Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Greece 1956

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Greece 1956

International Information

International Operation Name: Greece 1956

International Mission Name: Greece 1956

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Greece

Mission Date: 25 July 1956 - 28 July 1956

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Greece 1956)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To deliver humanitarian aid to Greece

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

On 9 July 1956, a magnitude 7.8 earthquake struck Greece, with its epicentre near the island of Amorgos (situated north of Crete between that island and the Peloponnese). The resulting tsunami swept across the Aegean, with waves of up to 20 metres reported on the east coast of Amorgos and 8 metres on the north coast of the island of Astypalaea. The coast of Turkey was hit with a 1 metre tsunami.

In the effort to aid survivors, a 436 Squadron North Star on a routine flight to Europe was redirected to London, England. Here the crew picked up 10,800 lbs of tents and Red Cross supplies, departing London on 25 July and arriving in Athens on the 26th. The aircraft and crew then returned to their normal schedule.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Gréce 1956

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Gréce 1956

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Grèce 1956

Nom de la mission internationale: Grèce 1956

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Grèce

Date: 25 juillet 1956 - 28 juillet 1956

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Grèce 1956)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Fournir de l’aide humanitaire à la Grèce

Historique de la mission:

Le 9 juillet 1956, un séisme d’une magnitude de 7,8 a frappé la Grèce. L’épicentre se trouvait près de l’île d’Amorgos (située au Nord de la Crête, entre cette île et le Péloponnèse). Le tsunami qui en a résulté a balayé les îles de la mer Égée et on a signalé des vagues atteignant 20 mètres sur la côte est d’Amorgos et 8 métres sur la côte nord de l’île d’Astypalaea. La côte de la Turquie a été touchée par une vague d’un mètre.

Dans le cadre des efforts déployés pour aider les survivants, un avion North Star du 436e Escadron qui effectuait un vol régulier vers l’Europe a été dévié vers Londres, en Angleterre. L’équipage y a chargé 10 800 livres de tentes et de fournitures de la Croix-Rouge et a quitté Londres le 25 juillet pour atteindre Athènes le 26. L’avion et son équipage ont ensuite repris leurs vols normaux.