Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation DELIBERATE FORCE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

DELIBERATE FORCE

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation DELIBERATE FORCE

International Mission Name: Operation DELIBERATE FORCE

Mandating Organization: North Atlantic Council

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Yugoslavia

Mission Date: 29 August 1995 - 20 September 1995

Mission Mandate:

To reduce the threat to UN safe areas and UN peacekeepers through the timely and effective use of air power.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In July 1995 the United Nations-declared "safe areas" in Eastern Bosnia, including Srebrenica, fell to Bosnian Serb forces. The international community and NATO agreed to extend the use of NATO airpower in the event that Bosnian Serbs attacked any of the remaining UN "safe areas", including Bihac, Gorazde, Sarajevo and Tuzla. The North Atlantic Council, in decisions on 25 July and 1 August, declared that further Bosnian Serb attacks on UN safe areas had to be met with a firm and rapid response. These decisions supported UN Security Council resolutions on the safe areas that demanded both Croatian and Serb forces respect these refuges.

On 28 August 1995, Bosnian Serb forces shelled a market place in Sarajevo, killing 38 civilians. NATO launched Operation DELIBERATE FORCE as a means of reducing the military capability of Bosnian Serb forces to threaten UN safe areas and UN forces. The targets were military forces and heavy weapons in the field, command and control facilities, direct and essential military support facilities, and supporting infrastructure and lines of communication. Over 11days 29 August and 14 September, NATO air forces flew 2470 penetrating sorties that attacked or escorted attack aircraft, and flew 1045 support sorties including airborne early warning and control missions. These missions dropped 1026 bombs on 386 targets. However, even with the air strikes underway, Bosnian Serbs managed to attack UN forces in some areas, thereby drawing air attacks upon themselves.

On 14 September a 72 hour suspension of attacks was imposed. This was the result of a letter from the Commander United Nations Peace Forces indicating that the warring factions had agreed to the conditions brokered by the United Nations. On 20 September, UN and NATO commanders agreed that the UN safe areas were no longer threatened or under attack, the siege of Sarajevo was lifted and Operation DELIBERATE FORCE was terminated.

Support for the operation was by eight individual NATO nations who provided aircraft, while NATO provided E3A aircraft from the NATO Airborne Early Warning Force (NAEWF) situated at Geilenkirchen, Germany. Over 16 days, the NAEWF aircraft flew 96 sorties.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (DELIBERATE FORCE)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canadian Forces participation in Operation Deliberate Force was limited to the personnel posted to the NAEWF in Geilenkirchen, Germany. The Canadian personnel were integrated into the air and ground crews that support the operations of the NATO unit.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) DELIBERATE FORCE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

DELIBERATE FORCE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération DELIBERATE FORCE

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération DELIBERATE FORCE

Mandat de l'opération: Conseil de l'Atlantique Nord

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Ancienne Yugoslavie

Date: 29 août 1995 - 20 septembre 1995

Mandat de la mission:

Réduire les menaces contre les zones de sécurité et les casques bleus de l’ONU grâce à un recours opportun et efficace à la puissance aérienne.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

En juillet 1995, les « zones de sécurité » décrétées par l’ONU dans l’Est de la Bosnie, notamment l’enclave de Srebrenica, sont tombées aux mains des troupes serbo-bosniaques. Les membres de la communauté internationale et les pays de l’OTAN ont alors accepté de mettre à la disposition de l’ONU les avions de l’OTAN dans l’éventualité où les Serbes bosniaques auraient attaqué les zones de sécurité restantes, soit celles de Bihac, Gorazde, Sarajevo et Tuzla. Dans ses décisions prises le 25 juillet et le 1er août, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord a déclaré que l’OTAN réagirait fermement et rapidement si les Serbes bosniaques osaient attaquer à nouveau des zones de sécurité. Ces décisions venaient appuyer les résolutions du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU concernant les zones protégées, qui enjoignaient à la fois les Croates et les Serbes de respecter ces refuges.

Le 28 août 1995, les troupes serbes de Bosnie ont bombardé un marché à Sarajevo, tuant 38 civils. L’OTAN a alors lancé l’opération Deliberate Force pour affaiblir la puissance militaire des Serbes bosniaques et réduire la menace pesant sur les zones de sécurité de l’ONU et les casques bleus. Ces raids aériens visaient des troupes et des armes lourdes sur le terrain, des postes de commandement et de contrôle, des installations de soutien militaire essentielles ainsi que des infrastructures et des lignes de communication à usage militaire. En l’espace de 11 jours, du 29 août au 14 septembre, les avions de l’OTAN ont effectué 2 470 missions de pénétration consistant à attaquer ou à escorter des avions d’attaque, et 1 045 sorties d’appui, notamment des missions aéroportées de détection lointaine et de contrôle. Au cours de ces raids, ils ont largué 1 026 bombes sur 386 objectifs. Cependant, malgré les frappes aériennes en cours, les troupes serbes bosniaques ont réussi à attaquer les casques bleus à certains endroits, ce qui leur a valu d’être elles mêmes bombardées.

Le 14 septembre, on a décrété une suspension de 72 heures des bombardements, à la suite d’une lettre du commandant des Forces de paix des Nations Unies indiquant que les factions belligérantes avaient accepté les conditions négociées par l’ONU. Le 20 septembre, les commandants des forces de l’ONU et de l’OTAN ont reconnu que les zones de sécurité n’étaient plus menacées ni attaquées et que le siège de Sarajevo avait été levé, d’où la fin de l’opération Deliberate Force.

Huit pays de l’OTAN ont fourni individuellement des avions pour cette opération; en outre l’OTAN a dépêché des avions E3A appartenant à la Force aéroportée de détection lointaine de l’OTAN (NAEWF) basée à Geilenkirchen, en Allemagne, qui en 16 jours ont effectué 96 sorties.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (DELIBERATE FORCE)

Historique de la mission:

La participation des FC à l’opération Deliberate Force s’est limitée au personnel affecté à la NAEWF, à Geilenkirchen. Les militaires canadiens faisaient partie du personnel navigant et du personnel de piste appuyant les opérations de cette unité de l’OTAN.