Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation DECISIVE ENDEAVOR

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

DECISIVE ENDEAVOR

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation DECISIVE ENDEAVOR

International Mission Name: Operation DECISIVE ENDEAVOR

Mandating Organization: North Atlantic Treaty Organisation

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Yugoslavia

Mission Date: 21 December 1995 - 20 December 1996

Mission Mandate: To provide air support to United Nations forces deployed as part of the Implementation Force in Bosnia-Herzegovina

Mission/Operation Notes:

For three years the former Yugoslav republic of Bosnia-Herzegovina had been wracked by ethnic conflict. United Nations peacekeeping efforts had proven unable to resolve the conflict. The Dayton Peace Accord was signed in Paris on 14 December 1995. NATO and other international forces had been standing by to provide a peacekeeping force to implement the anticipated accord. They were to operate under the name Implementation Force and total 60,000 all ranks.

NATO had also maintained air forces in its Southern Region to monitor and enforce the UN no-fly zone over Bosnia (Operation DENY FLIGHT) and to provide close air support to the UN Protection Force (UNPROFOR) on the ground. These air assets included the spectrum of aircraft types from fighters to transports from 11 NATO nations and included the NATO Airborne Early Warning Force flying Boeing E3A aircraft out of Geilenkirchen, Germany.

On 20 December 1995, the NATO air assets assigned to Operation Deny Flight were transferred to support the Implementation Force (NATO Operation JOINT ENDEAVOUR). The NATO air operation was renamed Operation DECISIVE ENDEAVOUR. The operation involved almost 5500 personnel from 12 NATO nations, operating from five European NATO nations and from aircraft carriers in the Mediterranean.

The NAEWF aircraft provided surveillance and a picture of the air and ground situation for the IFOR and air component commanders. The eight aircraft assigned to the operation were normally forward deployed to Preveza, Greece or Trapani, Italy. At the same time, these aircraft were also supporting NATO’s Operation SHARP GUARD, which was enforcing the UN embargo against the former Yugoslavia. This operation ended on 15 May 1996.

With the end of IFOR and the commencement of the Stabilization Force, Operation DECISIVE ENDEAVOUR ended and its air assets transferred to the new operation, Operation DELIBERATE GUARD. During the period of Op DECISIVE ENDEAVOUR, NATO aircraft flew over 50,000 sorties in support of IFOR.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (DECISIVE ENDEAVOR)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canadian Forces participation in Operation DECISIVE ENDEAVOUR was limited to the personnel posted to the NAEWF in Geilenkirchen, Germany. The Canadian personnel are integrated into the air and ground crews that support the operations of the NATO unit.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) DECISIVE ENDEAVOR

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

DECISIVE ENDEAVOR

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération DECISIVE ENDEAVOR

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération DECISIVE ENDEAVOR

Mandat de l'opération: Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN)

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Ancienne Yugoslavie

Date: 21 décembre 1995 - 20 décembre 1996

Mandat de la mission: Fournir un appui aérien aux forces des Nations Unies déployées dans le cadre de la Force de mise enœuvre en Bosnie-Herzégovine.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Pendant trois ans, l’ex-République yougoslave de Bosnie Herzégovine a été dévastée par un conflit ethnique. Les efforts de maintien de la paix déployés par les Nations Unies se sont révélés inutiles pour régler le conflit. L’Accord de paix de Dayton a été signé à Paris le 14 décembre 1995. L’OTAN et d’autres forces internationales se tenaient prêtes à fournir une force de maintien de la paix pour mettre enœuvre l’accord prévu. Celle-ci devait être désignée sous le nom de « Force de mise enœuvre » (IFOR) et comptait 60 000 militaires de tous grades.

L’OTAN avait également posté des forces aériennes dans sa région sud pour surveiller et faire respecter la zone d’interdiction aérienne des Nations Unies au dessus de la Bosnie (opération Deny Flight) et pour fournir un appui aérien rapproché à la Force de protection des Nations Unies (FORPRONU) au sol. Ces moyens aériens étaient constitués de différents types d’avions, allant des chasseurs aux aéronefs de transport, fournis par 11 pays membres de l’OTAN et ils comprenaient la Force aéroportée de détection lointaine (NAEWF) de cette organisation, dotée d’avions E3 A provenant de Geilenkirchen, en Allemagne.

Le 20 décembre 1995, les moyens aériens de l’OTAN affectés à l’opération Deny Flight ont été transférés pour appuyer la Force de mise en oeuvre (opération Joint Endeavour de l’OTAN). L’opération aérienne de l'OTAN a été renommée opération Decisive Endeavour. Environ 5 500 membres du personnel venant de 12 pays membres de l’OTAN y ont participé, à partir de 5 pays européens de l’OTAN et de porte-avions se trouvant dans la Méditerranée.

Les aéronefs de la NAEWF ont effectué des missions de surveillance et ont fourni un tableau des situations aérienne et terrestre à l’IFOR et aux commandants de la composante aérienne. Les huit avions affectés à l’opération étaient habituellement déployés en avant à Préveza, en Grèce, ou à Trápani, en Italie. Parallèlement, ces avions appuyaient l’opération Sharp Guard de l’OTAN, qui appliquait l’embargo des Nations Unies contre l’ex Yougoslavie. Cette opération a pris fin le 15 mai 1996.

En raison de la fin de la mission de l’IFOR et de la création de la Force de stabilisation, l’opération Decisive Endeavour s’est terminée et ses moyens aériens ont été transférés à la nouvelle opération, Deliberate Guard. Durant l’opération Decisive Endeavour, les aéronefs de l’OTAN ont effectué plus de 50 000 sorties à l'appui de l’IFOR.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (DECISIVE ENDEAVOR)

Historique de la mission:

La participation des Forces canadiennes à l’opération Decisive Endeavour s’est limitée au personnel affecté à la NAEWF, à Geilenkirchen, en Allemagne. Les Canadiens ont été intégrés au personnel navigant et au personnel de piste qui appuyaient les opérations de l’unité de l’OTAN.