Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation DETERMINED FORCE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

DETERMINED FORCE

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation DETERMINED FORCE

International Mission Name: Operation DETERMINED FORCE

Mandating Organization:
United Nations Security Council Resolution 1199, 23 September 1998 (Chapter VII)
North Atlantic Council authorization, 13 October 1998

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Yugoslavia

Mission Date: 13 October 1998 - 23 March 1999

Mission Mandate:

On 23 September 1998, the UN Security Council adopted Resolution 1199, a Chapter VII resolution, demanding the cessation of violence in Kosovo. The North Atlantic Council authorized the activation of Operation Determined Force (ODF) in support of this resolution on 13 October 1998. The mandate of ODF was to demonstrate NATO resolve in support of UN resolutions regarding Kosovo, to enforce the “no-fly” zone over Bosnia and to prepare for limited air strikes against the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.

Mission/Operation Notes:

As the former Yugoslavia continued its break-up through 1998, tensions between ethnic Albanians and the security forces of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Yugoslavia) escalated in Kosovo. As Yugoslav forces violently broke-up peaceful demonstrations and increasingly intimidated civilians, the Kosovo Liberation Army (KLA) attacked Yugoslav forces in a guerrilla campaign. The UN Security Council approved resolution 1160 demanding that all parties cease hostilities and that peaceful political processes be followed to resolve issues.

Failing to heed the resolution, Yugoslav forces and the KLA stepped up the level of their aggression. The Security Council passed Resolution 1199 on 23 September, demanding that all parties cease hostilities and more importantly that further actions would be considered if stability were not restored. Accordingly, the North Atlantic Council activated Operation DETERMINED FORCE on 13 October.

Operation DETERMINED FORCE was a phased operation in which NATO would first attempt to demonstrate its resolve to enforce the Security Council’s resolutions and prevent further violence. It allowed for limited air strikes, such as those against military targets, and a phased air campaign if Yugoslavia failed to meet the terms of the Security Council resolutions.

NATO nations quickly responded to the activation order. Aircraft from twelve nations soon arrived in the area around the Balkans, with fourteen nations supporting the operation. By 27 October, over 300 aircraft had deployed to airbases in France, Germany, Greece, Italy and the United Kingdom, as well as aircraft carriers in the Adriatic. These aircraft were soon flying missions over Bosnia in support of the “no-fly” zone, conducting combined training exercises, and participating in Partnership for Peace exercises in the region. They also served as a protection force for other NATO and UN missions operating in the former Yugoslavia.

On 15 October 1998, Yugoslav President Slobodan Milosevic agreed to a cease-fire and to withdraw those forces that had been mobilized and sent to Kosovo. He also accepted international verification of his compliance. NATO and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) signed agreements with Yugoslavia creating Operation Eagle Eye and the Kosovo Diplomatic Observer Mission respectively. NATO also planned an extraction force for a contingency extraction of personnel from Kosovo - Operation DETERMINED GUARANTOR.

Through late 1998 and into early 1999, the violence of the KLA and Yugloslav forces escalated despite the ceasefire. NATO began negotiations involving both parties in Rambouillet, France on 6 February 1999. While the KLA ultimately accepted NATO’s terms, on 19 March Yugoslavia rejected the Rambouillet Accords. By this time hundreds of civilians had been killed and over 300,000 forced out of their homes. With the rejection of the Accords, the escalation of violence - especially by Yugoslav forces in Kosovo – and the failure of Yugoslavia to heed warnings from NATO, NATO’s Secretary-General authorized Operation Allied Force on 23 March, with operations beginning on 24 March. This ended Operation DETERMINED FORCE.


Canadian Operation

Operation ECHO 13 October 1998 to 23 March 1999
No Canadian Operation Name 13 October 1998 to 23 March 1999

No Canadian Operation Name

Canada had already been involved in enforcing the “no-fly” zone over Bosnia through personnel deployed to the NATO Airborne Early Warning squadron, operating under the NATO name Operation DELIBERATE FORGE. When this operation ended and Operation DETERMINED FORCE began, the NATO AWACS personnel made the transition. The aircraft would fly over other nations bordering the former Yugoslavia to monitor the situation in the airspace over that country. This operation did not have a Canadian operation name.

