Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation INVITATION

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Independent International Commission on Decommissioning (IICD)

International Mission Name: Independent International Commission on Decommissioning (IICD)

Mandating Organization:

Agreement between the Government of Ireland and the Government of the United Kingdom establishing the Independent International Commission on Decommissioning, 26 August 1997

Region Name: Europe

Location: Ireland; United Kingdom

Mission Date: 26 August 1997 - 25 February 2010

Mission Mandate: To "undertake ... such tasks that may be required of it to facilitate the decommissioning of arms, including observing, monitoring and verifying decommissioning and receiving and auditing arms"

Narrative:

The modern phase of the violence in Northern Ireland began in the late 1960s after the Roman Catholic community in the province demanded an end to institutionalised discrimination against its members. Civil disobedience produced a reaction by the Protestant community and, in due course, that led to civil unrest, the development of para-military groups on both sides, and sectarian violence which culminated in the deployment of the British Army to Ulster. Ultimately, three primary interest groups became involved: the pro-united Ireland groups led by the Irish Republican Army (IRA); the Loyalist groups led by the Ulster Defence Association (UDA) and the Ulster Volunteer Force (UVF); and the government of the United Kingdom represented by the British Army and the Royal Ulster Constabulary.

Between 1972 and 1993 there were at least seven well-publicised and formal political initiatives to bring an end to the violence. All ended in failure, and it seemed that the conflicting views and demands of the various parties could never be reconciled. However, the British government and the IRA were also holding direct (and secret) talks through most of this period, and in 1994 the IRA declared a unilateral ceasefire, which was followed by ceasefire declarations by the UDA and UVF in October. Although the interested parties, including the Government of Ireland, would not and could not sit down at all-party talks for various reasons, Britain and Ireland jointly established an international body in November 1995.

On 26 August 1997, the British and Irish governments signed the “Agreement on Independent International Commission on Decommissioning” (IICD). The international body consisted of US Senator George Mitchell, former Finnish Prime Minister Harri Holkeri and retired Canadian General John de Chastelain. Their task was to determine how (and at what point) to bring about the decommissioning (surrender and eventual destruction) of all the weapons held by all the paramilitary groups in Ireland – something that would have to happen for there to be peace in the North. Their report recommended that decommissoning take place during the negotiation process, rather than before (as a precondition, because lack of agreement could prolong discussions forever) or after (when the risk of renewed violence might nullify any settlement) – and that it be supervised by an “Independent Commission.”

Although the work of the IICD is behind schedule, the Commission's report of 26 September 2005 indicated that the Commission believed the IRA had put their munitions beyond use. This was verified by two witnesses who were independent of the Commission, Father Alex Reid and Reverend Harold Good.

The mandate was extended annually over the following twelve years by both Governments, until their decision not to renew it in 2010. Thus it ended in Northern Ireland at midnight on Tuesday 9 February 2010 and in Ireland at midnight on Thursday 25 February 2010.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (INVITATION)

Name: Operation INVITATION

Date: 16 April 1998 - 25 February 2010

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement: To provide the necessary stable security environment to successfully implement the Ohird Framework Agreement.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

As part of the decommissioning process, the British and Irish governments asked for the assistance of a Canadian Forces explosives ordnance disposal experts. They would give the Commission expert advice on the nature and condition of the arms being presented for decommissioning, and the safety measures required for the handling and disposal of these weapons. This request went to the Minister of National Defence who approved it on 16 April 1998. This tasking was given the name Operation INVITATION.

The Canadian Forces has provided at least two captains at different times to assist the Commission. A captain remained on stand-by should the Commission have a requirement for advice. The Commission was grateful to Canada for the provision of these officers who did valuable and necessary work in the execution of the decommissioning mandate.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) INVITATION

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: COMMISSION INTERNATIONALE INDÉPENDANTE SUR LA DÉMILITARISATION (CIID)

Nom de la mission internationale: COMMISSION INTERNATIONALE INDÉPENDANTE SUR LA DÉMILITARISATION (CIID)

Organisme responsable:

Accord conclu entre le gouvernement de l’Irlande et celui du Royaume-Uni en vue d’établir la Commission internationale indépendante sur le désarmement – 26 août 1997.

