Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Iceland 1973

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Iceland 1973

International Mission Name: Iceland 1973

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Europe

Location: Vestmannaeyar, island of Heimaey, Iceland

Mission Date: 11 June 1973 - 30 August 1973

Mission Mandate: To deliver pre-fabricated homes to Iceland.

Mission/Operation Notes:

Iceland sits astride the mid-Atlantic rift, where the tectonic plates under the Atlantic Ocean are slowly separating. The island itself is completely volcanic in origin. In the early hours of 23 January 1973, a volcanic fissure opened about 1000 meters from the town of Vestmannaeyar on the island of Heimaey off Iceland’s south coast. Within hours, the town’s 5,300 inhabitants were evacuated to the mainland.

The fissure soon became concentrated into a new volcano which was named “Eldfell” or “fire mountain”. The initial eruption produced mainly tephra (volcanic ash), which soon buried many houses near the volcano. By the end of February, the 200 meter high cone was producing a slow-moving lava flow, parts of which threatened the town. Volunteers reduced the damage from tephra and lava flow by clearing roofs and by spraying water on the advancing lava flow.

By the end of the eruption in late July 1973, the size of the island of Heimaey had increased by 20 percent. Some 300 houses had been covered by lava or gutted by fire, and another 60 buried by tephra. The lava flows that had threatened to block the harbour became a benefit as they provided improved protection from the North Atlantic. By March 1975, about 4,300 people had returned and a large portion of the houses buried in tephra had been excavated; however, at least 450 new houses would be required.

In Canada, the Government of Manitoba donated pre-fabricated houses for the people of Vestmannaeyar. These homes were built in Gimli, a town that was settled by Icelandic people beginning in 1875. Over the period of 11 June to 30 August, 435 Squadron Hercules conducted 12 airlifts of the pre-fab homes, offloading them in Keflavik.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Iceland 1973

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Iceland 1973

Nom de la mission internationale: Iceland 1973

Organisme responsable : Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: ville de Vestmannaeyar sur l’île de Heimaey, Islande

Date: 11 juin 1973 - 30 août 1973

Mandat de la mission: Transporter des maisons préfabriquées en Islande.

Notes sur la mission :

Islande repose sur le rift du médio-atlantique où les plaques tectoniques sous l’océan Atlantique se séparent lentement. L’île est proprement dite un volcan à son origine. Aux premières heures du 23 janvier 1973, une fissure volcanique est apparue à environ de 1 000 mètres de la ville de Vestmannaeyar sur l’île de Heimaey au sud de la côte ouest de l’Islande. En quelques heures les habitants de la ville de 5 300 ont été évacués à l’île principale.

La fissure est devenue un nouveau volcan qui a été surnommé « Eldfell » (la montagne de feu). L’éruption initiale a produit principalement du tephra (cendre volcanique) où plusieurs résidences proches du volcan ont été enterrées. Par la fin de février, le volcan de 200 mètres a commencé à produire un écoulement lent de lave par lequel menaçait le village. Des volontaires ont diminué les dommages venant du tephra et de la coulée de lave en nettoyant les toits et en arrosant d’eau l’écoulement de lave.

Par la fin de l’éruption à la fin de juillet 1973, la superficie de l’île s’est agrandie de 20 pour cent. Quelque 300 résidences ont été couvertes de lave ou ont été détruites par le feu, et quelque 60 autres ont été enterrées par du tephra. La coulée de lave qui au début menaçait de bloqué le port a fini par améliorer la protection de celui contre l’Atlantique Nord. Par le mois de mars 1975, 4 300 habitants sont retournés vivre sur l’île. Une grande partie des résidences qui ont été enterrées dans du tephra ont été déterrées; néanmoins, au moins 450 nouvelles résidences étaient requises.

Au Canada, le gouvernement du Manitoba a fait don de maisons préfabriquées au peuple du Vestmannaeyar. Ces maisons ont été construites à Gimli, une ville qui a été fondé par des islandais au début de 1875. Pendant la période du 11 juin au 30 août 1973, les Hercules du 435e Escadron ont transporté sur 12 vols les maisons préfabriquées jusqu’à Keflavik.