Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation AMBER FOX

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

AMBER FOX

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation AMBER FOX

International Mission Name: Operation AMBER FOX

Mandating Organization: North Atlantic Treaty Organisation

Region Name: Europe

Location: Macedonia

Mission Date: 27 September 2001 - 15 December 2002

Mission Mandate: To contribute to the protection of international monitors from the European Union and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), who are overseeing the implementation of the peace plan in the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

Mission/Operation Notes:

Throughout the 1990s, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) managed to avoid much of the bloodshed that plagued the other former Yugoslav republics. Still, the FYROM remained internally divided between its Macedonian (Slav) majority and its ethnic Albanian minority. Tensions between the two groups erupted into open conflict in early 2001 resulting in international pressure being brought to bear on both sides to resolve the issue. Subsequently, during the spring and summer of that year representatives of the ethnic Albanian community and the government of the FYROM negotiated the Ohrid Framework Agreement that was eventually signed on 13 August.

In concert with the negotiations, the President of the FYROM sent a letter in June to NATO requesting military aid to help stabilize the situation in his country. This request resulted in NATO proposing a two-phase plan under which a 30-day arms collection operation would be followed by a monitoring operation. Following the signing of the Framework Agreement in early August, Operation ESSENTIAL HARVEST - the mission to collect arms from Albanian paramilitary groups - was launched on 27 August. One month later, following the successful completion of its mandate, on 26 September 2001 the North Atlantic Council issued an Execution Directive authorizing the release of the Activation order for the monitoring operation under the designation Operation AMBER FOX.

The mission officially started on 27 September 2001 with an initial three-month mandate that was subsequently extended a further year to 15 December 2002. The operation’s mandate was to contribute to the protection of international monitors from the European Union (EU), and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), who were overseeing the implementation of the peace plan in the FYROM. The operation consisted of approximately 700 troops from NATO member countries, which reinforced some 300 troops already based in the country.

In response to a further request, the North Atlantic Council agreed to continue supporting the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia with a new mission following the successful completion of Operation AMBER FOX. From 16 December 2002 until 30 March 2003 Operation ALLIED HARMONY, a significantly smaller operation in which Canada did not participate, was designed to carry on the peacekeeping operations of the previous two operations, and assist the government of FYROM in taking ownership of security throughout the country. On 31 March 2003, this operation formally handed responsibility over to European Union.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (AMBER FOX)

Name: AMBER FOX

Date: 27 September 2001 - 1 October 2002

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada’s contribution to Operation AMBER FOX was one staff officer to work at Task Force Headquarters. This commitment began on 27 September 2001 and came to an end at the end of September 2002.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) AMBER FOX

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

AMBER FOX

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: opération AMBER FOX

Nom de la mission internationale: opération AMBER FOX

Mandat de l'opération: Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN)

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Macédoine

Date: 27 septembre 2001 - 15 décembre 2002

Mandat de la mission: Contribuer à la protection des observateurs internationaux de l’Union européenne (UE) et de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) qui veillent à la mise en œuvre du plan de paix dans l’ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Durant les années 90, l’ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine (FYROM) a réussi à éviter en grande partie les bains de sang qui ont marqué cette époque dans les autres anciennes républiques de la Yougoslavie. Pourtant, elle est restée divisée entre sa majorité macédonienne (slave) et sa minorité de souche albanaise. Les tensions entre les deux groupes ont fini par éclater et devenir un conflit ouvert au début de 2001. Sur la scène internationale, on a vite fait pression sur les deux groupes pour qu’ils s’entendent. C’est ainsi qu’au cours du printemps et de l’été de cette même année, les représentants de la communauté de souche albanaise et du gouvernement de la FYROM ont négocié les dispositions de l’accord cadre d’Ohrid, qui a finalement été signé le 13 août.

Parallèlement aux négociations, le Président de la FYROM a envoyé une lettre à l’OTAN en juin pour lui demander une aide militaire dans le but de stabiliser la situation dans son pays. En réponse, l’OTAN a proposé un plan en deux étapes prévoyant une opération de collecte d’armes de 30 jours suivie d’une opération de surveillance. Après la signature de l’accord-cadre d’Ohrid au début d’août, l’opération Essential Harvest - la mission de collecte des armes des groupes paramilitaires albanais - a été lancée le 27 août. Un mois plus tard, après avoir dûment rempli son mandat, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord a envoyé une directive d’exécution le 26 septembre 2001 autorisant la publication de l’ordre d’activation de l’opération de surveillance Amber Fox.

La mission a officiellement commencé le 27 septembre 2001 avec un mandat initial de trois mois qui a ensuite été prolongé jusqu’au 15 décembre 2002. L’opération avait pour but de contribuer à la protection des observateurs internationaux de l’UE et de l’OSCE qui veillaient à la mise en œuvre du plan de paix dans la FYROM. L’opération comprenait environ 700 soldats de pays membres de l’OTAN, venus aider les quelque 300 soldats déjà dans le pays.

Pour faire suite à une autre demande, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord a accepté de prolonger son aide à la FYROM au moyen d'une nouvelle mission, à la suite du succès de l’opération Amber Fox. Du 16 décembre 2002 au 30 mars 2003, l’opération Allied Harmony, dont les effectifs étaient nettement moins importants et à laquelle le Canada n'a pas participé, avait pour mandat de poursuivre les opérations de maintien de la paix des deux opérations précédentes et d’aider le gouvernement de la FYROM à prendre en main la sécurité du pays. Le 31 mars 2003, les chefs de l’opération ont officiellement passé le flambeau à l’Union européenne.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (AMBER FOX)

Nom: AMBER FOX

Date: 27 septembre 2001 - 1 octobre 2002

Historique de la mission:

La contribution du Canada à l’opération Amber Fox a consisté à affecter un officier d’état-major au quartier général de la Force opérationnelle. Cet engagement a pris effet le 27 septembre 2001 et s’est terminé à la fin de septembre 2002.