Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation KAYAK

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

KAYAK

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation EAGLE EYE

International Mission Name: Operation EAGLE EYE

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Europe

Location: Kosovo

Mission Date: 30 October 1998 - 24 March 1999

Mission Mandate:

To verify Yugoslav compliance with Security Council Resolution 1199 and the NATO-Federal Republic of Yugoslavia agreement on the Kosovo Verification Mission.

Mission/Operation Notes:

On 23 September 1998, the United Nations Security Council passed Resolution 1199. The Security Council had received counsel from the Prosecutor for the International Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia that events in Kosovo represented an armed conflict. The Council was also concerned about the “excessive and indiscriminate” use of force by Serbian forces and the Yugoslav Army, creating civilian casualties and a large-scale refugee problem. The Resolution, issued under Chapter VII of the UN Charter, included calling upon all parties in Kosovo to initiate a case-fire, and that steps should be taken to improve the impending humanitarian crisis. For international organizations, it urged effective international monitoring to ensure that the objectives of the Resolution were met.

Ongoing at the same time were talks between NATO and Federal Republic of Yugoslavia officials. On 15 October an agreement was reached in Belgrade that created the Kosovo Verification Mission (KVM). The agreement allowed NATO to conduct unarmed verification flights over Kosovo to ensure compliance with UN Resolution 1199. The flights were also to monitor the activities of security forces, the removal or cantonment of weapons systems, the respect of the cease-fire by all parties and the free movement of all humanitarian supplies, ground monitors and civilians. UN Security Council Resolution 1203 (24 October 1998) approved the agreement.

The North Atlantic Council approved the operations plan for this mission and on 30 October 1998 Operation EAGLE EYE began. Besides verifying that all sides were living up to the UN Resolution and the Belgrade Agreement, Operation Eagle Eye also assessed all data received from air and ground sources and shared it with NATO and OSCE. The OSCE had sent a 1400-person mission into Kosovo to conduct ground verification.

France, Germany, Italy, the United Kingdom and the United States all contributed aircraft or unmanned aerial vehicles to Operation Eagle Eye. None of these aircraft were armed.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (KAYAK)

Name: KAYAK

Date: 15 January 1999 - 24 March 1999

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canadian participation in Operation Eagle Eye took several forms. In direct support of the operation were two persons in administrative roles and six military police officers for security. They deployed under the name Operation KAYAK, to the Kosovo Verification Coordination Centre. The Centre was tasked with liaising, planning, coordinating and exchanging information with OSCE personnel. The Centre was located in Kumanovo, in the Former Yugloslav Republic of Macedonia and was formally stood up on 26 November 1998. Canadian participation was from 16 January 1999 to 24 March 1999.

In addition, Canadian CF-18 aircraft already deployed to Italy as part of Operation ECHO were sometimes committed to Operation Eagle Eye. Their role was to support combat search and rescue missions if an aircraft from Operation Eagle Eye was brought down or crashed while engaged in the operation.

Four Canadians were also posted to the NATO combined Air Operations Centre (CAOC) in Vincenza, Italy. Part of operation ECHO, they supported the CAOC’s responsibility for controlling unit tasking. The air assets of operation EAGLE EYE.

Unfortunately, the presence of the OSCE observers and the observation flights did not halt the violence in Kosovo. All KVM and Eagle Eye activities ended on 24 March 1999 with the commencement of Operation ALIIED FORCE, the air war for Kosovo.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) KAYAK

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

KAYAK

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération EAGLE EYE

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération EAGLE EYE

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Europe

Lieu: Kosovo

Date: 30 octobre 1998 - 24 mars 1999

Mandat de la mission:

Vérifier le respect de la résolution 1199 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies et de l’entente entre l'OTAN et la République fédérale de Yougoslavie (FRY) sur la Mission de vérification au Kosovo.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Le 23 septembre 1998, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 1199. Le procureur du Tribunal pénal international pour l’ex Yougoslavie avait informé le Conseil de sécurité que les événements au Kosovo constituaient bien un conflit armé. Le Conseil était aussi préoccupé par l’utilisation « excessive et sans discernement » de la force par les forces serbes et l’armée yougoslave, ce qui entraînait des pertes civiles et un problème à grande échelle relativement aux réfugiés. La résolution, émise en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, appelait toutes les parties au litige kosovar à observer le cessez-le-feu et à prendre les mesures nécessaires pour prévenir la crise humanitaire imminente. Pour les organisations internationales, il devenait urgent de mettre en place un système de surveillance internationale qui garantirait l'atteinte des objectifs de la résolution.

Pendant ce temps, des pourparlers se déroulaient entre des représentants de l’OTAN et de la République fédérale de Yougoslavie. Le 15 octobre, à Belgrade, ils en sont arrivés à une entente qui créait la Mission de vérification au Kosovo (MVK). L’entente permettait à l’OTAN de faire des vérifications aériennes non armées sur le territoire du Kosovo pour veiller au respect de la résolution 1199 des Nations Unies. Les vols visaient aussi la surveillance des activités des forces de sécurité, du retrait ou du cantonnement des systèmes d’armes, du respect du cessez-le-feu par toutes les parties et de la liberté de mouvement du matériel de secours humanitaire, des observateurs au sol et des civils. La résolution 1203 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies (24 octobre 1998) est venue sanctionner l’entente.

Le Conseil de l'Atlantique Nord a approuvé le plan d’opérations de la mission et l’opération Eagle Eye a commencé le 30 octobre 1998. En plus de vérifier si toutes les parties respectaient la résolution des Nations Unies et de l’entente de Belgrade, l’opération Eagle Eye avait pour mandat d'évaluer les données reçues des sources aériennes et terrestres et de les communiquer à l’OTAN et à l’OSCE. L’OSCE avait envoyé une mission de 1 400 personnes au Kosovo pour les vérifications au sol.

La France, l’Allemagne, l’Italie, le Royaume-Uni et les États-Unis ont fourni des avions et des véhicules aériens sans pilote à l’opération Eagle Eye. Aucun de ces avions n’était armé.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (KAYAK)

Nom: KAYAK

Date: 15 janvier 1999 - 24 mars 1999

Historique de la mission:

La participation canadienne à l’opération Eagle Eye s’est faite sous plusieurs formes. Pour assurer un soutien direct à l’opération, le Canada a fourni deux personnes devant assumer des fonctions administratives et six agents de la police militaire chargés de la sécurité. Ils ont été affectés au Centre de coordination de la vérification au Kosovo, dans le cadre de l’opération Kayak. Le Centre avait pour mandat d’assurer la liaison, la planification, la coordination et l’échange d’informations avec le personnel de l’OSCE. Il était installé à Kumanovo, dans l’ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine, et a officiellement commencé ses activités le 26 novembre 1998. Le Canada y a participé du 16 janvier 1999 au 24 mars 1999.

De plus, les avions CF 18 du Canada en déploiement en Italie dans le cadre de l’opération Echo contribuaient parfois à l’opération Eagle Eye. Ils avaient pour rôle de soutenir les missions de recherche et sauvetage lors des combats si un avion était abattu ou s’écrasait pendant l’opération Eagle Eye.

Quatre Canadiens ont aussi été affectés au Centre combiné d'opérations aériennes (CAOC) de l’OTAN, à Vincenza, en Italie. C’est dans le cadre de l’opération Echo qu’ils ont soutenu le CAOC, chargé de contrôler l’attribution des missions aux unités de l’air affectées à l’opération Eagle Eye.

Malheureusement, la présence des observateurs de l'OSCE et les vols d’observation n’ont pas suffi à mettre fin à la violence au Kosovo. Toutes les activités de la MVK et d’Eagle Eye ont pris fin le 24 mars 1999 avec le début de l’opération Allied Force, les attaques aériennes sur le Kosovo.