Operation ECHO

In a show of NATO resolve, Canada announced on 20 June 1998 that six CF-188 Hornets would deploy to Aviano, Italy to enhance Alliance capabilities and improve Canada’s response time to any crisis in the area. The Hornets would be available for NATO demonstration exercises, as well as enforcing the “no-fly” zone. They deployed under NATO Operation DELIBERATE FORGE, the Canadian name of which was Operation ECHO. When Operation DETERMINED FORCE began, these aircraft and personnel made the transition to the new operation, which was also given the Canadian name Operation ECHO.

The six CF-188s averaged about 80 missions a month, mostly over Bosnia. Each sortie lasted about 2 ½ hours and was an international effort, involving airborne refueling aircraft, airborne early warning aircraft and controllers from several nations. The Canadian effort was also a broad one. Task Force Aviano (TFA) personnel rotated on a six-month schedule, with pilots rotating every three months. Most personnel were either from 3 Wing Bagotville or 4 Wing Cold Lake; however, personnel from across the Air Force augmented these two Wings. The occupations of TFA also represented most Air Force occupations.

Support for Op Echo came from the Hercules and Airbuses of 435, 436 and 437 Squadrons. Weekly resupply flights in support of Op ECHO, and Op PALLADIUM (NATO Stabilization Force in Bosnia) brought personnel, equipment, parts and supplies to TFA.

With the degeneration of the situation in Kosovo, followed by the failure of negotiations, Op DETERMINED FORCE ended on 23 March 1999 when NATO authorized Operation ALLIED FORCE. Canada entered Op ALLIED FORCE with six CF-188s and about 130 people. Overall, about 275 CF personnel took part in Op DETERMINED FORCE.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Determined Force de l'OTAN

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Determined Force de l'OTAN

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Determined Force de l'OTAN

Nom de la mission internationale: Determined Force de l'OTAN

Organisme responsable:
Résolution du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, no 1199, 23 septembre 1998 (chapitre VII)
Autorisation du Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord, 13 octobre 1998

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Ancienne Yugoslavie

Date: 13 octobre 1998 - 23 mars 1999

Mandat de la mission:

Le 23 septembre 1998, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies adopte la Résolution 1199, en vertu du chapitre VII, pour mettre fin à la violence au Kosovo. Le 13 octobre, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord autorise le déclenchement de l’Opération Determined Force (ODF) pour appuyer la résolution. Le mandat de l’ODF est de manifester fermement le soutien de l’OTAN envers les résolutions de l’ONU relativement au Kosovo, de mettre en application l’interdiction de voler au dessus de la Bosnie et de prévoir des frappes aériennes limitées contre la République fédérale de Yougoslavie.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

En 1998, au cours du démantèlement de l’ancienne Yougoslavie, la tension s’accentue entre les citoyens d’origine albanaise du Kosovo et les forces de sécurité yougoslaves. L’Armée de libération du Kosovo (UCK) entreprend une campagne de guérilla contre les forces yougoslaves alors que ces dernières répriment violemment les manifestations pacifiques et se livrent à l’intimidation de civils. Le Conseil de sécurité adopte la Résolution 1160 pour que cessent les hostilités et pour mettre en place un processus politique de règlement du conflit.

Ne respectant pas la résolution, les Forces yougoslaves et l’UCK augmentent la violence d’agression. Le 23 septembre, le Conseil de sécurité adopte la Résolution 1199, exigeant de nouveau que toutes les parties cessent les hostilités et menaçant de prendre d’autres mesures si la stabilité n’est pas rétablie. Le 13 octobre, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord lance l’Opération Determined Force.

L’Opération Determined Force est menée par étapes : l’OTAN tente d’abord de manifester sa volonté ferme de faire appliquer les résolutions du Conseil de sécurité et de mettre fin à la violence. Des frappes aériennes limitées, notamment sur des cibles militaires, sont entreprises dans le cadre d’une campagne aérienne qu’on entend intensifier si la Yougoslavie ne respecte pas les conditions des résolutions.

Les pays membres de l’OTAN, dont 14 soutiennent l’opération, répondent en temps opportun à l’ordre de mobilisation et douze d’entre eux dépêchent des aéronefs dans la zone des Balkans. Au 27 octobre, des bases aériennes françaises, allemandes, grecques, italiennes et britanniques, ainsi que des porte avions dans la mer Adriatique, se partagent plus de 300 aéronefs en déploiement. Les équipages d’aéronefs exécutent des missions de vol au dessus de la Bosnie pour faire respecter l’interdiction de survoler la zone, pour mener des exercices d’entraînement conjoints et participer aux exercices effectués par les pays membres du Partenariat pour la paix (PPP) dans la région. Ils servent également comme force de protection pour les autres missions de l’OTAN et de l’ONU en cours de réalisation dans l’ancienne Yougoslavie.

