Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation JUSTICE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

JUSTICE

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Committee of Experts

International Mission Name: United Nations Committee of Experts (UNCOE)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Europe

Location: Former Yugoslavia

Mission Date: 6 October 1992 - 30 April 1994

Mission Mandate:

To investigate and report on contraventions of the Geneva Convention and other international laws in the former Republic of Yugoslavia as authorized by United Nations Security Council Resolution 780 of 6 October 1992.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In the summer of 1991 fighting broke out between Slovenian and federal Yugoslav forces – the first of a series of clashes that would lead to the collapse of the existing federal Yugoslav state. The fighting soon spread to the neighbouring breakaway republic of Croatia and, almost immediately, reports of atrocities began to surface. Such allegations would continue throughout the entire Yugoslav civil war.

Acting on these allegations, on October 6, 1992 the United Nations Security Council passed Resolution 780(1992), requesting the Secretary General to establish an impartial Commission of Experts (UNCOE) to provide its conclusions on the evidence of grave breaches of the 1949 Geneva Conventions and other violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of the former Yugoslavia.

On 23 October, the Secretary-General informed the Council that he had appointed a five-person commission. It commenced work early in November 1992 and carried out four main tasks: the examination and analysis of information obtained from various sources, identification of cases warranting in-depth investigation, verification of facts and considerations of issues of law.

Throughout the period of UNCOE's investigations, from October 1992 until April 1994, the Canadian Forces provided personnel under the designation Operation JUSTICE. CF legal officers and military police personnel, up to seven at a time, worked with UNCOE. On several occasions they formed a War Crimes Investigation Team for specific investigations such as, for example, an enquiry into a mass grave at Ovcara near Vukovar in March 1993.

For the year and a half that the commission operated, it collected thousands of pages of documentation as well as video information on allegations of grave breaches of the Geneva Conventions and international humanitarian law, and created a database providing a comprehensive, record of all reported crimes. UNCOE's work came to an end on 30 April 1994 and, one month later, their Final Report was submitted to the International Criminal Tribunal in The Hague.

The work conducted by UNCOE was to lay the basis for the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, which was established by the United Nations Security Council in May of 1993 for the sole purpose of prosecuting persons responsible for serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of the former Yugoslavia.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) JUSTICE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

JUSTICE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Comité de spécialistes des Nations Unies

Nom de la mission internationale: Comité de spécialistes des Nations Unies (UNCOE)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: ex-Yugoslavie

Date: 6 octobre 1992 - 30 avril 1994

Mandat de la mission:

Enquêter et faire rapport sur les violations touchant la Convention de Genève et les autres règles de droit international en ex-Yougoslavie, conformément aux dispositions de la résolution 780 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies adoptée le 6 octobre 1992.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

À l’été 1991, des combats ont éclaté entre les troupes slovènes et l’armée fédérale yougoslave. Il s’agissait du premier d’une série de conflits qui allaient aboutir à l’effondrement de la fédération yougoslave. Les combats se sont bientôt propagés à la république sécessionniste voisine de Croatie, et presque aussitôt, des atrocités ont commencé à être dénoncées, allégations qui allaient continuer tout au long de la guerre civile yougoslave.

Sur la foi de ces allégations, le 6 octobre 1992, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 780 (1992) demandant au Secrétaire général de mettre sur pied une commission d’experts impartiale chargée de faire enquête et de rendre ses conclusions sur la question de savoir si les belligérants avaient commis de graves infractions aux Conventions de Genève de 1949 et violé les autres conventions du droit international humanitaire dans le territoire de l’ex Yougoslavie.

Le 23 octobre, le Secrétaire général a informé le Conseil qu’il avait institué une commission de cinq membres. Celle-ci a entrepris ses travaux au début de novembre 1992, s’occupant principalement de quatre tâches : examen et analyse des renseignements obtenus de diverses sources, désignation des cas justifiant une enquête approfondie, vérification des faits et étude des aspects légaux.

Durant la période d’enquête, soit d’octobre 1992 jusqu’à avril 1994, les Forces canadiennes ont fourni en permanence à l’UNCOE du personnel dans le cadre de l’opération Justice. Plusieurs avocats militaires et policiers militaires, jusqu’à sept à la fois, ont travaillé pour la Commission. À plusieurs reprises, ils ont formé une équipe d’enquête sur les crimes de guerre pour mener des enquêtes spéciales, notamment sur un charnier découvert à Ovcara près de Vukovar en mars 1993.

La Commission a poursuivi son travail pendant un an et demi, accumulant des milliers de pages de documentation ainsi que des informations sur vidéo concernant des allégations de graves violations par rapport aux Conventions de Genève et aux règles du droit international humanitaire. Elle a aussi établi une base de données qui fournissait un bilan complet de l’ensemble des crimes dénoncés. La Commission a mis fin à ses activités le 30 avril 1994 et soumis un mois plus tard son rapport final au Tribunal pénal international siégeant à La Haye.

Les travaux de l’UNCOE ont servi de fondement au Tribunal pénal international pour l’ancienne Yougoslavie, créé en mai 1993 par le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies expressément dans le but de juger les individus ayant violé de manière grave les règles du droit international humanitaire en ex Yougoslavie.

Haut de la page