Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation BOREAL III

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Russia - 1993 [2]

International Mission Name: Russia - 1993 [2]

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Soviet Union; Russia

Mission Date: 4 August 1993 - 30 October 1993

Mandate: To deliver medical supplies to Russia.

Narrative:

The Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) had delivered medical supplies to Russia and other former Soviet nations in early 1992 and 1993. The Canadian Red Cross, in response to appeals from its Russian counterpart, understood the need still existed for further medical aid. The Canadian government authorized a donation of $4.8 million to buy specific medicines. These were designed to treat three major causes of illness and death in Russia: infectious, intestinal and respiratory diseases.

Planning for Op BOREAL III began in May 1993, soon after the completion of Op Boreal II. The operation order was issued on 4 August. For the new operation all of the medical supplies were loaded into shipping containers by military personnel at CFB Trenton, and then taken by sea to Sweden and then by road to the city of Turku, Finland. By 6 October the entire Canadian contingent was at Turku; operations began on the 8th. There was one flight a day for the next 22 days, flying into five Russian cities to which the Canadians had not flown in the previous Op Boreal missions. Over 280,000 kilograms of freight were moved, including medical supplies and winter clothing donated by the Finnish Red Cross. The final flight was conducted on 29 October, with all personnel returning to Canada on the 30th.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) BOREAL III

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Russie – 1993 [2]

Nom de la mission internationale: Russie – 1993 [2]

Mandant: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: l'Union soviétique; Russie

Date: 4 août 1993 - 30 octobre 1993

Mandat: Livrer des fournitures médicales en Russie.

Notes sur la mission:

Les Forces armées canadiennes avaient déjà livré des fournitures médicales en Russie et autres parties de l’ancienne Union soviétique au début de 1992 et 1993. La Croix-Rouge canadienne reconnue que les besoins d’aide médicale n'avaient pas tous été comblés. Le gouvernement canadien fit un don de 4,8 millions de dollars pour l’achat de médicaments spécifiques destinés au traitement de trois maladies mortelles en Russie: les maladies infectieuses, intestinales et respiratoires.

On commença la planification de l'opération Boreal III en mai 1993, à la fin de l'opération Boreal II. Pour cette nouvelle opération, qui commença le 4 août, les fournitures médicales furent chargées dans des conteneurs par le personnel militaire à la BFC de Trenton, puis transportées par bateau en Suède d'où elles furent ensuite transportées par route à Turku en Finlande. Le 6 octobre, le contingent canadien se trouvant à Turku l’opération commença le 8. Pendant vingt-deux jours, chaque jour un vol se rendrait dans l'une des cinq villes russes non approvisionnés lors des deux autres opérations. Plus de 280 tonnes de cargaison furent livrées, incluant des fournitures médicales et des vêtements d’hiver donnés par la Croix-Rouge finlandaise. Le dernier vol eut lieu le 29 octobre et tout personnel fut de retour au Canada le 30.