Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation GUARANTOR

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

GUARANTOR

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation JOINT GUARANTOR

International Mission Name: Operation JOINT GUARANTOR

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Europe

Location: Kosovo

Mission Date: 11 November 1998 - 24 March 1999

Mission Mandate:

On order, to conduct an extraction of OSCE Kosovo Verification Mission (KVM) Verifiers and / or persons with designated special status in Kososvo in order to assure their safety.

Supported by UNSCR 1199, and 1203 Chapter VII

Mission/Operation Notes:

The summer of 1998 was witness to open hostilities between Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (FRY) forces, and the underground Kosovo Liberation Army (KLA). A “scorch the earth” policy implemented by Serbian Interior Ministry of Police (MUP) forces, along with repeated “security” operations conducted by FRY forces, eventually led the United Nations to call for an end to hostilities and the withdrawal of Serbian forces from Kosovo. In support of this position, on 23 September the United Nations passed UNSCR 1199, and sent US special envoy Richard Holbrooke to negotiate with President Milosevic to ensure compliance with the resolution.

On 15 October, following nine days of intense negotiations, both parties agreed to a cease-fire and a two-pronged approach to monitoring the situation. In accordance with the agreement, NATO was to conduct unarmed flights over the region (NATO Op EAGLE EYE)(Op KAYAK), and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) would establish a Kosovo Verification Mission (KVM)(Op KIMONO) to observe compliance on the ground. The UN Security Council endorsed the establishment of these two missions when on 24 October 1998 it passed resolution 1203.

The NATO Alliance, in support of these operations, established a special military task force to assist with the emergency evacuation of members of the KVM should renewed conflict put them at risk. This force was primarily composed of European NATO Allies with France as the lead nation. The headquarters and standing elements of this force were stationed in the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) and consisted of approximately 2,300 personnel under the Operation name of JOINT GUARANTOR.

Despite the KVM presence, the opposing forces remained openly hostile with the violence continuing to escalate through December and January. In February 1999 in an attempt to bring the situation under control, Kosovo and Serb negotiators were brought to Rambouillet, France in an attempt to hammer out a peace agreement. Although the Kosovars eventually accepted terms, FRY President Milosevic refused to accept the agreement and continued to pour troops and weapons into the province. NATO for its part continued to threaten air strikes if both parties did not sign. The Kosovars relented and agreed, but Milosevic refused resulting in the international community ordering all KVM monitors out of Kosovo on 20 March. On 24 March, following a last ditch effort to reach agreement that met with failure, NATO launched operation ALLIED FORCE and began directed air strikes against the FRY forces.

The failure of the KVM to achieve its mandate, compounded by the lack of cooperation exhibited by the FRY forces, led to the complete withdrawal of KVM personnel. With KVM personnel no longer in danger, Operation JOINT GUARANTOR, and thus Operation GUARANTOR came to a close on 24 March 1999.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (GUARANTOR)

Name: GUARANTOR

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The Canadian contingent assigned to the extraction force operated under the Canadian operation name of Op GUARANTOR. The team consisted of an airfield engineering flight of 47 people, a 10-person medical/dental element, and five headquarters personnel. The first Canadian troops to deploy were the ten-man advance team who arrived in theatre 11 December 1998 to perform a recce and prepare the ground for the remainder of the force who followed by 22 December. Stationed in the city of Kumanovo, the Canadians worked on the construction and renovation of the local NATO installation and provided medical, dental and staff support.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) GUARANTOR

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

GUARANTOR

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération JOINT GUARANTOR

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération JOINT GUARANTOR

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Kosovo

Date: 11 novembre 1998 - 24 mars 1999

Mandat de la mission:

Dès réception de l’ordre à cet effet, évacuer les personnes affectées à la Mission de vérification au Kosovo (MVK) de l’OSCE et/ou les personnes ayant un statut spécial désigné au Kosovo, afin d’assurer leur sécurité.

