Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation BOREAL IV

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Lithuania-Ukraine – 1994

International Mission Name: Lithuania-Ukraine – 1994

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Soviet Union; Lithuania, Ukraine

Mission Date: 15 July 1994 - 5 August 1994

Mandate: To deliver medical supplies to Lithuania and Ukraine.

Narrative:

In 1992 and 1993, the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) conducted three operations into the former Soviet Union, flying in primarily medical supplies. In April 1994, the Canadian Red Cross once again requested the Government of Canada's assistance in transporting medical supplies into the former Soviet Union. In this case the request was to move four flights worth of medical supplies – two each into Lithuania and Ukraine. On 12 July the Minister of National Defence approved the request, with the Air Command Operation order being issued on 15 July.

The Canadian Red Cross undertook to have the medical supplies ready for transport from Copenhagen, Denmark. The CAF personnel from 8 Wing Trenton were ready on 29 July. One flight was made on each of the days from 1 to 4 August, going respectively to Donetsk, Ukraine on the first and fourth, and Villineus, Lithuania on the second and third flights. On 5 August the airmen and women returned to Canada.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) BOREAL IV

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Lituanie-Ukraine – 1994

Nom de la mission internationale: Lituanie-Ukraine – 1994

Mandant: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: l'Union soviétique; Lituanie, Ukraine

Date: 15 juillet 1994 - 5 août 1994

Mandat: Livrer des fournitures médicales en Lituanie et en Ukraine.

Notes sur la mission:

En 1992 et 1993, les Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) fournirent des fournitures médicales à l’ancienne Union soviétique au cours de trois opérations. En avril 1994, la Croix-Rouge canadienne demanda une nouvelle fois de l’aide au gouvernement canadien pour y transporter des fournitures médicales. Cette fois, il s'agissait de quatre vols, deux en Lituanie et deux en Ukraine. Le ministre de la Défense nationale approuva la demande le 12 juillet et le Commandement aérien reçut l’ordre le 15 juillet.

La Croix-Rouge canadienne prépara son matériel en vue d'un transport à Copenhague au Danemark. Le personnel des FAC de la 8e escadre à Trenton fut prêt le 29 juillet. Du 1er au 4 août, 4 vols eurent lieu les premier et quatrième se rendant à Donetsk en Ukraine et les deuxième et troisième à Vilnius en Lituanie. Les équipages furent de retour au Canada le 5 août.