Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation CONTACT

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

CONTACT

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation CONTACT

International Mission Name: Operation CONTACT

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Croatia

Mission Date: 1 July 1999 - 31 August 1999

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (CONTACT)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

With respect to each contaminated site, identify each contaminant including an assessment of the health hazards associated with each contaminant at the level or levels identified.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Operation Contact was initiated by DCDS Staff after a historical review showed that existing scientific data were not adequate to resolve concerns of Canadian Forces (CF) personnel who feared they had been exposed to chemical contamination while serving in Croatia. The issue, which had originally been raised in 1994 by personnel in ROTO 2 (2 PPCLI), centred on possible health effects from contact with polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) and bauxite thought to have been used to fill sandbags during Operation HARMONY.

The investigation focused on the potential impact of the environment on the soldier, rather than the impact of the CF on the environment (e.g. environmental remediation for fuel spills etc).

The Op Contact report was provided to the Croatia Board of Inquiry (BOI). The Croatia BOI was called in August 1999 to investigate whether Canadian soldiers who served as peacekeepers in Croatia under Operation HARMONY, over a span of three years were exposed to environmental toxins. The terms of reference did not, however, limit the Board to this singular issue.

Based on the evidence presented, the BOI were unable to conclude with certainty that exposure to the "red dirt" of southern Croatia and other suspected contaminants were the specific cause of the illnesses.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) CONTACT

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

CONTACT

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération CONTACT

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération CONTACT

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Croatie

Date: 1 July 1999 - 31 August 1999

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (CONTACT)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Par rapport à chaque site contaminé, identifier chacun des contaminants en évaluant leurs risques pour la santé selon les degrés de contamination.

Historique de la mission :

L'état major du SCEMD a lancé l'opération Contact après qu'une étude historique a eu démontré l'absence de données scientifiques fiables pour répondre aux craintes des membres des Forces canadiennes croyant avoir été exposés à des produits chimiques nocifs au cours de leur période de service en Croatie. Ce problème, soulevé au départ en 1994 par des membres du 2 PPCLI pendant la ROTO 2, avait trait surtout aux possibles effets sur la santé d'une exposition aux biphényles polychlorés (BPC) et à de la bauxite qui auraient été utilisés pour remplir des sacs de sable au cours de l'opération Harmony.

L'enquête concernait essentiellement les répercussions potentielles de l'environnement sur les soldats, plutôt que l'impact des activités des FC sur l'environnement (p. ex. : méthodes pour remédier aux déversements de carburant, etc.).

Le rapport issu de l'opération Contact a été transmis à la Commission d'enquête sur la Croatie établie en août 1999 pour déterminer si des soldats canadiens ayant participé comme casques bleus à l'opération Harmony en Croatie, pendant une période de trois ans, avaient été exposés à des produits toxiques. Le mandat de la Commission ne se limitait toutefois pas à ce problème spécifique.

Malheureusement, les preuves et témoignages soumis n'ont pas permis à la Commission d'enquête de conclure avec certitude que les maux dont se plaignaient les soldats étaient directement attribuables à une exposition à la « terre rouge » dans le Sud de la Croatie et aux autres contaminants évoqués.