Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation BOREAL II

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: RUSSIA - 1993

International Mission Name: RUSSIA - 1993

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Soviet Union; Russia

Mission Date: 20 January 1993 - 18 March 1993

Mandate: To deliver medical supplies to Russia.

Narrative:

While the urgency that required Op Boreal had been mitigated, the need for further aid flights to the former Soviet Union was recognized. The Prime Minister promised a donation of $5 million to the Canadian Red Cross to purchase medical supplies for delivery to Russia. Because some of these medicines were time-sensitive, they had to be delivered as quickly as possible after manufacture. Planning for a second series of aid flights – Op BOREAL II – began in November 1992.

On 20 January 1993, Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) Air Command issued the order to begin Op Boreal II. Between 6 February and 18 March, CC-137 Boeing aircraft departed for Russia on 20 separate flights. Departing CFB Trenton every two days, the flights stopped at Helsinki, Finland on the way to and from Russia for a crew change. Besides the flight crew, each aircraft carried one Russian navigator, a military policeman for security of the plane while in Russia, and a team of five Mobile Air Movements Section personnel to offload the aircraft. Overall they carried 225,000 kilograms of medical supplies to 14 cities.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) BOREAL II

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Russie – 1993

Nom de la mission internationale: Russie – 1993

Organisation mandante : Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: l'Union soviétique; Russie

Date: 20 janvier 1993 - 18 mars 1993

Mandat: Livrer des fournitures médicales en Russie.

Exposé des faits:

Même si l’opération Boréal n’était plus aussi urgente, les autorités canadiennes admettaient la nécessité d’envoyer encore du matériel de secours en Russie. Le premier ministre a alors promis de donner 5 millions de dollars à la Croix-Rouge canadienne pour l’achat de fournitures médicales destinées à ce pays. Certains des médicaments n’ayant qu’une durée d’action limitée, il fallait les livrer le plus vite possible après leur fabrication. On a commencé à planifier en novembre 1992 une deuxième série de vols à des fins humanitaires sous le nom opération Boréal II.

Le 20 janvier 1993, le commandement aérien des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) a ordonné le déclenchement de l’opération Boréal II. Entre le 6 février et le 18 mars, des appareils Boeing CC 137 ont effectué 20 vols en Russie. Quittant la BFC Trenton à tous les deux jours, les avions faisaient escale à Helsinki en Finlande à l’aller et au retour pour un changement d’équipage. En plus de l’équipage, chaque appareil avait à son bord un navigateur russe, un policier militaire pour assurer la sécurité pendant le séjour en Russie, de même qu’une équipe mobile de cinq préposés aux mouvements aériens chargés de décharger l’avion. En tout, ces vols ont permis d’acheminer 225 000 kilos de fournitures médicales dans 14 villes.