Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation COBRA

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

COBRA

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation DETERMINED EFFORT

International Mission Name: Operation DETERMINED EFFORT

Mandating Organization: North Atlantic Treaty Organisation

Region Name: Europe

Location: Bosnia-Herzegovina and Croatia

Mission Date: 1 December 1994 - 1 December 1995

Mission Mandate:

To provide forces to NATO OpPlan 40-104 / Operation Determined Effort so NATO forces could be extracted from Bosnia-Herzegovina and Croatia.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In 1994, NATO began to consider worst-case extraction operations of its forces supporting UN operations in Bosnia-Herzegovina and Croatia. Two initial options were considered: Operation Determined Effort, for a gradual build-up of extraction forces, and Operation Daring Lion for one that would occur in a matter of days. Operation Determined Effort became the basis for NATO OPLAN 40-104, and later the rapid build-up of forces that became the Implementation Force in Bosnia-Herzegovina (IFOR) in support of the Dayton Peace Accord.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (COBRA)

Name: COBRA

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Operation COBRA was the planned Canadian contribution to Op Determined Effort. Although never implemented, the planning had an effect on later Canadian operations. Op COBRA was to be a joint effort, under the command of a Joint Force Headquarters (JFHQ). The Canadian contribution would be integrated into the overall NATO force. Planning for the operation started in late 1994. The Canadian contingent in UNPROFOR had created a theatre evacuation plan; however, a larger, more coordinated effort was required for all NATO forces in Bosnia-Herzegovina and Croatia.

Naval planning included some expenditures to prepare the allotted ships for Op Cobra. Equipment preparations were made - ships were to be "fitted for", but not "fitted with" various equipments required for the mission. Two of the ships, HMCS Provider and HMCS Vancouver, would sail from the West Coast. The five ships were each allotted specific roles: HMCS Gatineau - command ship screen comd/Anti-Submarine Warfare Coordinator /Anti-Surface Warfare Coordinator /CCU HMCS Preserver - logistics coordinator HMCS Provider - alternate logistics coordinator HMCS Vancouver - alternate Anti-Aircraft Warfare Coordinator /Electronic Warfare Coordinator HMCS Ville de Quebec - Anti-Aircraft Warfare Coordinator / Electronic Warfare Coordinator

In addition, HMCS Preserver would serve as the headquarters for the JFHQ, requiring that an additional 65 persons be accommodated and augmentation by 13 extra medical staff. Both HMCS Preserver and HMCS Provider would carry the land forces equipment to the operations area.

Supporting the ships would be seven CH-124 Sea Kings from 406, 423 and 443 Squadrons. Their role would be helicopter delivery service, surface surveillance, and liaison and communications support for the JFHQ. Modifications to the Sea Kings would include fitting them to carry a 5.56 calibre general purpose machine gun.

Army planning consisted of building a battle group around 1st Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry. Training for the potential mission started on 26 March 1995 under the previously planned Exercise Prairie Ram. By the time the battalion started the exercise, they had gone to a 7 days notice to move. Battle Group of 3 mechanized companies (775 pers) and 1 Leopard squadron (125 pers) one Brigade Headquarters & Signals (505 pers) one Recce Squadron (125 pers) one Engineer Regiment (-) (225 pers) one artillery Battery 155 mm SP guns (165 pers) one Service Battalion (-) for second line support (500 pers) one Field Ambulance with 2 surgical teams (200 pers) one Military Police Platoon (34 pers) Canada also offered the use of a Movement Control Company (125 pers).

The air component was to consist of about 600 personnel. The largest contingent would be the CC-130 Hercules fleet, 12 of which would be used for transport and two for aerial refueling. Initially they would be used to move Canadian personnel and equipment to Europe, after which they would be released to NATO control. If the Air Force deployed any CP-140 Auroras for Operation SHARP GUARD, these aircraft would be reassigned to support Op DETERMINED EFFORT. Canada also committed 18 x CF-188 Hornets. The CC-150 Polaris would be retained under Canadian control as a national strategic asset - primarily to move personnel and equipment to the theatre.

In the end, Op COBRA/DETERMINED EFFORT was not implemented. The exercise of preparing for the possibility was not wasted, however, as the build-up of NATO forces for the Implementation Force was based in part upon the planning of Op COBRA/DETERMINED EFFORT.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) COBRA

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Cobra

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération Determined Effort

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération Determined Effort

Mandat de l'opération: Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN)

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Bosnie-Herzégovine et de la Croatie

Date: 1 décembre 1994 - 1 décembre 1995

Mandat de la mission:

Fournir des effectifs au plan d'opération (OPLAN) 40-104 de l'OTAN et à l'opération Determined Effort pour permettre l'extraction des forces de l'OTAN de la Bosnie-Herzégovine et de la Croatie.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