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Irlande; Royaume-Uni

Date: 26 août 1997 - 25 février 2010

Mandat de la mission:

« Exécuter... les tâches qui pourraient s’avérer nécessaires pour faciliter le désarmement des parties belligérantes, entre autres en observant, surveillant et vérifiant les activités de désarmement de même qu’en recevant et en inspectant les armes. »

Exposé des faits:

La phase moderne de troubles en Irlande du Nord a débuté à la fin des années 1960, après que les Irlandais d’obédience catholique de l’Ulster eurent réclamé la fin de la discrimination institutionnalisée à l’endroit des catholiques. Les actes de désobéissance civile ont suscité des représailles de la part des protestants, ce qui avec le temps a fini par entraîner de l’agitation, l’avènement de troupes paramilitaires dans les deux camps et des violences sectaires, avec comme point culminant l’envoi de troupes britanniques dans cette province. Au bout du compte, trois principaux groupes d’activistes se sont retrouvés en lice : les mouvements en faveur de l’unification de l’Irlande avec pour fer de lance l’Armée républicaine irlandaise (IRA), les principaux mouvements loyalistes Ulster Defence Association (UDA) et Ulster Volunteer Force (UVF), de même que le gouvernement du Royaume-Uni représenté localement par l’armée britannique et la force constabulaire de l’Ulster.

Entre 1972 et 1993, il y a eu au moins sept tentatives politiques officielles et très médiatisées pour mettre fin à la violence. Toutes ces initiatives ayant échoué, il paraissait impossible de réconcilier un jour les divergences d’opinions et les exigences des diverses parties en conflit. Mais parallèlement, le gouvernement britannique avait pendant la plus grande partie de cette période tenu des pourparlers directs (et secrets) avec l’IRA, si bien qu’en 1994, ce mouvement a décrété un cessez-le-feu unilatéral, suivi en octobre par des déclarations de cessez-le-feu de l’UDA et de l’UVF. Même si les parties concernées, y compris le gouvernement irlandais, ne voulaient pas et ne pouvaient pas pour diverses raisons participer à des négociations réunissant toutes les parties, la Grande-Bretagne et l’Irlande ont établi conjointement un mécanisme international en novembre 1995.

Le 26 août 1997, les gouvernements britannique et irlandais ont signé « l’Accord relatif à la Commission internationale indépendante sur la démilitarisation » (CIID). Cette instance internationale comprenait le sénateur américain George Mitchell, l’ancien premier ministre finlandais Harri Holkeri et le général canadien à la retraite John de Chastelain. Leur rôle était de déterminer comment (et jusqu’à quel point) on pourrait assurer le désarmement (remise et destruction éventuelles de toutes les armes possédées) de l’ensemble des groupes paramilitaires en présence, une mesure indispensable pour restaurer la paix en Uster. Leur rapport recommandait de procéder au désarmement parallèlement aux négociations plutôt qu’avant (en guise de condition préalable, car faute d’une entente formelle, les pourparlers risquaient de se prolonger indéfiniment) ou après (alors qu’un éventuel regain de violence risquait de réduire à néant tout règlement), et de confier à une « commission indépendante » le soin de superviser l’opération.

Malgré des retards dans les travaux, le rapport de la Commission déposé le 26 septembre 2005 indiquait que selon l’avis de ses membres, l’IRA avait mis hors d’usage ses armements et munitions, la chose ayant été confirmée par deux témoins indépendants de la Commission, le Père Alex Reid et le Révérend Harold Good.

Le mandate a été renouvelé annuellement au cours des douze années suivantes par les deux gouvernements jusqu'à la décision de ne pas renouveler en 2010. Ceci en fait que les opérations cessèrent à minuit le mardi 9 février 2010 en Ireland du Nord et à minuit le jeudi 25 février 2010 en Ireland.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (INVITATION)

Nom: Opération INVITATION

Date: 16 avril 1998 - 25 février 2010

Historique de la mission:

Dans le cadre du processus de désarmement, les autorités britanniques et irlandaises ont demandé l’assistance d’experts des Forces canadiennes en neutralisation des munitions et explosifs militaires. Ces spécialistes devaient conseiller la Commission quant à la nature et à l’état des armes remises en vue de leur élimination, et les mesures de sécurité requises pour leur manipulation et leur destruction. Cette demande a été adressée au ministre de la Défense nationale, qui l’a approuvée le 16 avril 1998. Cette opération a été désignée sous le nom Invitation.

Les Forces canadiennes ont prêté au moins deux capitaines à des moments différents pour assister la Commission. Un capitaine s’est également tenu à sa disposition au cas où elle aurait eu besoin de conseils. La Commission a grandement appréciée d’avoir fourni des officiers qui ont rendus un service apprécié et nécessaire dans l’exécution du mandate de la Commission.