respectivement donné lieu à l’Opération Eagle Eye et à la Mission d’observation diplomatique au Kosovo. L’OTAN a également prévu une force d’extraction dans le cas où il faudrait extraire du personnel du Kosovo d’urgence, l’Opération Determined Guarantor.

À la fin de 1998 et au début de 1999, la violence de l’UCK et des forces yougoslaves a augmenté. Le groupe de contact de l’OTAN a entrepris des négociations avec les deux parties, à Rambouillet, en France, le 6 février 1999. Bien qu’une entente ait été conclue, le 19 mars, la Yougoslavie a rejeté les Accords de Rambouillet. Compte tenu du rejet de l’Accord, de l’escalade de la violence – particulièrement par les forces yougoslaves au Kosovo – et du refus de la Yougoslavie de respecter les avertissements de l’OTAN, le Secrétaire général de l’OTAN a autorisé l’Opération Allied Force le 23 mars, et elle a commencé ses activités le 24, mettant fin à l’Opération DETERMINED FORCE.

L’Opération Allied Force a fait ses premières sorties à 19:00 TU, le 24 mars. La campagne aérienne s’est poursuivie jusqu’au 10 juin. Les opérations aériennes et navales étaient appuyées par des avions E3A de la Force aéroportée de détection lointaine et de contrôle de l’OTAN (NAEWF). Pendant l’opération, il y avait deux E3A dans les airs en tout temps, volant en deux orbites. Un troisième avion était toujours en disponibilité. Des avions E3 de la United States Air Force, de la Royal Air Force et de l’Armée de l’air française participaient également à l’opération.

Les E3 esquissaient aux commandants un portrait précis des opérations aériennes, en plus de déterminer les itinéraires et assurer le contrôle de plus de 1 000 sorties par jour. Les avions de chasse alliés qui ont tirés sur six MIG 29 serbes étaient contrôlés par les E3A.  La participation des avions canadiens à l’Opération ALLIED FORCE faisait suite à celle de l’Opération DETERMINED FORCE.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (ALLIED FORCE, ÉCHO)

Nom: ALLIED FORCE, ÉCHO

Notes sur la mission :

Le Canada a participé de trois façons :

Opération Écho (nom de l’opération canadienne) : d’abord en fournissant six Hornet CF-188 (auxquels douze se sont rajoutés par la suite), portant le nom canadien d’Opération ECHO;

Opération ALLIED FORCE (nom de l’opération canadienne) : Le NCSM Athabaskan a patrouillé dans la mer Adriatique ; et

Sous la bannière de l’OTAN Opération ALLIED FORCE (aucun nom canadien) : Le contingent canadien de la NAEWF a participé dans la région. Le personnel canadien de la NAEWF est intégré aux équipes aériennes et terrestres qui soutiennent les opérations de l’unité de l’OTAN.