Mandat appuyé par les résolutions 1199 et 1203 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies Chapitre VII

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

À l’été 1998, les hostilités entre les forces de la République fédérale de Yougoslavie (FRY) et l’Armée de libération du Kosovo (UÇK) clandestine ont éclaté au grand jour. Les forces de police du ministère de l’Intérieur de la Serbie (MUP) ont adopté une « politique de la terre brûlée », pendant que les forces de la FRY menaient des opérations de « sécurité » répétées, ce qui a éventuellement poussé les Nations Unies à demander la fin des hostilités et le retrait des forces serbes du Kosovo. À l'appui de cette prise de position, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a voté la résolution 1199 le 23 septembre et a chargé un envoyé spécial des États-Unis, Richard Holbrooke, de négocier avec le président Milosevic afin de garantir le respect de cette résolution.

Le 15 octobre, après neuf jours d’intenses négociations, les deux parties se sont entendues sur un cessez-le-feu et sur une approche à deux volets relativement à la surveillance de la situation. Il a été convenu que des avions non armés de l’OTAN survoleraient la région (Op Eagle Eye de l’OTAN et Op Kayak du Canada) et que l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe (OSCE) établirait une Mission de vérification au Kosovo (MVK) (Op Kimono du Canada) pour veiller au respect de la résolution au sol. En adoptant la résolution 1203 du 24 octobre 1998, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a donné le feu vert aux deux missions.

Dans le but de soutenir ces opérations, l'Alliance atlantique a mis sur pied une force opérationnelle militaire spéciale pour assurer l’évacuation d’urgence des membres de la MVK advenant une reprise du conflit qui les mettrait en danger. Cette force était principalement constituée des pays européens alliés membres de l’OTAN et avait à sa tête la France. Le quartier général et les éléments permanents de cette force étaient stationnés dans l’ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine (FYROM) et regroupaient environ 2 300 militaires dans le cadre de l’opération Joint Guarantor.

Malgré la présence de la MVK, les antagonistes sont restés ouvertement hostiles et la violence s’est aggravée pendant les mois de décembre et de janvier. En février 1999, dans le but de maîtriser la situation, on a réuni les négociateurs serbes et kosovars à Rambouillet, en France, afin qu'ils signent un accord de paix. Bien que les Kosovars aient accepté les conditions de l’accord, le président de la FRY, Slobodan Milosevic, l’a refusé et a continué à déverser des soldats et des armes dans la province. Pour sa part, l’OTAN a réitéré sa menace d’attaques aériennes si les deux parties ne signaient pas. Les Kosovars ont adouci leur position et ont accepté l'accord, mais le président Milosevic s'y opposant toujours, la communauté internationale a ordonné l’évacuation de tous les observateurs de la MVK hors du Kosovo le 20 mars. Le 24 mars, après l’échec d’un dernier effort visant l’atteinte d’une entente, l’OTAN a lancé l’opération Allied Force et a commencé les frappes aériennes dirigées contre les forces de la FRY.

L’échec de la MVK dans l’accomplissement de son mandat et la non coopération des forces de la FRY ont mené au retrait complet du personnel de la MVK. Une fois celui-ci hors de danger, on a mis fin à l’opération Joint Guarantor et, par le fait même, à l’opération Guarantor, le 24 mars 1999.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (GUARANTOR)

Nom: GUARANTOR

Historique de la mission:

Le contingent canadien affecté à la force d’extraction travaillait dans le cadre de l’opération canadienne Guarantor. L’équipe était constituée d’une escadrille du génie de l’air de 47 personnes, d’une équipe médicale et dentaire de 10 personnes et de 5 membres du personnel d’état-major. Les premiers soldats canadiens affectés (un détachement avancé de 10 membres) sont arrivés sur les lieux le 11 décembre 1998 pour effectuer une reconnaissance et préparer le terrain avant l’arrivée du reste de la force, le 22 décembre. Stationnés dans la ville de Kumanovo, les Canadiens ont travaillé à la construction et à la réfection des installations locales de l’OTAN, en plus d’offrir un soutien médical, dentaire et d'état-major.