Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation BOLSTER

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: European Community Monitoring Mission in the Former Yugoslavia

International Mission Name: European Community Monitoring Mission in the Former Yugoslavia (ECMMY)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Europe

Location: Slovenia, Croatia, and Bosnia

Mission Date: 15 July 1991 - 31 December 2000

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (BOLSTER)

The break up of Yugoslavia began on 25 June 1991 when the representatives of the republics of Slovenia and Croatia declared independence in the Yugoslavian National Assembly. Two days later the Yugoslav People's Army (JNA) marched into Slovenia in an attempt to maintain control of Slovenian border stations. Fierce fighting ensued over the next two weeks, by the end of which Slovenia's territorial militia had defeated the JNA.

On 7 July 1991, during a third visit to Yugoslavia by European Community (EC) representatives, a Cease Fire Agreement was negotiated between Slovenia and the remaining Yugoslav Republic. The Agreement, known as the Brioni Accord, established a cooling-off period of three months, while Federal (JNA) troops were to return to their barracks, and local Slovenian militia were deactivated. It also called for observers to monitor the ceasefire agreement and the withdrawal of JNA forces from Slovenia. With this agreement, the European Community Monitoring Mission (ECMM) was established.

The staff of the ECMM was recruited from twelve EC countries as well as some member countries of the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe (CSCE) (Canada, Sweden, Poland, Slovak Republic and Czech Republic). On 15 July 1991, the first twenty EC Monitors arrived in Slovenia and by 1994 the mission had grown to approximately 160 monitors, or monitor equivalent positions. By then the mission was operating from seven Regional Centers (RC): Zagreb, Knin, Zenica, Belgrade, Szeged (Hungary), Sofia (Bulgaria), and Tirana (Albania).

Dressed completely in white and driving unmarked white vehicles, each monitor team consisted of two monitors, a driver, and a translator. Their role was to collect information about the military situation in their area of responsibility; facilitate contacts between the different factions and participate in negotiations; work with humanitarian organizations, to monitor the human rights situation; and report violations of the no-fly zone over Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Name: BOLSTER

Date: 9 September 1991 - 31 August 1994

Canadian Task Force Mission Statement:

To help stabilize the ceasefire [by]:

Also to:

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada's participation in the ECMM was called Operation BOLSTER, and began on 09 Sept 1991 with the arrival of the first three of the contingent's officers, followed by the remainder of the team by the middle of November, bringing the initial deployed strength to eleven. Their mission was to "provide CF support to the EC Monitor Mission in Yugoslavia". Following the initial deployment, the mission became known as the Canadian Contingent to the European Community Monitoring Mission in the Former Yugoslavia or CCECMMY.

Canadian officers occupied a disproportionate number of supervisory positions within the ECMM, including Chief of Operations at ECMM headquarters in Zagreb; heads of three Regional Centers; three Senior Operations Officer positions in Regional Centers, and two in the Headquarters cell. Between September 1991 and late August 1994, Canada provided six deployments of ten officer monitors and two support staff to the ECMM.

In July of 1994, the Government of Canada began to make enquiries about withdrawing from the mission. By the early August it had made the decision, based on an increasing number of UN commitments, to terminate its commitment to the ECMM and by the end of August the last members of the team were repatriated to Canada.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) BOLSTER

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission de surveillance de la Communauté européenne

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission de surveillance de la Communauté européenne (MSCE)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Slovénie, Croatie et Bosnie

Date: 15 juillet 1991 - 31 décembre 2000

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (BOLSTER)

L’éclatement de la Yougoslavie a débuté le 25 juin 1991, lorsque les représentants de la Slovénie et de la Croatie ont déclaré leur indépendance à l’Assemblée nationale yougoslave. Deux jours plus tard, l’Armée nationale yougoslave (ANY) pénétrait dans le territoire slovène pour tenter de contrôler les gares frontalières. De violents combats ont alors fait rage pendant deux semaines, au terme desquelles la milice territoriale de la Slovénie avait vaincu l’ANY.

Le 7 juillet 1991, au cours d’un troisième séjour en Yougoslavie, des représentants de la Communauté européenne (CE) ont contribué à la négociation d’un accord de cessez-le-feu entre la Slovénie et le reste de la République yougoslave. Cet accord, dit l’Accord de Brioni, a entraîné une accalmie de trois mois, pendant laquelle devaient s'effectuer le retour des troupes de l’ANY à leur casernement ainsi que la désactivation de la milice slovène locale. L'accord exigeait également la présence d’observateurs pour surveiller le déroulement du cessez-le-feu et le retrait des forces de l’ANY de la Slovénie. C’est dans le cadre de cet accord que la Mission de surveillance de la Communauté européenne (MSCE) a été établie.

Le personnel de la Mission a été recruté à partir de 12 pays de la CE ainsi que de quelques pays membres de la Conférence sur la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (CSCE) – le Canada, la Suède, la Pologne, la République slovaque et la République tchèque. Le 15 juillet 1991, les 20 premiers observateurs de la CE débarquaient en Slovénie. En 1994, la Mission comportait environ 160 observateurs ou des personnes auxquelles on avait confié un mandat similaire. La Mission était alors mise en œuvre à partir de sept centres régionaux basés à Zagreb, à Knin, à Zenica, à Belgrade, à Szeged (Hongrie), à Sofia (Bulgarie) et à Tirana (Albanie).

Portant uniquement des vêtements blancs et roulant à bord de véhicules blancs sans inscription, les équipes de surveillance étaient composées de deux observateurs, d’un conducteur et d’un interprète. Leur rôle consistait à recueillir de l’information sur la situation militaire dans leur zone de responsabilité, à faciliter les contacts entre les différentes factions et à participer aux négociations, à collaborer avec les organisations humanitaires et à surveiller l’état des droits de la personne, et à rapporter les violations de la zone d’interdiction aérienne au-dessus de la Bosnie-Herzégovine.

Nom: BOLSTER

Date: 9 septembre 1991 - 31 août 1994

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Aider à stabiliser le cessez-le-feu:

Le mandat consistait également:

Historique de la mission:

L’opération Bolster, nom donné à la participation canadienne à la Mission, a été lancée le 9 septembre 1991 avec l’arrivée des trois premiers officiers du contingent. Si l'on compte le reste de celui-ci, débarqué vers la mi-novembre, le premier groupe déployé était composé de 11 membres. La mission confiée consistait à apporter le soutien des FC à la MSCE en Yougoslavie. Après ce premier déploiement, on parlait plutôt du contingent canadien auprès de la Mission de surveillance de la Communauté européenne (CC MSCE) en ex-Yougoslavie.

Les officiers canadiens se sont vu confier un nombre disproportionné de postes de supervision au sein de la MSCE, y compris ceux de chef des opérations au quartier général de la Mission, à Zagreb, de chef de chacun des trois centres régionaux ainsi que d'officier supérieur des opérations dans les centres régionaux (trois) et au quartier général (deux). Entre septembre 1991 et la fin août 1994, le Canada a fourni à 6 reprises 10 officiers observateurs et 2 employés de soutien à la MSCE.

En juillet 1994, le gouvernement du Canada a commencé à étudier la possibilité de se retirer de la Mission. Étant donné le nombre croissant d’engagements auprès de l’ONU, il a décidé, au début août, de cesser sa participation à la MSCE. Les derniers membres de l’équipe canadienne sont revenus au pays à la fin août.