Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation BOREAL

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Confederation of Independent States - 1992

International Mission Name: Confederation of Independent States - 1992

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Soviet Union

Mission Date: 6 January 1992 - 21 April 1992

Mandate: To deliver Red Cross, food and medical supplies to states of the former Soviet Union.

Narrative:

With the break-up of the former Soviet Union, the delivery of food and medicines also broke down as the transition from a controlled economy did not go smoothly. At the request of the International Commission for the Red Cross, several NATO nations began emergency airlifts of food and medical supplies to the locations that were in greatest need.

In early 1992, the Minister of National Defence announced that Canada would provide and deliver aid. Two Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) CC-137 Boeing flights took place almost immediately, transporting powdered milk donated by the European Union from Cologne, Germany to Moscow on 6 and 7 January. The next phase of flights began on 27 January when further CC-137 flights brought medical supplies from CFB Trenton to 15 locations including Kiev, Ukraine and Moscow, Perm and other locations in Russia. The airlift continued until 21 April 1992.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) BOREAL

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: CONFÉDÉRATION DES ÉTATS INDÉPENDANTS – 1992

Nom de la mission internationale: CONFÉDÉRATION DES ÉTATS INDÉPENDANTS – 1992

Organisation mandante : Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: l'Union soviétique

Date: 6 janvier 1992 - 21 avril 1992

Mandat: Livrer à l’ancienne Union soviétique des fournitures médicales et de la nourriture pour le compte de la Croix-Rouge.

Notes sur la mission :

Avec l'éclatement de l'Union soviétique, la livraison de nourriture et de médicaments a elle aussi souffert du passage d'une économie contrôlée à une économie de marché. En réponse à une demande d’aide provenant de la Commission internationale de la Croix-Rouge, plusieurs membres de l’OTAN commencèrent l'envoi de nourriture et de fournitures médicales aux régions les plus touchées.

Au début de 1992, le ministre de la Défense nationale annonça que le Canada participerait à l’opération. Deux Boeing CC-137 des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) décollèrent de Cologne, Allemagne, pour Moscou presque immédiatement, transportant, les 6 et 7 janvier, du lait en poudre donné par l’Union européenne. La seconde phase commença le 27 janvier, alors que les Boeing CC-137 transportèrent des fournitures médicales de Trenton dans 15 lieux incluant Kiev, l’Ukraine, Moscou et Perm. Le transport aérien continua jusqu’au 21 avril 1992.