Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Greece 2004

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: NATO Operation DISTINGUISHED GAMES

International Mission Name: NATO Operation DISTINGUISHED GAMES

Mandating Organization: North Atlantic Council, 25 June 2004

Region Name: Europe

Location: Athens, Greece

Mission Date: 2 August 2004 - 29 September 2004

Mission Mandate: To conduct aerial surveillance over Greece during the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In March 2004, the Government of Greece requested NATO assistance in providing security during the Olympic and Paralympic Games to be held in Athens from 2 August to 30 September. On 24 June, the North Atlantic Council authorized NATO to provide assistance, including NATO Airborne Early Warning Force (NAEWF) E3A aircraft, and the maritime support under Task Force Endeavour.

The NAEWF contribution was under the name Operation DISTINGUISHED GAMES. The aircraft from the NAEWF wing in Geilenkirchen, Germany would be responsible for surveying the airspace around and over Greece to allow a Recognized Air Picture to be developed, identifying aircraft and scrambling military aircraft to identify unknown aircraft. The E3As reported to the NATO Combined Air Operations Center 7 near Larissa, Greece, where staff would coordinate activities with Greek authorities.

NAEWF aircraft deployed on 29 July to their forward operating location in Aktion, Greece. Operations began on 2 August and continued through the period of both Games, terminating on 29 September.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information

Name: No Canadian Operation Name

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canadian Forces participation in Operation Distinguished included the personnel posted to the NAEWF in Geilenkirchen, Germany. The Canadian personnel were integrated into the air and ground crews that supported the operations of the NATO unit.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Grèce 2004

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération Distinguished Games de l’OTAN

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération Distinguished Games de l’OTAN

Organisme responsable :
Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord, 25 juin 2004

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Athènes, Grèce

Date: 2 août 2004 - 29 septembre 2004

Mandat de la mission:
Exercer une surveillance aérienne au-dessus de la Grèce pendant les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques.

Notes sur la mission :

En mars 2004, le gouvernement de la Grèce a demandé l’aide de l’OTAN pour assurer la sécurité pendant les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques d’Athènes devant se dérouler du 2 août au 30 septembre. Le 24 juin, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord a autorisé l’OTAN à fournir l’assistance demandée, qui a notamment pris la forme d’envoi d’avions E3A de la Force aéroportée de détection lointaine de l’OTAN (NAEWF) et d’un soutien maritime (Force opérationnel Endeavour).

La contribution de la NAEWF s’est faite sous le nom d'opération Distinguished Games. Les avions de l’aile de la NAEWF située à Geilenkirchen, en Allemagne, étaient chargés de surveiller l’espace aérien autour et au-dessus de la Grèce pour permettre d’établir la situation aérienne générale (identification des avions et brouillage des appareils militaires pour repérer les avions inconnus). Les E3A relevaient du Centre combiné d'opérations aériennes 7 de l’OTAN, situé près de Lárissa, en Grèce, où le personnel coordonnait les activités avec les autorités grecques.

Les avions de la NAEWF ont été envoyés le 29 juillet à leur emplacement avancé d’opérations, à Aktion, en Grèce. Les opérations ont commencé le 2 août et se sont terminées le 29 septembre, après les Jeux olympiques et paralympiques.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC

Nom: Aucun nom d’opération canadienne

Notes sur la mission :

La participation des Forces canadiennes à l’opération Distinguished Games comprenait le personnel affecté à la NAEWF, à Geilenkirchen, en Allemagne. Le personnel canadien a été intégré au personnel navigant et au personnel de piste appuyant les opérations de l’unité de l’OTAN.