En 1994, l'OTAN a commencé à envisager, selon le pire des scénarios, des opérations d'extraction de ses forces de soutien aux activités des Nations Unies en Bosnie-Herzégovine et en Croatie. Au départ, on a envisagé deux solutions : l'opération Determined Effort, pour une mise sur pied graduelle des forces d'extraction, et l'opération Daring Lion, pour procéder à celle-ci en quelques jours. L'opération Determined Effort a servi de base à l'OPLAN 40-104 de l'OTAN, et plus tard à la rapide constitution de forces qui sont devenues la Force de mise en œuvre en Bosnie Herzégovine (IFOR) à l'appui de l'Accord de paix de Dayton.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Cobra)

Nom: COBRA

Historique de la mission:

L'opération Cobra a été la contribution prévue du Canada à l'opération Determined Effort. Bien que l'opération d'extraction n'ait jamais été mise en œuvre, sa planification a eu une incidence sur les opérations subséquentes du Canada. L'opération Cobra devait être une initiative interarmées sous la direction d'un quartier général de force interarmées (QGFI). Les efforts du Canada devaient s'intégrer à ceux de l'OTAN. La planification de l'opération a commencé à la fin de 1994. Le contingent canadien affecté à la FORPRONU avait élaboré un plan d'évacuation du théâtre des opérations. Toutefois, il fallait une initiative plus vaste et mieux coordonnée pour toutes les forces de l'OTAN en Bosnie-Herzégovine et en Croatie.

La planification navale prévoyait entre autres des dépenses pour la préparation des navires affectés à l'opération Cobra. Les navires ont été préparés à recevoir l'équipement exigé par leur mission, mais l'équipement n'y a pas été installé tout de suite. Deux d'entre eux, le NCSM Provider et le NCSM Vancouver, devaient partir de la côte Ouest. Les cinq navires avaient chacun des rôles spécifiques à jouer : - NCSM Gatineau - commandement de l'écran du navire de commandement/coordination de la lutte anti-sous-marine/coordination de la lutte antisurface/UCC; - NCSM Preserver - coordination logistique; - NCSM Provider - substitut - coordination logistique; - NCSM Vancouver - substitut - coordination de la lutte antiaérienne/coordination et de la guerre électronique; - NCSM Ville de Québec - coordination de la lutte antiaérienne/coordination de la guerre électronique.

En outre, le NCSM Preserver devait accueillir le QGFI, soit 65 personnes de plus, ainsi que 13 membres du personnel médical supplémentaires. Le NCSM Preserver et le NCSM Provider devaient transporter l'équipement des forces terrestres dans le secteur des opérations.

Les navires devaient être soutenus par sept hélicoptères CH 124 Sea King des 406e, 423e et 443e escadrons, dont le rôle consistait à assurer des services de livraison, de surveillance, de liaison et de communication pour le QGFI. Les modifications aux hélicoptères Sea King devaient comprendre l'installation d'une mitrailleuse polyvalente de calibre 5,56.

La planification militaire terrestre consistait à constituer un groupement tactique autour du 1er Bataillon, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry (1 PPCLI). L'entraînement en vue de cette éventuelle mission a commencé le 26 mars 1995 dans le cadre de l'exercice Prairie Ram déjà prévu. Quand le bataillon a entrepris l'exercice, il avait déjà reçu un préavis de mouvement de sept jours. L'opération devait mobiliser : un groupement tactique de trois compagnies mécanisées (775 militaires) et d'un escadron de chars Leopard (125 militaires); un QG et escadron de transmissions de brigade (505 militaires); un escadron de reconnaissance (125 militaires); un régiment du génie (-) (225 militaires); une batterie d'artillerie, canons automoteurs de 155 mm (165 militaires); un bataillon des services (-) pour le soutien de deuxième ligne (500 militaires); une ambulance de campagne avec deux équipes chirurgicales (200 militaires); un peloton de police militaire (34 militaires). Le Canada a aussi offert une compagnie de contrôle des mouvements (125 personnes).

La composante aérienne devait compter environ 600 militaires. Le contingent le plus important comprendrait une flotte d'hélicoptères CC 130 Hercules, dont 12 serviraient au transport et deux au ravitaillement en vol. Au départ, ils seraient utilisés pour transporter des soldats et de l'équipement canadiens jusqu'en Europe, après quoi ils seraient mis au service de l'OTAN. Si la Force aérienne avait dû déployer des appareils CP 140 Aurora pour l'opération Sharp Guard, ces aéronefs auraient été réaffectés au soutien de l'opération Determined Effort. Le Canada avait aussi fourni 18 avions CF 188 Hornet. L'avion CC 150 Polaris devait demeurer sous la responsabilité du Canada en tant que bien stratégique national - principalement pour transporter du personnel et de l'équipement au théâtre des opérations.

En fin de compte, l'opération Cobra/Determined Effort n'a pas été mise en œuvre. L'exercice de préparation à cette éventualité n'a toutefois pas été inutile, car la constitution des forces de l'OTAN pour l'IFOR était basée en partie sur la planification de cette opération.