Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation FUSION

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

FUSION

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation CONCORDIA

International Mission Name: European Union Peacekeeping Mission in the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Mandating Organization: European Union

Region Name: Europe

Location: Macedonia

Mission Date: 31 March 2003 - 15 December 2003

Mission Mandate: To provide the necessary stable security environment to successfully implement the Ohrid Framework Agreement.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In the ten years following the 1991 break up of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, tensions between the ethnic Albanian population and the Former Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) government lead to open warfare in the summer of 2001. International pressure brought to bear on the situation lead to the signing of the peace plan, entitled the Ohrid Framework Agreement, between the two parties.

Following the signing of the agreement, the President of FYROM, President Trajkovski, approached NATO with a request for aid to ensure stability in the region. NATO responded with Operation ESSENTIAL HARVEST (Canadian name - Op FORAGE), a 30-day operation to collect weapons from the National Liberation Army (NLA). Following its completion, Operation AMBER FOX was launched to provide protection for international monitors from the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), who were overseeing the implementation of the peace plan.

In early December 2002, in response to a further request from President Trajkovski, the North Atlantic Council agreed to continue supporting the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia with a new mission following the successful completion of Operation AMBER FOX. From 16 December 2002 until 30 March 2003 NATO mounted Operation ALLIED HARMONY, a significantly smaller operation that was designed to carry on the peacekeeping mandate of the previous two operations, and assist the government of FYROM in taking ownership of security throughout the country.

On 31 March 2003, this operation formally handed responsibility over to the European Union who launched Operation CONCORDIA, the first military mission launched under the EU’s European Security and Defence Policy (ESDP), to carry on the work started by the previous NATO missions.

On the 15th of December 2003 at a ceremony in Skopje, Operation CONCORDIA came to a close, signaling the successful completion of its mandate. The operation was considered a success in that the EU force, which was made up of 26 nations, observed and eventually closed out the Weapons Collection Program started under Operation ESSENTIAL HARVEST, and directly assisted the international community’s policy of confidence building through their visible presence in the former crisis areas.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (FUSION)

Name: FUSION

Date: 26 March 2003 - 13 May 2003

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Prior to its start up, the EU approached Canada in March to participate in the operation. To this end, Canada approved Operation FUSION, the deployment of a lieutenant-colonel as an attached posting to Skopje FYROM to act as executive officer to the force commander. On 1 April 2003, he assumed his duties and remained on post until 12 May 2003. Though short in duration, the deployment provided Canada with valuable insight into how the EU worked in Macedonia both at the political and military level.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) FUSION

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

FUSION

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: opération CONCORDIA

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission de maintien de la paix de l’Union européenne dans l’ex République yougoslave de Macédoine

Mandat de l'opération: Union européenne

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Macédoine

Date: 31 mars 2003 - 15 décembre 2003

Mandat de la mission: Assurer le maintien d’un environnement stable et sûr pour appliquer l’Accord cadre d’Ohrid

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Dans la décennie qui a suivi l’éclatement de la République fédérale de Yougoslavie, en 1991, les tensions entre la population albanaise de souche et le gouvernement de l’ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine (FYROM) ont dégénéré en conflit armé à l’été de 2001. Les pressions internationales en vue du règlement de la situation ont mené à la signature d’un plan de paix conclu entre les deux parties et appelé l’Accord cadre d’Ohrid.

À la suite de la signature de l’Accord, le président de la FYROM, Boris Trajkovski, a présenté à l’OTAN une demande d’aide qui permettrait d’assurer la stabilité de la région. L’OTAN a répondu par l’Op Essential Harvest (Op Forage), une opération de 30 jours visant à recueillir les armes de l’Armée de libération nationale. Une fois cette opération terminée, on a lancé l’opération Amber Fox afin de protéger les observateurs internationaux de l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE), qui supervisaient l’application du plan de paix.

Au début de décembre 2002, en réaction à une autre demande du président Trajkovski, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord a accepté de continuer à soutenir la FYROM avec une nouvelle mission à la suite de la réussite de l’opération Amber Fox. Du 16 décembre 2002 au 30 mars 2003, l’OTAN a monté l’Op Allied Harmony, une opération de bien moindre envergure visant la poursuite du mandat de maintien de la paix des deux opérations précédentes et la prestation d'aide au gouvernement de la FYROM pour la prise en charge de la sécurité dans l'ensemble du pays.

Le 31 mars 2003, les responsables de cette opération ont officiellement transmis leurs responsabilités à l’Union européenne, qui a alors créé l’opération Concordia, première mission militaire lancée en vertu de la Politique européenne de sécurité et de défense (PESD) de l’Union européenne, afin de poursuivre le travail entrepris par les missions précédentes de l’OTAN.

Le 15 décembre 2003, à Skopje, une cérémonie a souligné la fin de l’opération Concordia et célébré l’accomplissement de son mandat. L’opération a été considérée comme une réussite, puisque la force de l'UE, constituée de militaires de 26 pays, a observé et mené à terme le Programme de collecte des armes entrepris dans le cadre de l’opération Essential Harvest et a contribué directement à consolider la politique de la communauté internationale visant le renforcement de la confiance, grâce à une présence concrète dans les anciennes zones de crise.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (FUSION)

Nom: FUSION

Date: 26 mars 2003 - 13 mai 2003

Historique de la mission:

La contribution du Canada à l’opération Amber Fox a consisté à affecter un officier d’état-major au quartier général de la Force opérationnelle. Cet engagement a pris effet le 27 septembre 2001 et s’est terminé à la fin de septembre 2002.