Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation ARTISAN

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

ARTISAN

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation ARTISAN

International Mission Name: Operation ARTISAN

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Albania

Mission Date: 1 August 2000 - 14 November 2001

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (ARTISAN)

Canadian Task Force Mission Statement:

The Op ARTISAN team will act as technical advisor to Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), providing technical design, management and contract supervision including financial management in support of the Rinas Airfield project related contracts(s) between CIDA and local contractors.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The influx of humanitarian aid into Albania to help the Kosovars who had been forced out of Kosovo placed unanticipated stress on that country’s only international airport. The heavy traffic caused premature wear and tear to the runway, taxiways, and parking aprons at Rinas Airport, rendering it essentially useless. Although NATO repaired the military – operated portion of the airfield, the civilian apron was left in disrepair.

In May 2000, at a multi-donor Consultative Group convened by the World Bank on Albania’s behalf, repair of the airport was viewed as vital to Albania’s future economic development. As a donor nation, the Canadian Government pledged $6 million in economic assistance, and shortly thereafter the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) solicited the CF for technical assistance on a project to help repair the airport. The proposed project involved the construction of an 80m x 150m extension to the airports apron, for which the CF would provide project management, design, quality assurance and contracting support.

Dubbed Operation ARTISAN, a five-man team conducted reconnaissance of the airport in August 2000 and subsequently developed a mission that would be conducted in four phases.

Phase one was the writing of the technical specifications and statements of work for the project based on the information gathered during the reconnaissance. Phase two was the awarding of the contracts. However, with no regulations or guidelines for the awarding of government contracts in Albania, the team was conscious of the potential for graft, and relied heavily upon Canadian principles to develop a workable system.

Phase three involved the construction process, which began in April of 2001 using civilian contactors. The project was completed by the end of October, and in early November operation ARTISAN was deemed a success with all members of the operation redeploying to Canada bringing phase four and the operation to a close on 14 November 2001.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) ARTISAN

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

ARTISAN

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération ARTISAN

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération ARTISAN

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Albanie

Date: 1 août 2000 - 14 novembre 2001

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (ARTISAN)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

L’équipe de l’Op Artisan a été chargée de jouer le rôle de conseiller technique auprès de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), en assurant la conception technique, la gestion et la supervision des contrats, y compris la gestion financière des contrats relatifs au projet du terrain d’aviation Rinas conclus entre l’ACDI et des entrepreneurs locaux.

Historique de la mission:

L’arrivée de l’aide humanitaire en Albanie, à l'intention des Kosovars exilés de force du Kosovo, avait fortement éprouvé le seul aéroport international du pays. L’importante circulation avait causé une usure prématurée de la piste, des aires de roulement et des aires de trafic à l’aéroport Rinas, les rendant pratiquement inutilisables. Bien que l’OTAN ait réparé la partie militaire du terrain d‘aviation, l’aire de trafic civile était restée en mauvais état.

En mai 2000, un groupe consultatif regroupant plusieurs donateurs a été réuni par la Banque mondiale au nom de l’Albanie et a considéré que la réparation de l’aéroport était essentielle au développement économique de l’Albanie. En tant que pays donateur, le Canada a offert une aide de six millions de dollars et, peu après, l’ACDI a demandé l’aide technique des FC pour un projet visant à aider à réparer l’aéroport. Le projet proposé supposait la construction d’un prolongement de 80 m sur 150 m de l’aire de trafic de l’aéroport pour laquelle les FC devaient assurer la gestion de projet, la conception, l’assurance de la qualité et le soutien des contrats.

Sous le nom d’opération Artisan, une équipe de cinq hommes a effectué la reconnaissance de l’aéroport en août 2000 et a ensuite conçu une mission qui devait se dérouler en quatre phases.

La phase un consistait à rédiger les spécifications techniques et les énoncés des travaux du projet en fonction de l’information recueillie durant la reconnaissance. La phase deux portait sur l’attribution des contrats. Cependant, en l’absence de règlements ou de lignes directrices sur l’attribution des marchés publics en Albanie, l’équipe, consciente des risques de corruption, s’est appuyée fortement sur les principes canadiens pour établir un système pratique.

La phase trois couvrait la construction, que des entrepreneurs civils ont commencé en avril 2001. Le projet a été achevé à la fin d'octobre et, au début de novembre, l’opération Artisan a été jugée réussie et tous ses membres ont été rapatriés au Canada. La phase quatre, et donc l'ensemble de l'opération, a pris fin le 14 novembre 2001.