Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation IMAGE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

IMAGE

International Information

International Operation Name: Combined Air Operation Centre

International Mission Name: Combined Air Operation Centre (CAOC)

Mandating Organization: North Atlantic Treaty Organisation

Region Name: Europe

Location: Italy

Mission Date: 9 April 1993 - Present

Mission Mandate:

The Combined Air Operations Centre (CAOC) in Vicenza, Italy, was tasked with coordinating NATO's air support operations in the Balkans, initially over Bosnia-Herzegovina and later over Kosovo.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (IMAGE)

Name: IMAGE

Date: 21 December 2001 - 30 June 2002

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The Combined Air Operations Center (CAOC) was first set up in 1993 to support Operation Deny Flight, NATO’s first combat air operation established in support of the United Nations Protection Force (UNPROFOR) ground troops in the former Yugoslavia. Under Operation Deny Flight, more that 100,400 missions were flown between April 9, 1993 and December 20, 1995. Thereafter, more than 119,000 additional air missions were flown including 38,408 missions during the 78-day Allied Force air war in Kosovo that began on March 24, 1999.

Multiple NATO aerial operations in the Balkans subsequently required a centralized air operations organization on the ground and led to the creation of the Combined Air Operations Centre. The CAOC combines personnel from more than 13 NATO and non-NATO nations, including Russia, into a single multi-service and multinational command and control headquarters.

Since its creation, the operations center has provided air protection to ground troops, and supplied intelligence and reconnaissance information for the various commanders in theatre. First located in Vicenza, Italy, other CAOCs were later established in other locations. Canadian participation in the CAOC began with the deployment of personnel under Canadian mission Operation ECHO. Following the termination of Op ECHO, it became doctrinally necessary to stand-up a new operation (Op IMAGE) and Task Force (TF Vincenza) to provide national control and theatre support of the four CF personnel remaining in Italy as part of the Combined Air Operations Center. Four crisis establishment (CE) personnel worked directly in the CAOC in the same positions and under the same conditions as during Op ECHO.

In September 2001, the CAOC moved from Vicenza to Poggio Renatico, When the move to Poggio Renatico occurred, the CF contribution was reduced to three mission directors. For the next year Canadian Forces personnel served with the mission when BCAOC positions converted from CE to permanent establishment, after which Op IMAGE was terminated at the end of June 2002.

The CAOC continues to operate and provide guidance to NATO missions including helping to coordinate security efforts for the 2004 Olympics in Greece.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) IMAGE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

IMAGE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Centre combiné d'opérations aériennes

Nom de la mission internationale: Centre combiné d’opérations aériennes (CAOC)

Mandat de l'opération: Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN)

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Italie

Date: 9 avril 1993 - Présent

Mandat de la mission:

Le Centre multinational d’opérations aériennes (CAOC), à Vicence, en Italie, a reçu pour mandat de coordonner les opérations d’appui aérien de l’OTAN dans les Balkans, d’abord au dessus de la Bosnie Herzégovine, puis du Kosovo.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (IMAGE)

Nom: IMAGE

Date: 21 décembre 2001 - 30 juin 2002

Historique de la mission:

Le Centre multinational d’opérations aériennes (CAOC) a vu le jour en 1993 à l'appui de l’opération aérienne de combat Deny Flight, la première du genre que l’OTAN ait mise sur pied afin de soutenir les troupes terrestres de la Force de protection des Nations Unies (FORPRONU) en ex-Yougoslavie. Lors de l’opération Deny Flight, pas moins de 100 400 missions aériennes ont été réalisées entre le 9 avril 1993 et le 20 décembre 1995. Par la suite, il y a eu plus de 119 000 autres missions aériennes, dont 38 408 durant la guerre aérienne de la Force alliée, qui a été lancée le 24 mars 1999 au Kosovo et qui a duré 78 jours.

Les multiples opérations aériennes de l’OTAN qui se sont succédé dans les Balkans nécessitaient une coordination centralisée au sol, d’où la mise sur pied du CAOC. Rassemblé dans un seul quartier général de commandement et de contrôle, interarmées et multinational, le personnel qui compose le CAOC provient de plus de 13 pays, membres ou non de l’OTAN, dont la Russie.

Depuis sa création, le centre d’opérations a fourni une protection aérienne aux troupes terrestres, en plus de transmettre des renseignements et des données de reconnaissance aux divers commandants dans le théâtre des opérations. D’abord basé à Vicence, en Italie, le CAOC s’est établi dans maints autres lieux. Dans un premier temps, la contribution du Canada au CAOC s’est traduite par le déploiement d’effectifs dans le cadre d’une mission canadienne, l’opération Echo. À l’achèvement de celle ci, il importait, sur le plan de la doctrine, de monter une nouvelle opération (Op Image) et de dépêcher une force opérationnelle (FO Vicence) pour assurer un contrôle national et soutenir, au niveau du théâtre des opérations, les quatre membres du personnel des Forces canadiennes (FC) demeurés en Italie au sein du CAOC. Quatre éléments du tableau d’effectifs en temps de crise (TEC) travaillaient directement au CAOC, occupant les mêmes postes que lors de l’opération Echo, dans des conditions similaires.

En septembre 2001, le CAOC a quitté Vicence pour Poggio Renatico. Au moment du déménagement, la contribution des FC a été réduite à la présence de trois directeurs de mission. L’année d’après, les militaires des FC ont participé à la mission lorsque les postes du TEC du Centre multinational d'opérations aériennes dans les Balkans (BCAOC) sont devenus permanents. L’opération Image s’est terminée à la fin de juin 2002.

Toujours actif, le CAOC continue d’orienter les missions de l’OTAN. Ainsi, il a contribué à la coordination des efforts de sécurité lors des Jeux Olympiques de 2004, en Grèce.