Le 15 octobre 1998, le président yougoslave Slobodan Milosevic consent à respecter un cessez le feu et à retirer les forces mobilisées et déployées au Kosovo. Il accepte également que la communauté internationale effectue un contrôle de conformité. L’OTAN ainsi que l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) signent des ententes avec la Yougoslavie et mettent sur pied, respectivement, l’Op Eagle Eye et la Mission diplomatique d'observateurs au Kosovo. L’OTAN planifie également une force en prévision d'une évacuation d'urgence du personnel en service au Kosovo, soit l’Opération Determined Guarantor.

Des derniers jours de 1998 aux premiers jours de 1999, la violence s’accentue entre l’UCK et les Forces yougoslaves malgré les cessez-le-feu. L’OTAN amorce des négociations entre les deux partis, à Rambouillet (France), le 6 février 1999. Alors que l’UCK accepte enfin les conditions de l’OTAN, la Yougoslavie rejette les Accords de Rambouillet le 19 mars. Des centaines de civils ont déjà été tués et plus de 300 000 ont abandonné leur foyer. À la suite du rejet des Accords et de la poussée de violence, particulièrement de la part des forces yougoslaves au Kosovo, et à la suite de l’absence de volonté de la Yougoslavie de tenir compte des avertissements de l’OTAN, le Secrétaire général de l’OTAN autorise le 23 mars l’Op Allied Force, laquelle est lancée le 24 mars et met fin à l’Opération Determined Force.

Opération canadienne

Opération Echo13 octobre 1998 au 23 mars 1999
Aucun non d’opération canadien13 octobre 1998 au 23 mars 1999

Aucun non d’opération canadien

En effet, des Canadiens membres du personnel de l’escadron de la Force aéroportée d’alerte lointaine de l’OTAN participent à l’application de l’interdiction de vol au dessus de la Bosnie, sous l’Opération de l’OTAN Deliberate Forge. Lorsque cette opération cesse et que l’Opération Determined Force commence le personnel de l’escadron de la Force aéroportée d’alerte lointaine de l’OTAN a fait la transition. L’avion aurait volé au-dessus des frontières de pays de l’ancienne Yougoslavie pour surveiller la situation de l’espace aérienne de ce pays. Cette opération n’a pas de nom assigné pour une opération canadienne.

Opération Echo

Pour appuyer la volonté de l’OTAN, le Canada annonce le 20 juin 1998 qu’il déploie six CF-188 Hornet à Aviano, en Italie, pour augmenter les capacités de l’Alliance et réduire le temps de réaction du Canada à d’éventuelles crises dans la région. Déployés dans le cadre de l’Opération Deliberate Forge de l’OTAN et le nom canadien de l’opération est Echo. Les Hornet et le personnel ont fait la transition lorsque l’Opération Determined Force a commencé à la nouvelle opération pour laquelle est devenu l’Opération Echo, nom canadien.

Les six CF-188 exécutent environ 80 sorties par mois, d’environ 2 heures et demie chacune, la plupart au dessus de la Bosnie. Les sorties se font dans un esprit de collaboration internationale comprenant un avion de ravitaillement en vol, un aéronef doté d’un système de détection lointaine et des contrôleurs aériens de plusieurs pays. De plus, la participation canadienne est étendue. Le personnel de la Force opérationnelle à Aviano (TFA) exécute des rotations de six mois, sauf les pilotes dont les rotations sont de trois mois. La majorité de l’effectif provient de la 3e Escadre Bagotville ou de la 4e Escadre Cold Lake, mais des membres provenant de l’ensemble de la Force aérienne rejoignent ces deux escadres. La plupart des emplois existant dans la Force aérienne se retrouvent au sein de la TFA.

Les Hercules et les Airbus des 435e, 436e et 437e Escadrons appuient l’Opération Echo et l’Opération Palladium (Force de stabilisation de l’OTAN en Bosnie) par des vols hebdomadaires transportant le personnel de relève, l’équipement et les approvisionnements pour le personnel de la TFA.

Quand la situation au Kosovo s’est détériorée et que les négociations ont échoué, l’OTAN a autorisé l’Opération Allied Force, et l’Opération Determined Force a alors pris fin, soit le 23 mars 1999. Le Canada s’est joint à l’Opération Allied Force en fournissant six CF 188 et un effectif d’environ 130 personnes. En tout, environ 275 membres des FC ont pris part à l’Op Determined Force.

Haut de la page